We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Phoenix

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Westminster
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
14 Palace Street | Victoria, London SW1E 5JA, England
+44 20 7828 8136
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I met my friends here for a work leaving do and enjoyed the social, buzzy atmosphere on a Thursday night. We arrived around 6.15 when it was already packed and although it was busy at the bar, service seemed quite quick as my drink was in my hand within 10 minutes. There's loads of seating though it was so busy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Temer2
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Phoenix is next door to the fantastic Nadler Victoria Hotel where my wife and I recently stayed. My wife and I went to the Phoenix for a glass of wine and a pint on Thursday, May 4, 2017 at about 9pm. The Phoenix is nicely decorated with several televisions playing sports. The staff was efficient but not particularly friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian-in-Albany
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a table for our dinner which is great as the restaurant is much quieter than downstairs. However I don't know how can a pub run out of champagne on a Wed night at 6pm. I mean they only have 2 selection, and they are out of one so I have no choice but order the £70 bottle. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fussy P
ThePhoenixVic, General Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this review

Dear Madam Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and the quieter atmosphere of the upstairs room. We actually have 4 champagnes on our wine list ranging from £37.50 to £72.50. We were only out of stock of one champagne on the evening you visited, the other 3 are very... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this place by chance after we'd been out for a day in London. Gorgeous pub inside and out, really cosy by the fire on a freezing spring day! It even has a cute little garden but it was too cold and windy to enjoy. To eat we shared a chorizo and duck egg with avocado on toast and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jean19810
ThePhoenixVic, General Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your visit to the Phoenix, we aim to give all of our guests equally as good experience. We will be changing the menu this week so please come and check it out next time you're in the area. We have introduced a few lighter... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I work round the corner on Buckingham Place and this was my third visit here to my 'local', and will sadly be my last. The menu is excellent and innovative and the quality of the food also very good. However it has quite possibly the worst customer service I have experienced in recent memory. So bad it has prompted my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank danpeacock1865
ThePhoenixVic, Sales & Marketing Co-ordinator at The Phoenix, responded to this review

Hello Dan. Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is highly valued. I am very sorry to hear that the service was not up to our usual standard and the waitress was rude during your visit. We aim to delight all of our guests and I am very sorry to see we have not done on this occasion.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I popped in here for pre-theatre glass of vino (worth it, the theatre prices are extortionate!), but had to sit outside, because it absolutely reeked of fish to the point of stomach churning. A shame, as it's really nice inside.

Helpful?
Thank PaulaMellon
ThePhoenixVic, General Manager at The Phoenix, responded to this review

Hi Paula Many thanks for your review. I'm glad on the whole the visit to the Phoenix was a good one. I do apologise for the smell, this is an issue caused by our drains which has got worse recently, we believe partly due to the building work in the area. We have a specialist coming to review this soon... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for brunch with friends - no decaf coffee, no soya milk, and no hot chocolate. We ordered brunch anyway but wanted to swap bacon with fish because of various reasons and requested this on ordering - the food came out without bacon, but also without any extra, yet was charged the same. The fried eggs were overdone in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca9219
ThePhoenixVic, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at The Phoenix, responded to this review

Hello Rebecca. Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry to hear about the problems you had during your visit to The Phoenix. We would appreciate it if you would get in contact with us directly on email at thephoenixvictoria@geronimo-inns.co.uk or on 02078288136 in order for us to put things right. Looking forward to hearing from you... More 

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Phoenix is very attractive from the outside and conveniently located between Buckingham Palace and Victoria station. The main bar is huge and looks like it's designed for heaving after work sessions. We were there for a post marathon lunch on Sunday and it looked like a village hall with tables all around the edge of this whopping great void.... More 

Helpful?
Thank EllyButler
ThePhoenixVic, Sales and Marketing Co-ordinator at The Phoenix, responded to this review

Hello Elly. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we very much appreciate your feedback. The menu we served on the day you visited is not our standard Sunday menu, as you have mentioned, we were running a reduced menu in order to cater for the vast number of extra customers we get in on the day... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate dinner here our first night in London as it is around the corner from the Nadler Hotel. The service was friendly, relatively fast. The beer batter for the fish is very, very tasty. I could have eaten that meal every day during my stay. Loved the ambience, nice English pub decor. One nice thing is that we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This idyllic little pub was literally right next to our hotel we went for Sunday roast on our first weekend and we're quite impressed. The interior of the main room was open, airy, brightly lit and tastefully appointed. We were seated in a cozy side room with 2 tables just off towards the back courtyard seating. We had the shared... More 

Helpful?
Thank bill C

Travellers who viewed The Phoenix also viewed

 

Been to The Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$18 - US$39
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Palace Street | Victoria, London SW1E 5JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Westminster
  • Neighbourhood: Westminster
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7828 8136
Description
Whether you've just popped in to see the Queen but didn't fancy staying for tea, are catching a show at the theatre next door or just feel like lingering over a pint before facing the hustle and bustle of Victoria, we have the perfect place for you.

The Phoenix, just 5 minutes from Victoria Station, is alive in the week with office workers and on the weekend the hubbub comes from the tourists popping into Buckingham Palace. Our menu showcases the fresh seasonal ingredients whilst reminding all how good traditional British food can be. The large bar is a mix and match of tables, armchairs, with space at the bar for those wanting to sample the real ales or a fine fine glass of wine.

The Upstairs Bar is ideal for meetings, dinners, drinks and more. Out the back is the garden delightful for a light lunch or after work libation. The Royal Family have a delightful local.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Phoenix and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Phoenix staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood