We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Drayton Arms

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
South Kensington
Pub, Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
153 Old Brompton Road | South Kensington, London SW5 0LJ, England
+44 20 7835 2301
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 23:00
Mon 12:00 - 23:00
Tue - Wed 12:00 - 23:30
Thu - Fri 12:00 - 00:00
Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
far niente
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Terrible craving for Sunday roast, went to this local spot for a bite. They are very nice, beer is good and the beef roast may be the worst I have ever been served, dry, rubbery- just awful with a yorkshire pudding that was so dry my knife couldn't cut it. The chef should be embarrassed he/she ever let it leave... More 

Helpful?
Thank bcd b
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent selection of beer and liquor. What more could you ask for in a pub? Do yourself a favor and stop here!

Helpful?
Thank Joe T
General Manager A, Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you, Joe, for taking the time to feedback about the Drayton Arms. I'm so glad that you had a good time here and liked our selection of drinks. I do hope we can welcome you back here again sometime soon. Kind regards Leigh Phillips General Manager More 

Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I wanted to take our friend for a decent pint and meal The staff here could not have been more helpful. We had a bottle of white wine and our guest had a beer or two. All of us had fish & chips and enjoyed our meal. The ambience was fine but it's pretty noisy with Friday... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ynot R
General Manager A, Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback it is really appreciated. I will pass your feedback onto the team about the great service you received. I do hope we can welcome you back here again soon. Best wishes Leigh Phillips General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with two friends and was really disappointed with the Sunday lunch. The meat portion was tiny, the veg was cold and the yorkshires were flat. I did complain about that meat portion size and they did bring another tiny portion to compensate but I was still appalled at the price for the quality and amount of food. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank kattimlin
General Manager A, Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Dear Kattimlin, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your starters but I'm so sorry that you did not find our Sunday lunch to your satisfaction. We do take time to ensure that what we offer is comparable in quantity and price to the other local businesses and indeed pride ourselves on being slightly better value, I'm sorry that you... More 

Sanbornville, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How often is it that an American who frequents London often can actually find her own "Local"? Well that's just what I did! I feel as if I have found a little gem in the heart of a big city! The staff of Drayton Arms have lovingly welcomed me and made me feel right at home. The location is perfect... More 

Helpful?
Thank msaev
General Manager A, Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi Annie Thank you so much for your lovely review. Its always a pleasure to serve you here at the Drayton. I will pass your kind words onto Ricki too. I'm so glad that you enjoy our open fire and the heated patio. I do hope we can welcome you back here soon for a chilled glass of Prosecco. Best... More 

blackpool
Level Contributor
137 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We visited as we had dine out cards and this was nearest to our location. The food was OK. The staff however were very friendly

Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolCarol
General Manager A, Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi BlackpoolCarol Thank you for taking the time to review the pub and for you kind comments about the service. I'd really appreciate it if you could get in touch to give more detailed feedback on the food, so that I can feed it back to our chefs and to discuss if there is any way we could make up... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

When the four of us (two couples) arrived at 8 pm, the pub was packed & everybody seemed to be having a great time. We were warned that it might take an hour for our food but we ordered anyway and it came pretty quickly - or anyway we were too busy drinking & chatting to notice. Shepherd's Pie, Squash... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dougalasa
General Manager A, Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi Dougalasa Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have passed your wonderful feedback onto the team. You are right in that we don't show football here as a rule, we only show a few sporting events here each year such as the rugby six nations but our focus is on being a relaxed locals pub and... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We were a group of six going to see a show due to take place in the pubs theatre that night at 20.00 . We arrived at 18.30 and ordered food. We were told it may be 30 minutes . That would have been ok. Starters eventually arrived . The table was not cleared the mains never did come .... More 

Helpful?
Thank leedscruiser
General Manager A, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Hi Leedscruiser, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Drayton Arms take our reviews very seriously. I'm sorry that that your experience with the pre-theatre food was not as expected and that there were unacceptable delays. This is not what we aim for and I am sorry if it affected your evening. I'd like the... More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

This place is a joke We visited Wednesday 21st Dec They had two people behind the bat 1 was really inexperienced the other was rushed off her feet Really one of the busiest nights in Dec Just before Xmas Here not only is it expensive but the service is poor On average 12 -15 min waits to be served Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dilphin
General Manager A, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Dilphin, I am sorry that you had a negative experience with us but am glad you brought this to my attention. I have checked our schedule and there were three people working that evening which is the most we can fit behind our bar. With that in mind, I am investigating with that team why there were only two behind... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere and nicely decorated for Christmas but ordered half chicken, stuffing and pigs in blankets and was served quarter chicken without the stuffing or pig in blanket... When the pig in blanket and stuffing finally came, the stuffing was still frozen and the pig in blanket was actually a cocktail sausage. The cherry on top was that it took... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
General Manager A, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this review

Kelly B, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Drayton Arms. You are right that it is not acceptable for the food to come to the table with items missing, and I have taken this up with our kitchen and bar teams to ensure that this does not happen going ahead. I would like the... More 

Travellers who viewed The Drayton Arms also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Drayton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Cuisine
Pub, Bar, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Television
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 153 Old Brompton Road | South Kensington, London SW5 0LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > South Kensington
  • Neighbourhood: South Kensington
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7835 2301
Description
The Drayton Arms Dining and Theatre is an eclectic mix of trusty local pub, stylish South Kensington nightspot and fabulous fringe Theatre. As sunlight floods through our floor to ceiling windows, soak up the imposing Jacobean features with a pint of real ale or over our hangover-busting brunch. On Saturday night, trade in your pint for a Cosmopolitan and embrace the sophistication of our prestigious postcode with laidback aplomb. Upstairs you will find a cosy 50 seat fringe theatre, with delightful shows every day including old favourites, new writing, cabaret and comedy.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Drayton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood