We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodney Stoke Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Wells Road, Wells, England
+44 1749 870209
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“apple crumble” (4 reviews)
“steak” (18 reviews)
“salad” (13 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wells Road, Wells, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We had driven passed this attractive pub on our way to a caravan break in Cheddar. We were a little early for Check in so decided to drive back for lunch. We were not disappointed. Beautiful bright and airy pub/restaurant, tastefully decorated. Lovely lunch menu....More

Thank Joanne W
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review of our lovely not so little pub. Our aim is to make everyone feel welcome and enjoy the wonderful food we prepare daily, including our home made coleslaw. We also try to cater for anyone with a specialised diet, this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wife and I ate here tonight and very impressed with the fish & chips and beef stroganoff. Big shout out to chef Daryl - excellent standard achieved

Thank Bingley462
JACQUELINE R, Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We think our food is great too and this will be a great confidence boost for Darryl too. See you again soon. Kind Regards Jacqui

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for my birthday (as I do every year) and was surprised to see it had changed hands. To be honest I was a little unsure what to expect as new management usually have a wobbly start but I was very pleasantly surprised with...More

Thank Andrea E
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, so glad that you gave the new management (Stewart & myself) a chance to prove ourselves. Our kitchen team is developing daily and our apprentice chef's are coming on in leaps and bounds,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great meal, lovely sweet potato!! Staff all lovely, atmosphere was great will return very soon. Butcombe ice cream is a must to try!!!More

Thank kate p
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you review, we are glad you had a lovely Birthday. We are constantly growing and developing our menu, service and the general atmosphere of the Rodney Stoke, so it's great to hear it's working. Do pop and see us again soon, even...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Came on a Thursday night with some friends, we had pre booked a table just in case but it happened to be quiet. I was really impressed with the quality of my food and also the presentation of it. Yes, it is a little pricier...More

Thank sbarrett91
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are glad that our food impressed you, it impresses us too. We have a very talented kitchen team who work hard everyday to bring our customers great food. The team here at the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited after a friends recommendation, certainly wasn’t disappointed. Lovely, friendly atmosphere. really delicious food, served hot and without delay. Our waitress Molly looked after us very well and nothing was too much trouble. Great customer service. What more can you ask for. A lovely evening...More

Thank Tracy T
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled to know that you had a good time. Our Staff are going through training regarding customer service and this review will really boost their confidence. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon. Jacqui Randell General...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been here many times before but don`t think we`ll be returning. The staff took a bit of time to take our drink order and then a long time to bring the two drinks. Then it took ages for food order to arrive, even though there...More

Thank Tom R
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we take all reviews on board and I am sorry that you didn't have the experience you were expecting. As you are aware the pub is now owned by Butcombe Brewery and many of the existing staff members need extra...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently changed hands from private ownership to part of a small brewery chain. Smaller menu now but that's not altogether a bad thing. Very good service and pleasant food. What more can you want?More

Thank Legal-Al
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are constantly developing, making small changes and training the existing staff so that we can bring our customers the best experience. We want all of our customers to have a great experience when they visit us, whether that's for...More

Reviewed 10 January 2018

Went there for Christmas evening meal with Gardening Club. Service was terrible and food poor. We had to complain about the delay before every course to get served. Some of out group went home without finishing as they could not wait any longer. We weer...More

Thank Richard C
JACQUELINE R, Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank You for your review and sorry that you were not happy with your group meal. We have received some constructive feedback from customers when they visit which we gladly receive in order to help us keep developing. I am very surprised to hear that...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Well done for taking on a challenge and doing it well. We had a great buffet lunch celebrating the birthday of a well known local. Food was home made and plentiful.Looking forward to the refurbished pub and the new menu.More

Thank Jo B
JACQUELINE R, Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for your review, Saturday's celebration went fantastically well, we loved being a part of it and our aim is to please. All of our food is home made and we have had some very positive feedback. Thank you again for your review, it...More

PreviousNext
12345633
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Wells
Wookey Hole Hotel
1,091 reviews
5.33 km away
Reservoir View Motel
56 reviews
6.43 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
217 reviews
7.86 km away
The White Hart Hotel
310 reviews
7.86 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Westbury Inn Pub
91 reviews
2.25 km away
Wyevale Garden Centre
40 reviews
2.27 km away
Ice Dreams
235 reviews
4.11 km away
Lion Rock Tea Rooms
683 reviews
4.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cheddar Caves & Gorge
2,812 reviews
4.09 km away
Wookey Hole Caves
3,289 reviews
5.31 km away
Ring o Bells
33 reviews
5.52 km away
Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze
401 reviews
5.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AndyWCP17
12 February 2018|
Answer
Response from stewart o |
trip advisor check all reviews before they are posted, some reviews don't get posted and its out of the control of the business.
2
Votes
Howard M
17 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Hazel M | Reviewed this property |
Yes, in the bar area & outside in the garden
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wells Road, Wells, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 870209
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing