We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Britannia Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
+44 1865 760192
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“nachos” (4 reviews)
“pie” (3 reviews)
“lamb” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 209 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited on two separate occasions first visit was excellent, second visit steak was disgusting could not cut any of it very reluctant to complain however did and when the manager saw it even he said it was awful. They cooked a whole new meal for...More

Thank Jamaica2011_11
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Firstly I'd like to say the food was actually ok. The problem was the service. The staff were well mannered but the service was very bad. On arriving to the restaurant we were given a table that was cleared but not cleaned. I then had...More

Thank Thomas G
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Thomas, Thanks for reviewing us. Firstly, I would like to apologise about the salt- we had an issue this weekend with our salt dispensers but this has since been resolved. also, I would like to apologise about the escaping cat- this is an unusual...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting Headington for the day and was recommended a particular pub for lunch. However, we couldn’t find it and came across this one instead. Sat down At a table, number 33, and the first thing you noticed was the radiator, something had been splashed on...More

Thank Lesley D
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lesley, I’m sorry to hear that the pub wasn’t at it’s usual standards on your previous visit. I assure you that this is quite unusual, as we maintain high standards of cleaning. We will be speaking with the team to ensure going forward this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been here so many times and never been dissapointed. Great drinks and tasty food, especially the breakfast. Particularly good after a heavy night...More

Thank Marek L
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Marek Thanks for this glowing review! We are so glad that you enjoy our brunch and it helps with the headache the next morning! We are changing menus in October so we will have even more to tempt you in soon, We look forward...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend decided do go for a pint and after he got his beer the bartender asked to see my passport. So I gave him my European Union national ID card as this is an official Identity document accepted in all European countries....More

Thank Владимир С
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for reviewing us. The identification that you showed is not a valid form of I'D. The types that we do accept are an international passport, UK driving license or anything bearing the PASS hologram. The reason we adhere to our identification policy is...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We had a superb chicken, bacon and avocado salad on Friday lunchtime. Friendly staff and a great waiter. Will definitely be visiting again soon.More

1  Thank Emmageorge1
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Emma, Many thanks for your five star rating. At the Britannia we appreciate all feedback as it helps us to constantly be the best we can be! We will make sure your feed back is shared with the team, and we hope to see...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Second time visiting which was as pleasant as the first time. We had the sunday set menu. It arrived in good time and the amount that was served for the £ was very good. I would highly recommend this pub. The staff are also friendly

1  Thank Taechelle B
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Hi Taechelle What a lovely review. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us one, and we will pass your comments on to the team. We look forward to seeing you soon The Britannia

Reviewed 24 August 2017

we spent our summer holiday in that area on the last week of July 2017 as a 5 people' group. we were almost visit that bar every night as we lived closed by. On night on our visit , we have spent over £300 ,...More

1  Thank emmacoollove
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Hello Emma I was working on the evening in question, where you had a few issues with one of our team. He accidentally took your wings away believing they were finished and then brought you a new portion over when you said they weren't done...More

Reviewed 20 July 2017

Very nice place , friendly service . lovely garden and for us the weather was great to sit in garden

1  Thank Jeannette B
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Hi, Thanks for reviewing us. We love our beer garden so we are very happy that you did too! we hope that you visit us again soon The Britannia

Reviewed 19 July 2017

As promised visited yet again and cannot fault the place felt like it deserved another review. Food good drinks good

Thank angiedev7
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Hi Angie, Thank you for your lovely review. I see you are becoming quite a regular! We look forward to your next visit! The Britannia

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Buongiorno E Buonasera
71 reviews
.08 km away
Dragon Express
6 reviews
.11 km away
Caffe Nero
5 reviews
.19 km away
C.R.A.F.T Burger
85 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holy Trinity Church Headington Quarry
10 reviews
1.06 km away
Headington Shark
151 reviews
.06 km away
The Oxford Artisan Distillery
27 reviews
1.00 km away
Coco Noir
41 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Britannia Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Seating
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 760192
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing