We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Brasserie Brunel

#121 of 400 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Royal Hotel | Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
+44 1225 463134
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

and this is nothing like a French Brasserie. We attended for Sunday lunch using a Taste card 2 -4 - 1 booking. We ordered Sunday lunch. My beef was appalling. Rock hard and just one slice which was lucky as it was inedible. I have never been served such a terrible cut of meat, the chef should be ashamed of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 677cg
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to receive your review following Sunday lunch with us and wish to address the issues which you have raised. We recognised that the first portion of roast beef served to you (by the way two slices not one) was overcooked when you brought this to our attention and it was, as you have said, immediately replaced so... More 

Caersws, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After a long hard slog round the Christmas Markets of Bath, good service, good food, no hurry - perfect way to relax.

Helpful?
Thank auntielin
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

Thank you for your short but very nice review following your meal with us and for awarding us 5 stars I was delighted to note that you not only enjoyed the food and service but found the ambience to be excellent Mike MacDermid General Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We ordered a 2 course meal and we didn't want to go for the fixed menu, since we were interested in tasting a meal of french inspiration. We ended up having some very dry hard meat which was supposed to be juicy and tender. I ordered chicken and my husband ordered pork, so it wasn't just one dish only. Makes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katy C
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review following your recent visit to Brasserie Brunel. Firstly I apologise if the chicken and pork dishes that you ordered were overcooked, which would appear to have been the case from your description. However, let me reassure you that they were not reheated in the microwave but roasted slowly in an oven, as they... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose to eat in hotel on first night after travelling to Bath on Friday night, food was really good quality, and cooked perfectly. Waiter Chris was very helpful with recommendations.

Helpful?
Thank jayne842
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars and for your compliments regarding the quality of the food. I am also pleased to pass on your kind compliments regarding Chris. We look forward to seeing you again soon Mike MacDermid General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an amazing lunch on Saturday ,three courses,wonderful selection. We were really impressed with the kind attentive staff. I've never met a nicer group of young people. We will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank _eiillsley
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and awarding us 5 stars – I am delighted to read your description of lunch as being “amazing” In addition to your kind compliments regarding the food thank you for mentioning your appreciation of our friendly attentive staff who we are enormously proud of. We look forward to seeing you again soon Mike... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

We had dinner at the Royal one evening and the atmosphere and service was pretty special. Our meals were not that good but maybe we just didn't order the right dish. Salad was very nice. Breakfast in the morning was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank taber
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your dinner with us in Brasserie Brunel. Even though you describe the atmosphere as “wonderful” and the service “pretty special”, I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the food which you ordered. We pay particular attention to the quality of our food as evidenced by the breakfast which you very much... More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

We took advantage of the dining offer of £19 for a 3 course dinner. The food was excellent and of a very high quality both in presentation and flavour.

Helpful?
Thank janmunro1
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for awarding us 5 stars and for your kind compliments regarding the quality of the food. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mike MacDermid General Manager More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Visited Bath for a day trip, not sure what to expect but heard great things. Arrived lunch time via train and decided to search for a recommended place to have lunch. The Brunel Brasserie came up with an offer for 25% discount so decided to give it a go. The place is Just across the road from the train station... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit for lunch at Brasserie Brunel. I have investigated the fact that you we were not able to serve you at the time you arrived as although the restaurant at the time you walked in was empty we were expecting a large party to arrive and they did indeed arrive, as you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016

The menu is a little old fashioned and cooked adequately. If you are staying in the hotel then the dine in deal is excellent value.

Helpful?
Thank mustafa n
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you found our menu “a little old fashioned” without giving more detail. As we advertise, it is very much styled on a Parisian brasserie in both menu content and decor, as you would have seen from the combination of grills and French style dishes. On the other hand thank... More 

Porthcawl
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016

We ordered 3 beef Sunday lunches. The food was served quickly by the pleasant staff. There was a generous amount of Beef which was very nice but we could have done with some steak knives. A generic serrated knife does not do the trick. Unfortunately although the plate was hot the food was luke warm. The gravy was nice.The vegetable... More 

Helpful?
Thank EstellePorthcawl
PatronHandR, General Manager at Brasserie Brunel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your lunch. I am pleased that you felt the lunch was good value, however, I am sorry that did not enjoy all aspects of your meal. I have investigated the points you have mentioned and firstly I apologise that your food was not warm enough, if you had brought this to our attention, we... More 

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Brunel also viewed

 
Bath, Somerset
 

Been to Brasserie Brunel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$17
Cuisine
British, French, European, Grill
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Royal Hotel | Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 463134
Description
Brassiere Brunel – casual dining in a French style brasserie setting with a menu to match,Our newly refurbished restaurant is located in the lovely Grade II listed building designed by the famous architect Isambard Kingdom Brunel and we have named our new dining venue in tribute to this famous designer.The decor and furnishings have been modelled on a traditional Parisian brasserie and the menu features a number of French specialities together with grills, including steaks, for which we are renowned. Wherever possible our food is sourced locally including our steaks from the highly respected Church Farms and the majority of dishes are freshly produced by a first class team of cooks. The menu represents excellent value for money and in addition to the extensive range of very competitively priced a la carte dishes we also offer two fixed price menu options namely, £9.95 for 2 courses and £12.95 for 3 courses.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brasserie Brunel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?