We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews



US$33 - US$56
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything feels positive about this restaurant, nice tables , nice staff until the main courses arrive. It seems chef's motto is...pile the plates as high and full as possible; surely nobody in Dunster will complain about that! Fish, meat everything is piled on top of...some undercooked vegetables. I had to ask for an extra plate to put my fish on in order to see what was underneath. The owner said " oh it could have been served separately"...but how do you know when you order it. A lamb dish came with yorkshire pudding. If you want quantity go to the Psalters restaurant; if you want quality pass it by. What a shame.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

Staying at the Luttrell Arms for two nights and we had a 3 course meal from Psalter’s Restaurant on the first night. Choosing a starter was a challenge. My partner and I do not like fish leaving us with one dish available to us, Cauliflower...and Parsnip soup. The soup came out piping hot however, we were unaware that it would have a spicy nature to it causing a surprise. The menu mentioned it would be served with bread and butter however, this never came. Moving on to the main course, again we sat down at 7:00pm and the restaurant had already sold out of multiple options on the menu meaning that again, if you did not like fish then there were little options left. Steak, chicken and a burger was all that was available. We both ordered the Gourmet Burger. When they came you could see that the buns were clearly over toasted and came out burnt, meaning it left a charcoal taste in your mouth after the first bite. The rest of the burger was extremely dry, no sauces were offered to compensate the dryness. Even though my partner and I ordered the same meal, my burger came with 4 slices of gherkin and hers came with 1 slice of gherkin meaning that care was clearly not taken when putting the burgers together. When dessert came, it was presented very well. The chocolate curl on it, had little taste but the ice cream and biscuit was very nice. The next morning we sat down for breakfast at 9:10am. Ordering off of the menu again, there was no option to select certain items off the menu. My partner and I wanted some apple juice from the cold buffet. When we sat back down at the table and took a taste, the apple juice was sour and clearly out of date with bits floating in the juice. Moving on to the food, my partner did not want a cooked breakfast so went for the cold buffet, selecting a croissant and toast, both were nice. I ordered a full English, with scrambled eggs. When it came out I can only say I was disappointed. The first thing I noticed was that I had 3 pieces of bacon but not one rasher, I had 3 pieces of offcuts bacon. I had one sausage that when bitten into broke up and was very dry, just like the burger the previous evening. The black pudding had a long hair within it meaning it was not very appealing. The beans and eggs were the only hot things on my plate, showing that the food had been clearly sat under a hot plate or something and that the eggs and beans were either microwaved or cooked just before being brought out. I ordered tea to have with my breakfast and again I was disappointed as it was not hot, luke warm at best. Throughout dinner and breakfast, flies were an issue. People throughout the restaurant could be seen flapping them away all evening and morning and they were really off putting during meal times. My partner and I, overall were disappointed with the food at Psalter’s and will most likely not be returning to eat there again.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Reviewed 18 September 2020

We had two Breakfasts and two Dinners in the Restaurant. All the food was well cooked and well seasoned. (The Chef is not afraid to trust himself with salt and herbs which can’t be said of some others we’ve experienced recently.) The portions are large...and the Deserts are to die for.More

Date of visit: September 2020
beccaw978, Guest Relations Manager at Psalter’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and hope you will visit us again soon.

Reviewed 26 January 2020

The hot-meals are more like pub-meals than restaurant-level. The service was good and the prices reasonable.

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

Visited over bank holiday weekend. Made a reservation so we were seated very promptly. Food service was extremely slow. Took 1hr for starters to arrive and further 30 mins for mains to arrive!! Food quality otherwise was good. Just really disappointment with speed as we...had other plans for the afternoon and also were very hungry!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Becca W, Manager at Psalter’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

I am really sorry to hear that you were kept waiting for your meal. We had an exceptionally busy weekend and a few shortages in the kitchen which had a negative knock on affect. I am really very sorry, I hope that you were well...More

Reviewed 21 August 2019 via mobile

We went for a family celebration as we were staying in the hotel. The menu looks very interesting and we were looking for a change from pub food. The staff front of house were very attentive and friendly. However the food was extremely disappointing. Our...vegetarian had to order bar food as the vegetarian option was sold out. In addition that turned out to be a very ordinary and dry cannaloni. A few of us ordered the monkfish and sea coleslaw. This turned out to be monkfish strips in an armour hard and over fried batterd coating. The coleslaw was iceberg lettuce, lots of raw peanuts and a sprinkle of samphire. None of us were able to find any evidence of the charred lychee detailed in the description. The artichoke starter was very bland also .. but the desserts were very nice. So it was a very disappointing event from a culinary point of view.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Becca W, Manager at Psalter’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

I am really sorry to read that you had a disappointing meal in Psalter's. We are very proud of our menu and the standard of food that we produce; however it sounds like we missed the mark on this occasion. We will look into the...More

Reviewed 20 July 2019 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here whilst staying at the hotel. I was really looking forward to it as reviews were good. I was a but disappointed with my meal. I ordered monkfish scampi and it was overcooked. I did mention it and was just told...sorry! Not sure what should have been done but at a nice restaurant you expect more.service was exceptional.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Becca W, Manager at Psalter’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

I am really sorry to hear that we didn't handle your complaint particularly well on this occasion, usually if food is over cooked it doesn't leave the kitchen and so this isn't often an issue we deal with at the table. It sounds like there...More

Reviewed 10 July 2019

We ate there on our wedding anniversary on arrival to the table we found they had given us a card and then when desserts came out they had piped happy anniversary on the plate a lovely touch.

Date of visit: July 2019
Reviewed 11 June 2019 via mobile

We had an amazing meal in this restaurant with interesting combinations you would never put together yourself but they work! Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. Even the younger members of staff are well trained. We were initially put at a table in the...middle of the restaurant. I find this uncomfortable as I like to have my back to a wall. The young waiter, Alfie, noticed I was uncomfortable and offered to move us - which we did. I was very impressive that he was attentive enough to notice. This goes a long way to add to the enjoyment of our culinary experience.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Becca W, Owner at Psalter’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2019

We are glad you had an enjoyable meal and hope you will join us again soon.

Reviewed 20 March 2019

We ate here whilst staying at the Luttrell Arms. The service was very good and the food was excellent, presentation and taste were superb. Well worth having a drink in the bar afterwards, as the atmosphere is great.

Date of visit: January 2019
Becca W, Owner at Psalter’s Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2019

We are glad you enjoyed you meal and hope you chose to join us again soon

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Luttrell Arms
1,147 reviews
.01 km away
Yarn Market Hotel
282 reviews
.02 km away
Dunster Castle Hotel
304 reviews
.12 km away
Premier Inn Minehead hotel
777 reviews
2.08 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tea Room at Chapel House
299 reviews
.28 km away
Reeves Restaurant
666 reviews
.06 km away
285 reviews
.32 km away
Locks Victorian Tea Rooms
400 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dunster Castle
2,573 reviews
.33 km away
Dunster Working Watermill
414 reviews
.49 km away
Dunster Village
147 reviews
.21 km away
Dunster Yarn Market
231 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Psalter’s Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Psalter’s Restaurant

Psalter’s Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4