We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Almanack - CLOSED

15 Bath House Lane | Highcross, Leicester LE1 4SA, England
+44 116 216 0705
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good23%
  • Average24%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible11%
27 Jul 2013
“Not great, in fact the poorest of the food venue offerings at Highcross...”
30 May 2013
“Will give it another go soon”
Restaurant Hours Closed
15 Bath House Lane | Highcross, Leicester LE1 4SA, England
All Details
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This is evidenced by the fact that it has now folded! Good riddance! A restaurant called Turtle Bay is soon to replace the very poor Almanack!More

1  Thank HonestNursey
RosalieHagger, Manager at The Almanack, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Hi There, Thank you for your comment. As always, we appreciate all our guests feedback. I would like to add clarification to your review. The Almanack has now closed. However, the reason for this has nothing to do with lack of trade. The Almanack was...More

Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Visited the almanack on Sunday and was disappointed. It is not was it used to be in the way of food and service. Granted the chap on the bar was new but when we ate our roast dinner the service was not up to my...More

Thank 1scottie11
Reviewed 29 May 2013

we had one vegetarian and one beef burger which were both disappointing in their flavour. We have had breakfast here and been very pleased but will choose somewhere else for an evening.

Thank Mayfield5
Reviewed 25 May 2013

came here as part of a group. food was lovely but had a bit too much of a wait between courses, would come again tho.

Thank 1-2-bucklemyshoe
Reviewed 14 May 2013

All round good experience at the Almanack. Food was very tasty on my last visit, although the Sunday roast is served a little strangely (one platter from which we had to share....would've preferred individual portions!). Reasonably priced food, and good, polite service. It can get...More

Thank Bert_gab
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I've eaten here many times, most recently today. It's big and spacious, and family friendly without being noisy or full of plastic ball pits!! I like it because of the real food - homemade, often locally produced, hearty and well cooked. I especially like their...More

Thank daisyrock
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Visited Almanack on a work night out - 12 of us dined here and pre ordered our meals. Service was ok, but nothing to write home about - and as the restaurant had very few diners in it I wonder how it would cope when...More

Thank Noddy78
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My eldest daughter (5) had the mini roast and she emptied her plate. My youngest daughter had the sausage and egg. She didn't quite manage it. Hers came after all of ours, which forms part of my constructive criticism and the edges were slightly burnt....More

Thank TeamGilby
RosalieHagger, Manager at The Almanack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your points it helps us to better ourselves. I am sorry that there was a delay with your daughter's food. We love kids & try our best to create a great dining experience for all ages. Next time...More

Reviewed 14 April 2013

First visit here tonight and was pleasantly surprised. Food orders taken and served quickly, starters tasty all round although my partner complained that the pigeon kiev was far too rare for his taste - and he is a man who likes his steak bleeding! Mains...More

Thank trellybear
RosalieHagger, Manager at The Almanack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal. I am sorry that you didnt appreciate the girls aloud, it was a request from one of our fellow guests having a birthday party. It is not the usual norm, i can...More

Reviewed 9 April 2013

I agreed, after slating the place in my last review, to give the place another go. My meal was gratis and I make that clear so that the rest of what I say is taken in context. Last time we were here the service was...More

Thank Pete J
RosalieHagger, Manager at The Almanack, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hi Pete, Thanks for returning & your review. We hope all is well & to see you soon. Rosalie Hagger

Nearby HotelsSee all 40 hotels in Leicester
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
495 reviews
.22 km away
Hotel Maiyango
337 reviews
.23 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
1,033 reviews
.39 km away
Westbridge Wharf Apartments
7 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lilu Cuisine
625 reviews
.14 km away
Cafe Rouge - Leicester
819 reviews
.07 km away
Bills Restaurant
439 reviews
.13 km away
King Richard III Pub
101 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
King Richard III Visitor Centre
1,702 reviews
.34 km away
Leicester Guildhall
470 reviews
.26 km away
Highcross Leicester
243 reviews
.06 km away
Melbourne Hall
29 reviews
.13 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Bath House Lane | Highcross, Leicester LE1 4SA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Leicester
  • Phone Number: +44 116 216 0705
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing