We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crusting Pipe Wine Bar

#2,466 of 18,389 Restaurants in London
$$ - $$$European, British,
The Piazza | Covent Garden, London WC2E 8RD, England
+44 20 7836 1415
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good43%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Piazza | Covent Garden, London WC2E 8RD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Made reservation easily for our large party of 8 for a busy Friday evening. Did not disappoint. Wine suggested (since out of chosen) was excellent. All meals very well done including one vegan practitioner among us. Very happy with choice and with meal including pacing....More

Thank Scott T
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Scott T, Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your dinner with us at Crusting Pipe and certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Yours sincerely, Megan Inglis

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for a spot to have a wine and as we were in Covent garden we found this place and not disappointed. The wine was excellent at reasonable price .will try the menu on our next visit ...

Thank Kailash S
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kailash S, Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit at Crusting Pipe and certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Yours sincerely, Megan Inglis

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been using for many years as central meeting place before later dining but having visited twice this week and needing to be indoors may be less likely to consider! Service at tables is now non existant and on two occasions at the bar when...More

Thank londonHands
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear londonHands, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Crusting Pipe. I was extremely disappointed to read that your experience with us did not meet our usual standards and I would like to apologise on behalf of the team. Clearly, we...More

Reviewed 15 March 2018

We went to The CrustingPipe for a late breakfast - it was a great plate of food at a reasonable price and the service was OK - some of the waitresses were a little sultry - but overall it was clean, the food was good...More

Thank Kevin B
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kevin B, Thank you for your feedback and compliments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Megan Inglis

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Always a joy when in London to watch the world go by and take in musical vibes whilst enjoying well presented food. We felt welcomed by the staff and sat inside as there was a chill in the air. Love the inventive twist on the...More

Thank edwinaissa
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear edwinaissa, Thank you very much for your feedback and lovely compliments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the entire team. We look forward to seeing you again. Best...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

Cod wrapped in pancetta meagre and tasteless. Staff seem incapable of accepting criticism constructively. Little atmosphere. Bill included a Service Charge which seemed totally undeserved - perhaps that's why they seem so indifferent to customers. The steak ordered by one of our party was good,...More

Thank PhilandRachelUk
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear PhilandRachelUk, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear that you and your guests did not enjoy your visit with us. I will certainly pass on your constructive feedback to the team. If you would like...More

Reviewed 27 February 2018

Based in Covent Garden market area (downstairs), we were met eventually by staff and directed into what felt like a low vaulted cellar. The area was dark and lit by candles - it had a good atmosphere. The menu was varied - our party ordered...More

Thank Helen W
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Helen W. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent visit to Crusting Pipe. It is extremely useful and helps us to address any issues and improve our level of service and quality of food further. I am...More

Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Found this place downstairs on the middle of the markets and had lunch there. The service was pretty good, and the food was also good. Portion sizes are ok without being large and relatively ok priced. The waitress we had was very friendly and timely...More

Thank Matt P
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Matt P, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. I am very pleased to read that you found both the food and and service to be good on this occasion and the waitress looking after you and your guests...More

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

I have stopped off here for coffee, late breakfast and lunch. Great to sit listening to the musicians entertaining the tourists. A superb menu throughout the day. Just missed the end of breakfast service so had starter with coffee - lovely presentation and great taste...More

Thank richbu9
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Richbu9, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience at Crusting Pipe. Your compliments about our food and friendly staff are extremely valuable to us and I will be sure to share these with the team. We are...More

Reviewed 15 February 2018

A cosy place with excellent service from friendly waitresses. Wine very pricey as one would expect in a tourist trap but food second rate - worst steak and kidney pie ever. No taste of Kidney and no taste at all. Partners food little better.More

Thank Alfred F
CrustingPipe, Sales and Events Manager at Crusting Pipe Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi Alfred F, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent visit to Crusting Pipe. Leaning about our customer experience is extremely valuable to us in order to help us improve for future experiences. I am glad to hear...More

Nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,080 hotels in London
Strand Palace Hotel
10,836 reviews
.14 km away
The Henrietta Hotel
127 reviews
.16 km away
One Aldwych
2,297 reviews
.21 km away
The Savoy
5,116 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ben's Cookies
303 reviews
.02 km away
Prima Sapori d' Italia
282 reviews
.05 km away
Venchi
187 reviews
.05 km away
The Ivy Market Grill
2,467 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Covent Garden
18,568 reviews
.05 km away
The London Film Museum - Covent Garden
985 reviews
.06 km away
London Transport Museum
2,149 reviews
.04 km away
St. Paul's Church (The Actors' Church)
114 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Julie B
15 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from codfish53 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don't know.
0
Votes
Frances Margare... K
24 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from ElderberryKombucha | Reviewed this property |
Always when I was there.
0
Votes
Crochetqueen164
19 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from travelingfool33 | Reviewed this property |
no, there is also seating inside!! so it took me a while to get back to you!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$23 - US$36
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Piazza | Covent Garden, London WC2E 8RD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Covent Garden
  • Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7836 1415
  • E-mail
Description
The Crusting Pipe sits in a plum position at the heart of London's famous Covent Garden Market and just minutes away from Charing Cross, Embankment, Covent Garden and Leicester Square Underground stations. Customers seated in the outdoor terrace can often enjoy impromptu performances from local musicians and actors, while the indoor spaces with vaulted ceilings and lots of nooks and crannies, provide an atmospheric setting in which to enjoy the seasonal British classics on offer. Look out for the popular afternoon tea options, pre/post theatre menus and interesting range of wines.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing