We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pig's Ear

#5,414 of 17,849 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Chelsea
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
35 Old Church Street | Chelsea, London SW3 5BS, England
+44 20 7352 2908
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

pretty poor, the roast wasn't good quality considering the price. There was also a big unexpected service charge. I mean its a bar! if i had known we could have easily walked to the bar which was 2 feet away. Won't be returning. how dare they charge 12.5% on those drinks and bad food

Helpful?
Thank lulushoes
Jack's K, General Manager at The Pig's Ear, responded to this review

Dear Lulushoes, That sounds like the last experience we would want you to have with us, we take huge praise in everything we do. That extends to our our service and the charge is discretionary. If you have an email address we can get you on we would very much like to talk further and make this right with you.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Got served a well done rump steak when I paid for a medium rare ribeye. Asked for a latte to finish got served a cup with a piece of pasta stick on the side of the cup. Liars and unhygienic. And need I say more?

Helpful?
Thank Catorr1
Jack's K, General Manager at The Pig's Ear, responded to this review

Dear Catorr1, That does sound like a terrible experience and we are very sorry you had it - we only have ribeye on our menu so only ever have ribeye in the kitchen. It would be good to talk with you further on this, do you have an email we can reach you on so we can get to the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The land lady was rude, inconsiderate and aggressive. I felt scared and uncomfortable whilst I ordered my drinks. The food looked awful and as a result I did not eat anything. This bar is designed for tourists - it is over priced and lacks authenticity. DO NOT COME HERE UNLESS YOU ARE A TOURIST WHO DOES NOT CARE ABOUT GOOD... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Will B
Jack's K, Manager at The Pig's Ear, responded to this review

Hi Will, Thanks for posting but it doesn’t sound like it’s our pub as we don’t have a landlady. If it is us and you’re referring to one of our female staff we would really like to know more as what you’ve described is unacceptable to us. Please can you email us at pigsear@theunionbar.co.uk and we'll do everything we can.... More 

Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We had dinner in the upstairs dining room of the Pig's Ear in March 2017. The upstairs is quieter than the downstairs dining room, which gets a lot of noise from the always-bustling pub. The upstairs isn't open every night, though, and it wasn't very busy when we were there. The menu changes seasonally, and there are always several good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Poipuvisitor
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Great service but food a bit hit and miss. We had a table for six and were seated in a very tight corner, no fun to be honest. Was busy so couldn't be moved. The sharing board was great, the roast not so. Meat was v rare and potatoes as rare! Fish and chips was great. Didn't raise the issue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tinyyorkielover
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I love going in this Pub, enjoyable atmosphere, nice people and staff, lovely food and drinks! Been here twice during the past week, perfect for a beer after work or just to spend a relaxing evening with friends. I'll definitely be back soon!

Helpful?
Thank Nando L
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We paid gastropub prices and expected a nice gastropub experience. What we got was a mediocre meal. Asked burger to be rare, came out fully fried. Beef pie salty, cabbage nothing more but some steamed over salted cabbage. Wine came in a dirty glass and was less than the measure showing on the menu. When I pointed it out it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JohnW_London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I had a few really excellent meals here about a year ago so decided to try their Sunday roast. I paid upfront for the roast beef and a glass of wine. I was warned that the yorkshire pudding was unavailable 'because the oven was not working'. Was offered chips as a substitute (why would you want chips with roast potatoes?).... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ToneN7
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I am embarrassed to have brought my family here to what was supposed to be a nice Sunday lunch - a stable in British cuisine. Everything we had was either burnt or undercooked! We ordered 4 x roast beef, all were sent back as the beef was RAW! When pointing this out, the waitress had the cheek to tell us... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Comazen
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

It's a quint place. The food is reasonable but the seating in horribly uncomfortable. I have no idea how anyone can possibly make such bad seats. Good bear collection

Helpful?
Thank Minou H

Travellers who viewed The Pig's Ear also viewed

 

Been to The Pig's Ear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$59
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 Old Church Street | Chelsea, London SW3 5BS, England
  • Public Transportation: Nearest tube stations are South Kensington or Sloane Square, From S. Ken catch the #49 bus to Carlisle Sq, from Sloane Square catch the #19, #22, or #319 to Carlisle Square Stop. From there it is a short walk in the same direction taking the first left turn. We are 100 meters on the right.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Chelsea
  • Neighbourhood: Chelsea
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7352 2908
Description
An award winning gastro pub and restaurant located just yards away from London's historic King's Road.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pig's Ear staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Wealth courses through The King's Road, Chelsea's upmarket artery of West London life packed with shops, eateries and glitzy nightspots. For people-watching at its best and luxury retail therapy that's largely unrivalled, this area cannot be missed. But if this showy street starts to overwhelm or a moment of price tag shock sends you reeling, a quick detour down pretty much any of many King's Road veins will reveal a quieter side of Chelsea. Here the stately Royal Hospital hosts its world-famous flower show, and the Thames rolls along at a lazy pace, with leafy Battersea Park and its Peace Pagoda beckoning from across the river.
Explore this neighbourhood