We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pulteney Arms

37 Daniel Street, Bath BA2 6ND, England
+44 1225 463923
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good32%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
37 Daniel Street, Bath BA2 6ND, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Small family owned pub with friendly wait staff. Good pub food and variety of beers and wines. No other tourists the two nights we visited.More

Thank bobe2
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for writing a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your food and drinks on your visits. We are slightly off the tourist route but well worth a short stroll down Great Pulteney Street and through Henrietta Park. We hope to see...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for a simple pub meal we found this local gem just 10 mins walk from our B&B. Good pub food, no tourists.

Thank Petermac-red
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for writing a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your food in our traditional pub.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for a simple dinner after a day wandering around Bath and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere was chilled and friendly and the staff very helpful. We were then served with perfectly cooked salt & pepper squid, followed by probably the best fish...More

Thank R D
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to our small traditional pub. Both dishes you mention are very popular with our customers. All our fish is delivered fresh from Cornwall in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After meeting in this good old fashioned pub, my now husband and I chose to have our wedding reception here. The upstairs function room is beautifully decorated, and offers a wonderful space away from the traditional pub downstairs. With a small band and around 35...More

1  Thank Oli S
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are all pleased you have enjoyed your memorable visits to our traditional pub. We can cater for smaller events such as yours but we can book out the pub for larger events...More

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Funny, we were completely overwhelmed by the quality of both the service and food at this seemingly old,but non descriptive pub in the back streets of Bath. We went for the salmon, horseradish with bread starter.... simple but gorgeous. Main course was a veritable symphony,...More

1  Thank Ian H
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased you chose to eat at our traditional pub and enjoyed your choice from the menu. Whilst we keep the pub classics on our menu we also offer a...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visiting Bath in a good Friday, we decided to have dinner. Ended up by picking the pulteney arms, because it is not in the centre, but you can get there with a 10/15 minute walk. As we were 6 it wasn't easy to find a...More

Thank Francisco C
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to our traditional pub. We make every effort to make our customers feel welcomed and relaxed. We source as much local produce as possible whilst...More

Reviewed 28 March 2018

For side street pub, the prices were higher than average. The food was ok, but nothing to shout about.More

Thank Paul C
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

The Pulteney Arms has been a pub since approximately 1759 so it is an old traditional pub. Unfortunately the price of our ale and cider is dictated by our Pubco. However we source our food produce locally and keep our menu fresh and varied. Our...More

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

I've been to the Pultney Arms a few times now, mainly to drink and watch rugby on their TVs and once for lunch. I the case of the latter, it was some time ago but I had a proper burger which was delicious. They have...More

Thank Pierre48
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased you enjoy your visits to our traditional pub. Our staff welcome all visitors and endeavour to make their visits as relaxed and welcoming as possible.

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We were recommended The Pulteney Arms by Dukes Hotel when we were looking for a Sunday roast at short notice during a recent weekend in Bath. It was literally just around the corner but is hidden away down a side street. So we probably wouldn’t...More

Thank Iain73
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We take pride in our locally sourced food and aim to keep our prices competitive as we are just off the centre of Bath and hidden away slightly. We hope you will visit...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

We were staying at a nearby hotel and got to Bath early so found this lovely pub round the corner to grab a bite to eat beore checking in. This is a lovely traditional pub with very friendly staff and great food. My husband and...More

Thank Mags_Acraman
Sue B, Owner at The Pulteney Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bath and chose to eat in our traditional pub. Apologies that you found the room is bit cold. We do have additional heating for...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 34 hotels in Bath
Dukes Hotel
1,370 reviews
.13 km away
No.15 Great Pulteney
493 reviews
.20 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1,860 reviews
.28 km away
Redcar Hotel
876 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Herd Steak Restaurant
1,319 reviews
.42 km away
Antica Restaurant
477 reviews
.43 km away
The Rising Sun Inn
185 reviews
.40 km away
Chez Dominique
281 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pulteney Bridge
2,982 reviews
.48 km away
Holburne Museum
999 reviews
.13 km away
Great Pulteney Street
186 reviews
.16 km away
Sydney Gardens
101 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
biondaSam
25 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Sue B | Property representative |
Ciao Io non parlo italiano . Non capisco la tua domanda. Regards Sue
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Meals
Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 37 Daniel Street, Bath BA2 6ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 463923
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional friendly pub serving British homemade and locally sourced food, including: beer battered fish and chips, local sausage and mash, local game when in season, lamb rump, steak onglet. We offer vegetarian specials. Our Chef likes to create an ever-changing menu and makes all our desserts. If you just enjoy a pint or glass of wine we can offer a range of prices. We try to offer a wine deal every week. We have a sunny terrace where you can enjoy a glass of wine and watch the world go by. For your comfort in the colder weather we have a log burner!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;