We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Grand Union

#11,525 of 17,533 Restaurants in London
Bar, Pub, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
96 Wandsworth High Street | Wandsworth, London SW18 4LB, England
+44 20 8877 1851
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Tue 12:00 - 23:00
Wed - Thu 12:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 01:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Terrible service, rude manager by the name of Jennifer. Food quality is alarming. Inedible ribs and uncooked prawns. 18 inch pizza on the menu but they even have a 18 inch oven on the premises. Drink prices changed every 30 minutes, horrified to be served a moldy cocktail there.

Helpful?
Thank Kimmz A
Martin H, Head of Marketing at The Grand Union, responded to this review

Hi Kimmz, Thank you for your review - Are you sure you were at our Wandsworth venue? I'm afraid we do not have any staff by this name there.. However if you would like to email me martin@grandunionbars.com - I would like to look into this a bit further for you. Thanks, Martin More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such a lovely pub. Outside is lovely. Huts are perfect for a gathering with friends! Cocktails priced really reasonable!

Helpful?
Thank Rhianna H
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a friend's Birthday and had such a good time. Carly our waitress was always there when we needed her. Such a good atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Clare H
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

went in for late lunch only people in bar area seating asked for menus so staff knew we would be eating no one came to table to take drinks order so we went to bar ourselves menus was somewhat misleading and food was not exceptional sadly

Helpful?
Thank millymo2014
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Atmosphere is great! Extensive list of cocktails, and decor is brilliant! Would recommend booking a tiki hut - you will love it. Music is great!

Helpful?
Thank Claire E
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2016

We reserved an area in one of the huts outside - we had a great time although there was a problem with our waiter not being able to split the bill - which made things very complicating. At 10.30pm, we were asked to move into the main pub area, which we were fully aware of. It was incredibly busy and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Meg C
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Live literally down the road so come here quite often. The place looks pretty average from the outside but go through the bar into the garden area and wow! There are lots of different little Wendy houses to sit in (each with heaters if it's cold). What I really like is that they have table service so you can order... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CordeliaMC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Last night was the best night I had in a long time. I went to the Grand Union and i love what they have done with the beer garden, thy've upgraded and it's amazing. It makes you feel like you are somewhere else, i felt like i was on holiday. The staff is very friendly and the lady who served... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nena R
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

We literally just got back to our motel and I am writing this review! WOW!! Food was amazing, atmosphere was awesome! Hip music. My daughter had the nachos, yum yum yum! My partner had a beef burger which he said tasted great and I had the Falafel salad- which was delicious- it was so tasty, the best I've had so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Meaghan D
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Visited this bar to for first time on a Friday evening, really wouldn't bother, extremely slow service at bar, had to wait a very long time to be served!

Helpful?
Thank LKS882014

Travellers who viewed The Grand Union also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to The Grand Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:30
Saturday
12:00 - 01:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 96 Wandsworth High Street | Wandsworth, London SW18 4LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8877 1851
Description
We happened on the Grand Union in downtown Wandsworth in time for lunch. This is a very nice gastro-pub. The food was fresh, inventive, delicious and well priced. It's worthy of a listing and my review. Trip Advisor readers in the area would enjoy it.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Union staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?