We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Admiral Rodney

$$ - $$$, British,
592 Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RU, England
+44 114 233 6121
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good38%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“roast chicken” (4 reviews)
“pudding” (14 reviews)
“scampi” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
592 Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I picked this pub as for its location as I needed to gather family members from all over South Yorkshire. We all visited on Saturday lunchtime and booked a table for 10. The food was excellent from a varied menu with plenty of choice including...More

Thank Andrew B
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Andrew Thank you so much for your kind review. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your visit. The team will be thrilled to see your kind review. Kind Regards The Admiral Rodney Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

called in for quick tea service quick and polite ordered burgers x 2 came quick but very poor quality got 1 meal refunded but not the point put off trying any other mealsMore

Thank banffski
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Banffski We are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to us however we are pleased that you were satisfied with the service you received. If you have any further comments please feel free to call us on 0114 2336121. Kind Regards The...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to the Rodney for my Grandsons Birthday,the service was diabolical waited 25 mins for starter,another 30 mins for the main when it arrived my sons was awfull steak medium rare was black,Hunters Chicken same no gammon on, bit of bacon,grandaughters fish was burnt,my...More

1  Thank jacobbella
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi jacobbella Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry for the issues you experienced during your visit. As we discussed on the night we were left short staffed due to illnesses and this coupled with a very busy...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

called tonight to try the menu after a refurbishment found decor a lot better than the previous visit parked the car and on entry drinks already ordered which was good ordered the starters which took a while to come the main meal came quite quickly...More

Thank dnicholson44
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that on this occasion you were not 100% satisfied. I will pass on your comments to our kitchen team so that we can strive to improve in the future. If you have any further comments please feel...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were invited for the menu tasting as a previous customer. Food is top notch and a great selection of beers and wines. We came here for our first date 4.5 years ago and are still coming regularly - food is amazing!!! And I have...More

Thank Jamie A
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jamie We are glad you enjoyed our taste of vintage evening. We are also glad that we keep your wife happy when you visit. We won't tell her you called her fussy. See you soon The Admiral Rodney Team

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Have been more than a few times over the past two years and received good food and service. However, recent visit was very disappointing. Only ordered mains and drinks but had to wait 55 minutes for food and the salmon was burnt. Staff replaced it...More

Thank PeteandLynneSheff
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn’t have asked for a better Sunday lunch. Trio roast platter we shared between two and it was amazing. All the meats were perfect and the veg all fresh and tasty. Excellent pub too, the staff were really friendly and helpful as we hadn’t booked...More

Thank bcallus
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Never been impressed with food here but invited by friends for Sunday lunch and they spoke highly of it so thought would try again and we had a voucher for 20% too Refurbishment was nice and couldn't fault the staff Sunday lunch ..hmm was ok...More

Thank Kingfisher100
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Thank you for takin the time to leave us this review. Your feedback is very important to us and I will pass your comments regarding your meals on to our kitchen team. I would just like to point out that, contrary to what you...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

We called in as a group of 4 early evening, not really expecting to get a table. From stepping through the door to leaving we were treated like VIP's. The quality and taste of the food was wonderful and the staff were helpful, but not...More

Thank HHKS
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi HHKS Thank you so much for your kind words. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I will pass them on to team who will be thrilled that you have enjoyed your visit. I am sorry that there were a couple of items not...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Quality of food is good, but just ordinary pub food with no differrnt choices like curry or similar. Berr a goid quality and staff very helpful and polite. The new look pub is not disimilar to the pub before TBH. Was ok but a twice...More

Thank GlynnMay
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Glynn Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the food and beer quality and the team members who looked after you. I will pass on your comments regarding food choice to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Reserved Cafe Bistro
35 reviews
1.43 km away
The Crown and Glove
48 reviews
1.50 km away
Peacock
104 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Our Cow Molly Dairy Farm & Ice Cream Shop
353 reviews
2.43 km away
Holly Hagg
78 reviews
2.43 km away
Owlerton Greyhound Stadium
486 reviews
3.14 km away
Rivelin Valley Nature Trail
252 reviews
2.73 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
joanfarrell
18 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Heather761 | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure, I booked online.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 592 Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 233 6121
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing