We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Richard John Blackler

Units 1&2 Charlotte Row | Great Charlotte Street, Liverpool L1 1QY, England
+44 151 709 4802
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good41%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (10 reviews)
“scampi” (4 reviews)
“burger” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Units 1&2 Charlotte Row | Great Charlotte Street, Liverpool L1 1QY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Great interior, huge, plenty of seating, big menu, great coffee, long bar, always seems short staffed, other than that it’s wonderful Wetherspoons.

Thank JohnTripAdviser
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just a quick review as it was a quick visit - popped in for breakfast - stood at bar waiting to order - staff stood around chatting to each other - i waited - i waited - i left - don't think anyone noticed or...More

Thank davemathieson
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi, firstly may I apologise for what happened when you came in. We pride ourselves highly on our customer service and experience we give to each customer that walks through the door and you walking out feeling like no one cared is most definitely not...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just round the corner from our hotel in Lime Street Fantastic staff, extensive and extremely well priced breakfasts. Excellent choice and the service was 1st class. No better way to start the day.

1  Thank Walter908
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

hi. thank you for your brilliant review, I am so glad you had a great visit. We pride ourselves in great customer service and our great staff team. we hope to see you return in the furutre

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We always seem to arrange our works trip meetings in here. The beer is always ok but the food can be a bit extreme, from bad to good. Having previously written reviews for here, I am pleased to say that the food seemed to be...More

Thank Laughingbear
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

hi thank you for your review. I am sad to here that when you come it can be bad and good and not complacent , we do try our best to meet the needs of every customer when they walk through the door, and I...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017

I use all the Wetherspoon's in Liverpool ,and most are excellent, however this one has always had a reputation for slow service and seemingly understaffed I actually feel sorry for the staff in here,overworked and look totally stressed,this has a knock on effect as tables...More

Thank 483billy
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am sorry that you have written this review and feel we have slow service. We at this pub aim to make customers priority when they walk through the door. It seems on this occasion that we failed. We have a great reputation for great...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

It was our first time visiting this amazing pub,food is wonderful,staff is very friendly and helpful, and most of all the prices are very reasonable❤️I highly recommend this pub if you want to have an amazing breakfast/lunch/dinner/drinks and some fun xxx

Thank BrittanySpiteri
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad that you had a great experience when you visited. Our customer service is something we as a pub are really proud of. Hopefully next time your in town you will come back and visit :)

Reviewed 12 September 2017

My wife and I had eaten here last year. This time we were back with some friends, we were here for the opening night of Cilla the musical and we ate here before the show. There were 6 of us in all and we had...More

Thank bobhaskett
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi. Thank you for your comments I am glad we helped you have a pleasant visit to us. We pride ourselves in our staff and service and we hope to see you return. We hope you enjoyed Cilla too!

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Visited Liverpool recently, and ate here every day. Large, spacious Wetherspoons restaurant. Good breakfast, and good choice of evening meal with specials on each day if the week. Delicious steak on Tuesday , you can't really go wrong here. Highly recommend, will come here again...More

Thank tootp
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

many thanks for a great review!!!! I am s glad you chose to visit us and it was that good you return again and again. I hope on your next visit you pop in and we can keep our high standard of service and friendliness...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived here around 10;30am Sunday morning after travelling. Good, well priced breakfast, quick service. Friendly staff. Drinks area and dining tables were messy, so removed cups and glasses and wiped clean ourselves. That's the reason for the 3 ⭐️ Ok place for cheap no frills...More

Thank sueandpaul2016
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

hi. thanks for your review, I am sorry you had to empty your own table, we strive hard to meet the needs of the customers and keep everywhere clean and tidy, unfortunately it seems this time we failed. I can assure you this is not...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Even though we visited over a busy bank holiday weekend we were served very quickly at the bar and didn't have to wait long for our food, which was fresh and very tasty.

Thank janeeb
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

hi, thank you for your review. we have a great standard in this pub for fast friendly and efficient service. I am glad you managed to witness this especially bank holiday weekend, and I am glad your enjoyed your visit

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Key Lime Coffee
66 reviews
.08 km away
The Crown Hotel
249 reviews
.08 km away
Bella Italia Liverpool
1,044 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Johns Beacon
967 reviews
.15 km away
Lime Street Railway Station
811 reviews
.16 km away
Royal Court Theatre- Liverpool
496 reviews
.20 km away
Playhouse Theatre
144 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
shelly6969
29 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Rebecca D | Property representative |
hi we serve from 9am in the mornings
1
Vote
Brendan I
7 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Neil K | Reviewed this property |
don't think they show live sport as its a city centre Wetherspoon pub mate.
0
Votes
jayman1970
5 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from becky086 | Property representative |
Hi.am sorry to say that we don't.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Units 1&2 Charlotte Row | Great Charlotte Street, Liverpool L1 1QY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool>  > Central Liverpool
  • Neighbourhood: Central Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 709 4802
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing