We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Jugged Hare

#5,373 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Westminster
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
172 Vauxhall Bridge Road | Victoria, London SW1V 1DX, England
+44 20 7828 1543
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came in here after work, never been before, great atmosphere, friendly staff and a decent G n T - will come again

Helpful?
Thank Alex P
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the sampler three small pies and three beer tasters. It was quite filling and its a great bar. The bartenders were excellent giving us different beers to try, as this was my first time in there. Remember, its Pub food!

Helpful?
Thank jcaff
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The staff were very friendly and the food was good. I would recommend the pies as they are excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Shane S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Today me and my friend had Sunday roast .This was my first Sunday Roast here and it did not disappoint!! The roast is huge so you are gonna have to come hungry or have stretchy trousers. The staff very friendly, polite and professional.Will come back to try the roast chicken with a bigger group .(hope they will have it)

Helpful?
Thank SmallWizard
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Popped in for lunch the other day, was chatting to Matt behind the bar, was really engaging with great knowledge of the beers. I had a stilton and sweet potato pie with mash, went down really well with a couple of pints. Great option for Lunch in the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank gkirby1291
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Felt this pub had no atmosphere, food very disappointing, lady eventually brought meal after three attempts, she kept bringing other customers meals and there were just a few customers in the pub, the meal was not appetizing. Would not recommend this place, sorry to say, do not enjoy writing bad reviews !!!

Helpful?
Thank Jen C
thejuggedhare, General Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this review

Dear Jen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sad to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. We always try our best to make sure everyone enjoys their visit with us, however sometimes we do get things wrong. All feedbacks are taken on board and used to make our service... More 

Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
569 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We lunched here at 2 Jan and it was extremely cold, the pies were ok but not price winning as said on the menu (ah maybe according to UK standards, but not to continental standards), wine was good, the waittresss friendly.

Helpful?
Thank jooplent
thejuggedhare, General Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this review

Dear Jooplent, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our AWARD-WINNING pie is the POSH STARGAZY which won the British Pie Awards in 2016, all of our pies are hand made and cooked in house. We also offer a selection of traditional dishes on our main menu which might be more to your taste. The next... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

This wasn't the best experience. I visited this place with a team of 10, we did pre-booked, they were very unprepared for our booking We ordered food at 11:45 and had to prompt the waiter at 12:50 for the dishes, that came out minutes later ( I assume the waitress forgot about our food). 3 of us sent our food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Sadly I have failed to eat at The Jugged Hare twice in the last six days despite making advanced bookings on both occasions. Last week I was called two and a half hours before my booking to cancel. Tonight I was called 15 minutes before to cancel my booking. We were already on our way. This lack of reliability over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Professortimmy
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I won't go into great detail as I am of the same party of another recent review, however, I would highly recommend that this venue is avoided at all costs for events/parties bigger than 6-8 people. The management, staff and kitchen were unable to manage a large Christmas party booking (which had been booked, coordinated and planned with the venue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liblet22

Travellers who viewed The Jugged Hare also viewed

 

Been to The Jugged Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 172 Vauxhall Bridge Road | Victoria, London SW1V 1DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Westminster
  • Neighbourhood: Westminster
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7828 1543
Description
Built in the 1800s and originally a branch of National Westminster Bank, The Jugged Hare opened in November 1996. It enjoys a prime position just moments away from Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and the King’s Road.

The Jugged Hare takes its name from the traditional British dish where the hare is hung and then slowly cooked in an earthenware pot. We’ve adapted this dish to create our own Jugged Hare Pie, gently braising the meat with celery, carrots and onions in a rich port and redcurrant gravy.

As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for selling a range of fantastic homemade pies and perfectly conditioned award-winning ales, along with a range of pub classics.

We’ve always got at least four cask-conditioned ales on tap and we brew them just six miles from here, at Fuller’s in Chiswick, London’s last remaining traditional family brewery.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Jugged Hare and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Jugged Hare staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood