We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cay Tre

301 Old Street, London EC1V 9LA, England
+44 20 7729 8662
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good41%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pho” (74 reviews)
“beef” (32 reviews)
“spring rolls” (19 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Vietnamese, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
301 Old Street, London EC1V 9LA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Finally got round to trying this place and it definitely didn't disappoint! I got the Hanoi BBQ pork and it was delicious and crispy. Great service and the food came out quick, I'd definitely recommend :)

Thank Hannah G
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback. We hope you come back to see us again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cay Tre came recommended from various google searches, so last weekend we made our way there. Easy to get a table, they seem like a no frills place, we just walked in. Clean and happy ambience. Really sweet staff, they took our questions and recommended...More

Thank Wandering_AG
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us & hope you enjoyed your pho and wok noodle dishes. We hope you come back to see us again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Can you say delicious... until about 5 minutes after you complete your meal and your hands, eyes and face feel like a brick of MSG just slapped you across your face. I’ve never been so swollen. Horrible service.. delicious until the after math.

Thank billy c
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Billy, sorry to hear this happened. If you could email abbey@vietnamesekitchen.co.uk with some details about what dishes you had that would be very helpful. Thanks so much.

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

My brother and I decide to come here for dinner without a reservation. We got there at 6:30pm and were seated downstairs. We were told that we only had one hour on this table as it was booked by other people. Most of the tables...More

Thank Hungry_London_Hippo_
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am very sorry for the delay in responding to your review. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience on your visit to Cay Tre. We take all reviews very seriously & your comments have been sent over to the manager....More

Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

They forgot my order several times. Really bad communication and loud environment. Won't visit again

Thank Nils L
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

We are very sorry you had a poor experience at Cay Tre. Please do contact us at abbey@vietnamesekitchen.co.uk so we can discuss your visit in my detail. Thank you.

Reviewed 10 April 2018

Food not great, service worst ever. The waiter refused to seat me downstairs as I wanted more privacy and upstairs only has 1 table empty. She huffed and pulled a face, but eventually complied after I insisted. Remember to check your bill as they added...More

Thank Luscious A
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Set menu is £22.50 and is great for two people. The sharing plate is exceptional. I got the spring chicken which was amazing. My wife got the duck which was also delicious. I've only give. This a 4 star rather than 5 because the duck...More

Thank Michael R
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for leaving your feedback after visiting us at Cay Tre. Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we very much appreciate your feedback on the duck dish. We will make sure our chef is aware. We hope you come back...More

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The food was really good, the portions were way too small. While the food deserves 3-4stars, the service was just bad. The restaurant looks quite nice. But we spent 20minutes waiting for few simple dishes when the restaurant was really quiet (can’t imagine the waiting...More

Thank FluffyBlueCow
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that you received poor service on your visit to Cay Tre. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback has been sent over to management to make sure it is addressed. We would...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018

I visited Hoxton/Shoreditch area in the early evening to experiece food not readily available in the West Midlands. I noticed Cay Tre and a Korean restaurant a cople of doors up from Old Street Tube Station. There were queues outside both. I checked the menu...More

Thank LargeWestMids
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. We love to hear that you enjoyed your meal at Cay Tre. We hope you come back to see us again to try our fab tasting menu! Thank you again for your review.

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Nice Vietnamese restaurant with efficient service. The beef pho as part of the Saigon special including a side for £11 is terrific value. It was a lovely lunch and definitely worth a visit but I’m about to get hypercritical. The broth (most important part, obviously)...More

Thank Jon C
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate all reviews and make sure they are passed to the chef and management to consider. We are glad to hear you will continue to visit us and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you

Nearby
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is
a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be
it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well
connected transportation links dotting its perimeter,
along with an ever increasing variety of shops,
hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore
this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood.
There's a lingering post-industrial grit about
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,083 hotels in London
Holiday Inn Express London City
1,434 reviews
.09 km away
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
5,028 reviews
.15 km away
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
601 reviews
.16 km away
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
160 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Busaba Bangkok Thai
578 reviews
.05 km away
Rossopomodoro Hoxton
239 reviews
.04 km away
Popolo Shoreditch
88 reviews
.07 km away
On the Bab
467 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shoreditch Town Hall
11 reviews
.18 km away
Street Art London Tours
980 reviews
.20 km away
Callooh Callay Bar
202 reviews
.14 km away
Atsuko's Kitchen: Japanese cooking classes
29 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lennyjam
15 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vietnamesekitchen2 | Property representative |
Hi, unfortunately we don't have baby changing facilities at the restaurant. Sorry for any inconvenience.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$29
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 301 Old Street, London EC1V 9LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Shoreditch
  • Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7729 8662
  • E-mail
Description
Cay Tre is Hoxton's favourite Vietnamese restaurant, small but perfectly formed. Here you'll find a fresh and creative approach to Vietnamese cuisine that we pride ourselves on. Cay Tre is bustling with life and full of the heady aromas of great Vietnamese cooking. We're passionate about food, ensuring what you get is an authentic taste of Vietnam using fresh, well sourced ingredients from the British Isles, wherever possible. We have a saying at Cay Tre, which is 'to make the simplest of dishes taste good you need the ingredients of time and passion' and you can be assured we have plenty of both. Every dish, from our street food snacks to our a la carte delicacies, is lovingly prepared with this saying in mind. Take our classic beef Pho for example, which takes over 18 hours to make! Likewise, our wine list is carefully selected by renowned wine writer Malcolm Gluck to match the aromatic dishes on the menu. What's more, if you're looking for food on the go, we offer a Vietnamese takeaway service and can deliver promptly to your home or office.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;