We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon

5-9 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AU, England
+44 1904 666740
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good45%
  • Average12%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“eggs benedict” (12 reviews)
“steak” (30 reviews)
“curry” (8 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Mexican, Indian, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5-9 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Called here when visiting York. Not a bad bar, but a bit lacking in atmosphere when we called. Staff were OK and good choice of well priced drinks. Close to the station, not exactly a typical Wetherspoons, but worth a visit

Thank ARKAYESS
Reviewed 4 days ago

Sat. night was very busy but the service was quick and the food OK. Go early to find a good place to sit.

Thank 2uktraveler09
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We visit the punch bowl on every trip we make to York to have breakfast as it’s close to the train station. Service is good and we have never waited long for food to arrive

Thank louisedomville
A TripAdvisor Member
52
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here on 14 April and we had a very enjoyable meal. There a slight issue with another customer, I understand whom complaind about the noise my daughter was making and to understand she has additional needs and does not speak. The staff handled...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
2870tracy, General Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for your visit and review! Great to hear your family enjoyed their meal. Thanks for your high praise of the staff members helping you during your visit, all our staff complete Diversity, Equality and Inclusion training to ensure all our customers are treated fairly....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We chose Tuesday to visit because of the Steak Club and we weren’t disappointed.Two beautiful rump steaks with the trimmings,a pint and a glass of wine for £17.50. Can’t be bad.Reasonable surroundings,attentive staff and clean toilets.All in all a good visit and highly recommended.BJW259.

Thank Brian W
2870tracy, General Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your visit and review Brain. Great to hear we come highly recommended!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not the best breakfast I have had but very good value, choice and prompt service meant we chose to breakfast here 3 times during a short break in York. Would certainly use again if back in this location.

Thank Gordon R
2870tracy, General Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your visit and review Gordon. Great to hear you visited 3 times! You know where we are for your next visit to York.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can’t usually go wrong in a Spoons and this was no different, fast service cheap and cheerful food you get what you pay for no complaints really.

Thank Shane R
2870tracy, General Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your visit and review Shane.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in a hotel just along the road from here where we were bed only so went here for breakfast. It is close to the station and the prices are very reasonable considering this. I had the breakfast wrap which had an egg,...More

Thank Princess_Pretty
2870tracy, General Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your visit and review Princess_Pretty. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit. Our Avocado Bagel is served with Gaucamole as standard but can be made without if its not to your taste, just ask the staff member to ensure its left off when...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this Wetherspoons after getting off the train before going to our hotel. The pub was packed with lots of people eating had a meal which was good and soon arrived only down side was it was very busy and lots of rowdy people were...More

1  Thank Samantha C
2870tracy, General Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your visit and review Samantha. We are packed to the rafters on a weekend given our proximity to the train station and many hotels. Great to hear we got you served quickly nonetheless.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in to this pub for breakfast as it was just along the road from our hotel where we were staying room only. The quality and quantity of the breakfast was outstanding for the price and the atmosphere was really friendly. Service was friendly,swift...More

1  Thank Brufsters
2870tracy, General Manager at The Punch Bowl JDWetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your visit and great review Brufsters! We are very proud of our breakfast trade.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in York
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
1,767 reviews
.07 km away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
2,129 reviews
.12 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
2,700 reviews
.15 km away
Ibis York Centre
2,044 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Skosh
752 reviews
.17 km away
Delrio's Restaurant
2,147 reviews
.03 km away
Cafe la Tazzina York
228 reviews
.03 km away
The Rattle Owl
672 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
York Brewery
572 reviews
.16 km away
Filey Lifeboat Station Shop
17 reviews
.27 km away
York Railway Station
940 reviews
.32 km away
The Bar Convent Living Heritage Centre
111 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Penny E
16 December 2017|
Answer
Response from 2870tracy | Property representative |
Hi, we serve food 8am-11pm daily. Unfortunately we do not take bookings or reservations.
1
Vote
Nidger50
5 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 2870tracy | Property representative |
Hi, We open at 8am daily, Thanks, Tracy
0
Votes
sall37
25 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 2870tracy | Property representative |
Hi sall37 we welcome families to dine with us until 9pm, hope this helps.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$17
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5-9 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 666740
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing