We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Well

) #4,147 of 18,196 Restaurants in London $$ - $$$ , British,
180 St. John Street, London EC1V 4JY, England
+44 20 7251 9363
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mutton” (2 reviews)
“sunday roast” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
180 St. John Street, London EC1V 4JY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017

We came across this very nice pub by accident after a nearby restaurant 'lost' my reservation. It turned out a blessing as this place had great food and a fun atmosphere. Our server was concerned that it being 'quiz night' we would be bothered by...More

Thank UtahMarty
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This place has a slightly rough and ready vibe upstairs and a faintly sleepy feel downstairs but I have always enjoyed the interesting food offered here. A recent favourite being 'scotch pheasant eggs' very delicious and hearty. The fish always very fresh and cooked perfectly...More

Thank Lizzi B
GemmaETM, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear Lizzi, Thanks for the great feedback. We always try our best to ensure each occasion you choose us that we exceed expectations. Your comments will be passed on to our team who are always looking to make sure we provide exception quality of produce...More

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

The Well is generally busy weekdays so we popped in on a Saturday night and it wasn't difficult to get a table as they were less busy. Took ages for the waitress (who was perfectly friendly) to come over to take our order and it...More

Thank rjoldfield
GemmaETM, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to Well. I am really sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience. I would love to talk to you in more detail regarding your visit. Please...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed ourselves at The Well on an early Sunday evening. The waitress for some reason couldn't identify my Opentable reservation in their system, but once I showed her my confirmation email, she was absolutely fine about accepting it and granted us the offer. The...More

Thank Excurse
Gemma E, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Hi, Thanks for the great feedback. We always try our best to ensure each occasion you choose us that we exceed expectations. Your comments will be passed on to our team who are always looking to make sure we provide exception quality of produce and...More

Reviewed 27 February 2017

We made the mistake of visiting this restaurant at 7:30 on a Friday Evening. It was so noisey we could not have a conversation. The dining tables were crammed in around a bar surrounded by Friday night drinkers - we were not warned when we...More

Thank Rachel M
Gemma E, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to the Well. I am really sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience. I would love to talk to you in more detail regarding your...More

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Apparently this place is popular - we tried one evening but there was no available table, but it looked good so we reserved for another night. Turned out to be a good idea, the place was packed again but even so staff were very friendly...More

Thank Peter H
Gemma E, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Hi Peter, Thanks for the great feedback. We always try our best to ensure each occasion you choose us that we exceed expectations. Your comments will be passed on to our team who are always looking to make sure we provide exception quality of produce...More

Reviewed 12 February 2017

Great deal via Open Table and with decent reviews mostly so I was looking forward to a really good evening. We were nicely welcomed but then squeezed into a small table next to a birthday group of 15. And while that table was being prepared,...More

Thank srlytton
Gemma E, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Hi srlytton, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for The Well. We are so sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience on your recent visit regarding the service and the food. We aim for high standards on...More

Reviewed 31 January 2017

We had a reasonably good dinner here in January. The food was let down by slow, uninformed service. We arrived early and it was virtually empty, but it took a long time to order a drink and get the menu and then we discovered we...More

Thank Susie R
Gemma E, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Hi Susie, Thank you for leaving a review for the Well. I am glad you enjoyed the food but disappointed to hear that the service you received was not up to scratch. I would like to apologise for your less than satisfactory experience and would...More

Reviewed 26 January 2017

We were a party of five going on after dinner to Sadlers Wells. The kitchen opens at 6 PM and we told our server, Majka that we needed to leave by about 7pm for the 7:30pm performance. This presented no problem, we ordered and managed...More

Thank IANandARI
Gemma E, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Hi Ian and Ari, Thanks for the great feedback. We always try our best to ensure each occasion you choose us that we exceed expectations. Your comments will be passed on to our team who are always looking to make sure we provide exception quality...More

Reviewed 19 December 2016

We recently held a private party in the downstairs cocktail bar at the well, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the service was exceptional and the setting is perfect. Immaculately decorated, the downstairs bar is cosy and large enough for...More

Thank joshjsknight
Gemma E, Manager at The Well, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear joshjsknight Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at The Well. I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely time and your feedback has been passed on the team at The Well. We hope to have you back in...More

Nearby
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site
of an ancient meat market which remains in operation
today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally
renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and
some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a
focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough
time wondering through the area's maze of streets and
you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky
...More
Nearby Restaurants
The Peasant
187 reviews
.15 km away
Sushi Tetsu
117 reviews
.14 km away
Granger & Co
270 reviews
.15 km away
The Modern Pantry
748 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Museum of the Order of St John
100 reviews
.29 km away
Exmouth Market
39 reviews
.24 km away
St John's Gate
16 reviews
.24 km away
Clerkenwell
12 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Well staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$61
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 11:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:30 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 180 St. John Street, London EC1V 4JY, England
  • Public Transportation: Farringdon/Barbican/Angel tube stations.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Clerkenwell
  • Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7251 9363
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the heart of Clerkenwell, The Well is a gastropub with a difference, serving traditional British pub food with a twist. Upstairs, the rustic decor of wooden pub furniture and exposed brick walls makes for a cosy and homely ambience, while underneath the ground floor restaurant lies a trendy and buzzing cocktail lounge. The Well offers the best in British produce and seasonal food. After dinner, head downstairs to the chic cocktail lounge, complete with aquarium and leather sofas, to try our mix of classic and contemporary cocktails.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing