We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Butlers Wharf Chop House

36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
+44 20 7403 3403
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (188 reviews)
“potted shrimps” (13 reviews)
“fish and chips” (56 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We visited the chop house with friends and whilst the atmosphere was good the service was terrible. We were stuck in a corner and it soon became clear that we had been forgotten. Cocktails took thirty minutes to arrive and then another forty five minutes...More

Thank James H
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We are just leaving after the best night we’ve had in a long time. The general manager was exceptionally accommodating, and we were looked after by Stelios and David who were the most amazing waiters you could find. We had châteaubriand with all the trimmings...More

Thank Michael W
Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful evening here for his birthday. The food was excellent, very well cooked, the service was impeccable (particularly by our main waiter Sabin) and the atmosphere was serene, all topped off with a beautiful view of tower bridge. The...More

Thank Elizabeth G
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Elizabeth G Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased you choose to spend your partners Birthday with us & that Sabin made it a special occasion of it. We hope to see you again at the Chophouse Kind Regards Charlie...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Apart from the fact that I booked the restaurant last night and was promised a email confirmation, my booking wasn't on the system nor did I get an email. Food was excellent as was the service until they started a training session within earshot of...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your review with us. We would like to apologies for not confirming your booking via email and will look into where the mistake happened. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your service and food experience with us....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family took me here for my 70th birthday on a Sunday afternoon which they were aware of and which was noted when we arrived. The service was absolutely dreadful with a mistake at every course. When we arrived we ordered drinks for nine of...More

Thank JLC47
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JLC47 I am terribly sorry about your recent experience. The following day I actually phoned your daughter (I presume) and spoke to her about the your recent visit after my colleague was not happy with the level of service you received. As I said...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A Friday night visit as we were staying in London for a friends wedding on Saturday. Telephoned at 6.30 and were able to book table for 8pm. Walked across Tower Bridge and restaurant is actually set along the beautiful Thames River. Pleasant modern interior, seating...More

Thank MaxNavChoudry
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MaxNavChoudry, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad you enjoyed your recent experience & hope to see you again at the Chophouse. Kind Regards Charlie McSweeney

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the food we had was pleasant enough, I did feel that the prices were high, even by London standards. The service was good, 12.5% service charge equated to just under £20 for simple cod and chips.

Thank Ken C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful view of the London bridge, fantastic service, great food. Enjoyed drinks, dessert, coffee - we were there about 2 hours and never felt rushed. Service was attentive without being stifling. Cod and chips and the sticky toffee pudding were standouts. Completely recommend!

Thank Daen S
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Daen S Thank you for taking the time to review. We are all pleased you enjoyed your recent experience & hope to see you again at the chop house. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful time, the food was delicious and Errico took good care of us. We'll make sure to stop by next time we're in London.

Thank Thomas O
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Thomas O Thank you for taking the time to review. I will pass your kind words on to Errico & we hope to see you again at the Chophouse. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We chose Chop House for the location - we sat outside over looking Tower Bridge. The service was exceptional and we never felt rushed. There was an extensive menu, (something to suit all tastes) and our choices of scallops and crabmeat on toast to start...More

Thank annieandnick
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Annieandnick Thank you for taking the time to review. We are all pleased you enjoyed your recent experience & hope to see you again soon at the chop house. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cantina del Ponte
1,013 reviews
.10 km away
Le Pont de la Tour
796 reviews
.06 km away
Blue Print Cafe
693 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tower of London
49,488 reviews
.46 km away
Tower Bridge
26,494 reviews
.17 km away
City Hall
216 reviews
.41 km away
London Bridge
233 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lucyprov
25 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Charlie M | Property representative |
Good Afternoon, Yes we run a children's menu all week.
0
Votes
dfinch2016
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Charlie M | Property representative |
The package for the meal and boat is £300 for the meal only it is £100 Kind regards Colin
0
Votes
Ian S
27 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sarah H | Reviewed this property |
Hi Ian, I'm so sorry I didn't see your message! Hope your wife's 60th went well and the Chop House was as delicious as can be. Best, Sarah
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$66
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7403 3403
  • E-mail
Description
We pride ourselves on serving modern British food that is locally sourced. Being located along London's riverside we have all kinds of amazing suppliers at our finger tips with the likes of Cannon and Cannon from Borough Market bringing you the best in British charcuterie and grass-fed Spey side Angus X steaks, our restaurant is brimming with quality ingredients. As well as meat we like to think our fish & seafood is pretty good too, with Foreman's smoked salmon, Carlingford Rocks Oysters and sumptuous lobster. Soak up magnificent views across to Tower Bridge and beyond, we like to think this it is the perfect place to come and sample one of our craft ale's or peruse our extensive gin list. The Chop House bar has a relaxed atmosphere adjacent to the main restaurant and is a great place to stop by for a quick bite to eat or to enjoy cocktails in a relaxed setting, overlooking Tower Bridge. Whether you're on a lunch break with colleagues or popping in at the weekend with family there is something for everybody's taste.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing