We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tenshi

) #8,651 of 18,152 Restaurants in London $$ - $$$ Japanese, Sushi, Asian
61 Upper Street | Islington, London N1 0NY, England
+44 20 7226 4665
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“bento box” (13 reviews)
“sushi” (51 reviews)
“okonomiyaki” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
61 Upper Street | Islington, London N1 0NY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading these reviews and dining in Tenshi I decided to write one of my own. My boyfriend and I were recommended this restaurant by a friend because I am an avid sushi lover, and very picky for authentic traditional sushi with high quality fish...More

Thank Lilly B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited before a cinema trip and had gyoza, octopus, the sashimi, California rolls and some inside out tuna and avocado rolls. It was absolutely amazing. It's one of the closest we've had to authentic Japanese food in London. By far the best of all...More

Thank CrazyPenguin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a vegetarian and I do not eat fish and never have. I ordered vegetable dumpling udon soup here and they served me shrimp, then refused to acknowledge they had done so. The waitstaff was helpful but the manager was rude, told me I was...More

Thank cbboxer
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reasonable priced Japanese, sushi was good, staff seemed inexperienced. Agedashi tofu was not that great, but other dishes were fine.

Thank Graeme M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the my favorite restaurant in london. I like this place, because it's cozy, good taste and reasonable price. I have oderded bara chirashi sushi was very yummy and fresh. I highly recommended this place.

Thank Chichi S
joe m, Owner at Tenshi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chichi S, thank you for your kind words. I've shared your comments with our staff and I'm sure they will be very pleased that their efforts are appreciated.

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

My friend and i went to the restaurant to get take out and the service was horrible. It was a long wait, they forgot items of our order, and the food tasted aweful. Would not recommend it, especially with so many other great restaurants in...More

1  Thank Merpaulien86
joe m, Owner at Tenshi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Merpaulien, I have asked my staff about this incident in details. They confirmed that you did not receive the prawn tempura avocado roll, and nor were you charged for it. This is because the staff forgot to include it in the order, and for...More

Reviewed 17 July 2017

Saturday evening meal with friends. You can't reserve on a Saturday night, but 3 of us turned up at 8 on a busy summer Saturday evening and were seated immediately upstairs. Cosy atmosphere, food was lovely, mixture of sushi, dumplings, pork and a chicken curry....More

Thank GeorgeandVerity
joe m, Owner at Tenshi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Georgeandverity, I'm very happy that you had a good time at Tenshi and sampled a broad range of items from our menu. Thank you for your kind words. I will pass your comments on to the staff.

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Nipped in here with a friend for a quick bite to eat and we were not disappointed! We had chicken, vegetable and shrimp dumplings, chicken skewers and spicy tuna sushi rolls, quite expensive (around £30 each with no alcoholic drinks) as they included a service...More

Thank 186402Emma
Reviewed 2 July 2017

The food was not bad, but not impressive either. I ordered Salmon Teriyaki from the main course and was really surprised that it was served without a rice. Just the fish and salad. Seriously?Usually Japanese restaurants serves free tea, include Miso soup to your order...More

Thank Polina M
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The food here was pretty good. We had the fried chicken potstickers, and even ordered a second after quickly eating the first plate. Surprisingly filling, we were only able to try the spicy tuna roll, the inside out yellowfin tuna roll, the salmon with spicy...More

Thank Azelyaze
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Breakfast Club
360 reviews
.06 km away
Vivo
253 reviews
.04 km away
Kipferl
229 reviews
.06 km away
Wahaca Islington
215 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Camden Passage
99 reviews
.04 km away
King's Head Theatre
84 reviews
.31 km away
Business Design Centre
59 reviews
.09 km away
Angel
37 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tenshi staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
11:45 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 Upper Street | Islington, London N1 0NY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7226 4665
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing