We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Butlers Wharf Chop House

36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
+44 20 7403 3403
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (182 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We had reservations and told the lady at the door. She offered us a table outside and informed us we could sit there for two hours and then we had to leave. At that point we were ready to leave. No tables outside so we...More

Thank Emma A
Reviewed 3 days ago

As always the restaurant gives stunning views We visited on a Monday lunch time where the trade was sluggish and the service reflected that. This was my fifth time eating in the restaurant and I guess the law of averages says there will always be...More

Thank 1959robin820
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear 1959robin820 Thank you for taking the time to review. I am sorry for your recent experience and would like to discuss in more detail if possible. Could you please contact me at the restaurant on 02074033403 or alternatively charliem@danddlonon.com. I look forward to hearing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Outstanding service , fantastic food , stunning views.! Was at a business lunch which lasted a good 5 hours and all I could think of was , "I could just spend the evening with my friends here" ( much as I love my work colleagues)...More

Thank Rolanda P
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Rolanda P Thank you for taking the time to review. We are all pleased you enjoyed your recent experience and hop to see you again soon. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 1 week ago

I would thoroughly recommend going here for a meal. Always book first. If you are lucky and the weather is good try and get a table outside and watch the world go by along the walkway and the river thames, fabulous

Thank julievicky78
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Julievicky78 Thank you for taking the time to review. We are all pleased you enjoyed your recent experience and hop to see you again soon. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 1 week ago

Why have you stopped caring Chop house? I have always been a fan but something's changed. I don't think it was just an off day, I visited Chop house for lunch on 13/7/17. The normally bustling atmosphere and amazing service was missing, instead it was...More

Thank razamatazcaz
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Razamatazcaz Thank you for taking the time to review. I can assure we that we really do care. If you could please contact me at the restaurant I would like to discuss your recent experience. Charliem@danddlondon.com or alternatively 02074033403 I look forward to hearing...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate here for supper on a Wednesday evening and had a very pleasant meal. On arrival we had some drinks at the bar and then we were shown to our table, as requested near to the window. Service was efficient and our waitress was...More

Thank Alex S
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Alex S Thank you for taking the time to review. I will pass your kind words onto the waiting team, they do so much that goes unnoticed & will be pleased to know it pays off. We hope to see you again soon Kind...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a very enjoyable evening here earlier this week. This was my favourite restaurant for many years many years ago and it felt really good to be back. The ambience and the staff were just as good as I remembered them. The steak and...More

Thank ABC-WLondon
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ABC-WLondon Thank you for taking the time to review. The Steak & Kidney pudding is a personal favourite of mine here too, we have had the same chef make them for over 10 years now! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is tucked away from the crowds of tourists. You can sit outside under cover with a perfect view of Tower Bridge and the Thames. We had the lunch special of 2 courses for £13.50. I had delicious potted mackerel on toast and my...More

Thank rebeccadiver
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Rebeccadiver Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience. Thank you also for your feedback about the Sausages we will look into this immediately. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I haven't visited this restaurant for over a year and being a loyal regular customer for over 10 years, sadly it's changed for the worst. The set menu price has crept up in price. I instantly noticed that they don't serve free bread and butter...More

Thank Jade H
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jade H Thank you for taking the time to review. I would like to speak to you regarding your recent experience. If you wouldn't mind contacting me at charliem@danddlondon.com I would be very grateful. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service was appalling. We had a lovely welcome and our party of 4 was shown to a table. We then waited 20 minutes, which seemed a lifetime, forr a menu and a drinks order. We finally asked a passing member of staff if we...More

Thank Fcfirty
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Fcfirty Firstly may I apologise for your recent experience. If you wouldn't mind contacting me at charliem@danddlondon.com I would like to discuss your recent experience. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cantina del Ponte
994 reviews
.10 km away
Le Pont de la Tour
699 reviews
.06 km away
Blue Print Cafe
678 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tower of London
47,003 reviews
.46 km away
Tower Bridge
24,723 reviews
.17 km away
City Hall
205 reviews
.41 km away
London Bridge
195 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dfinch2016
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Charlie M | Property representative |
The package for the meal and boat is £300 for the meal only it is £100 Kind regards Colin
0
Votes
Ian S
27 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sarah H | Reviewed this property |
Hi Ian, I'm so sorry I didn't see your message! Hope your wife's 60th went well and the Chop House was as delicious as can be. Best, Sarah
1
Vote
Julie W
10 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jade H | Reviewed this property |
I've never been to the Simpsons tavern chop house so I can't really compare. However I've been going to Butlers wharf chop house for about 10 years. The food, the staff, the view has never disappointed me.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$23 - US$65
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7403 3403
  • E-mail
Description
We pride ourselves on serving modern British food that is locally sourced. Being located along London's riverside we have all kinds of amazing suppliers at our finger tips with the likes of Cannon and Cannon from Borough Market bringing you the best in British charcuterie and grass-fed Spey side Angus X steaks, our restaurant is brimming with quality ingredients. As well as meat we like to think our fish & seafood is pretty good too, with Foreman's smoked salmon, Carlingford Rocks Oysters and sumptuous lobster. Soak up magnificent views across to Tower Bridge and beyond, we like to think this it is the perfect place to come and sample one of our craft ale's or peruse our extensive gin list. The Chop House bar has a relaxed atmosphere adjacent to the main restaurant and is a great place to stop by for a quick bite to eat or to enjoy cocktails in a relaxed setting, overlooking Tower Bridge. Whether you're on a lunch break with colleagues or popping in at the weekend with family there is something for everybody's taste.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing