We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare and Hounds Pub

) #754 of 1,188 Restaurants in Sheffield $$ - $$$ Bar, British, Pub
1-7 Church Lane | Dore, Sheffield S17 3GR, England
+44 114 235 6623
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good18%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible18%
14 Apr 2017
“Poor parenting”
9 Feb 2017
“Nice Area”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
1-7 Church Lane | Dore, Sheffield S17 3GR, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a shame! Dore is such a lovely village in an affluent area so you'd expect they'd offer decent grub! The Hare is part of Ember Inns & having dined at the cheap but very cheerful restaurant for a casual lunch/tea I expected the same...More

Thank Josee S
General Manager A, Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Hare & Hounds, Dore. We hope you are willing to give us another chance. Please reach out to us at 01142356623 so we can work towards a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Did a review a couple of months ago. Time for another. Changes have been made under the new management who I must say are very friendly and welcoming. Pub seems to be having a facelift which is greatly improving what was already a good little...More

Thank Denver T
General Manager A, Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

Denver T, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you so much again for your feedback! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the...More

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Pub is cosy, warm and welcoming. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is reasonably priced pub grub. A good place to meet a friend, eat a decent meal at a reasonable price and relax.

Thank Jillybb
General Manager A, Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

Jillybb, thank you so much for the positive review! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day! Bridie Martin Assistant Manager

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Food usually reasonable and there has been a few minor improvements to the bench seating but a makeover would greatly enhance the Hare. Come on Ember spend some money. A recurring problem that needs to be stopped are the youngsters who sometimes are running around...More

Thank 137petes
General Manager A, Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

137petes, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care. Thank you...More

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Called in as usual whilst walking dogs. New manager. Old staff returning. Good beer good value. Pub is great. Dont be a snob because of its location. Its a local pub serving decent beer and food and thats why it works. Will always return while...More

Thank Denver T
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoy visiting the Hare and Hounds and we will continue to give good service and value for money.

Reviewed 9 February 2017

I visited the Hare and Hounds recently for drinks while visiting family in Sheffield. My first impression of the pub was good and the staff were friendly and efficient. The choice of real ale was good and kept to a high standard. Unfortunately my visit...More

Thank totandsam
GENERAL MANAGER A, Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I'm glad the staff were able to assist you today and that you will be returning again soon. We take all feedback on board and will take your comments on board to try and make...More

Reviewed 29 December 2016

We ate at the Hare and Hounds two days ago and the food was very good. The pub was very busy with a lot of people ordering food so we had a bit of a wait but not over long considering the number of servings...More

Thank brocktbadger
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

Dear Brock T Badger, Thank you for your lovely review, we strive to ensure every guest leaves happy and are glad we could resolve your issue quickly. You have made us smile after a what has been a few busy days! Once again Thank You.

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This pub has really gone downhill. The minute we walked in we were put off by the smell of the place. In no way could we eat there so we had a drink and left.More

Thank IanandCherylHadley
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We sincerely apologise that your most recent visit was not up to our usual standard. We would very much like to be able to investigate this issue further so we can ensure it does not happen again. Would it be possible for you...More

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

I've been coming very regular to this pub for nearly 20 yrs the meals are very good the staff are fantastic. One big problem is the wifi is pathetic and a lot of your customers say the same. Get that right then I couldn't fault...More

Thank kendo1234
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

HI Ken, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we really appreciate all feedback. We will raise your concerns with our wifi provider and get back to you with their response. Many Thanks

Reviewed 24 November 2016

I have been using the Hare for many years, it has had its low points in the past due to lack of interest from previous landlords and limited investment from the brewery. However now with kind and dedicated staff who all work together as a...More

1  Thank leonwrath
GENERAL MANAGER A, General Manager at Hare and Hounds Pub, responded to this review

Dear Leon, Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoy coming to see us! We will pass your kind words on to the Team. Hope to see you soon! Thanks again,

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Peppercorn Restaurant
240 reviews
1.60 km away
The Summer House
343 reviews
1.60 km away
The Crown Inn
94 reviews
1.01 km away
The Mohul Indian Cuisine
84 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Millhouses Park
254 reviews
3.11 km away
Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet
130 reviews
2.29 km away
Longshaw Estate
192 reviews
4.50 km away
Mayfield Alpacas
156 reviews
3.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hare and Hounds Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-7 Church Lane | Dore, Sheffield S17 3GR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 235 6623