We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anton's Bistrot

$$ - $$$, British,
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
+44 1749 673457
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good36%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (28 reviews)
“pate” (8 reviews)
“sea bass” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

This restaurant is part of the Crown Hotel but is open to non residents. There is a lovely selection of dishes to choose from all very well cooked, presented and delivered by friendly efficient staff.

Thank fortysomfing
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived just after 9.10pm Friday night after a long journey. It was advertised as serving until 9.30pm. On arrival, we were asked to move into the bar area where someone would come along to take our order. The bar was noisy and, whilst not...More

Thank kempy23
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry, as explained at the time, dogs are allowed in the Penn Bar, where you were then seated. There is a different menu in Anton's and the Penn Bar but we are happy to serve either. We are sorry you were not dealt...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Most disappointed with our meal and the service was not great, in fact at times the staff were rude - shouting out for our menu choices and handing us our dessert spoons. Slow service too - Meat got cold whilst waiting for chips - and...More

Thank Jacquie214
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Pity to read it but we did receive a lovely thank you card from the lady who's birthday it was, along with generous tip for the staff. We're sorry if service was a bit slow and that staff had to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Spontaneous Saturday night meal for three in an obviously busy restaurant. A lovely Aussie man told us there would be a short wait on food which we were happy to wait for. Again Aussie man who had a cracking accent was very helpful with questions...More

Thank katiepitcher
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ah, lovely George, he's ace, isn't he? (he's from New Zealand but accent still cracking). Thanks for taking the time to say such lovely things about him and your visit to The Crown. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went yesterday. My wife had stew that she enjoyed and I had a burger that was as tough as an old boot. Not a place we will be returning to when next in Wells.

Thank David L
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to hear you were disappointed. Did you mention it while here in order that we may rectify the issues you encountered?

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

A decision was made to go away this year and spend it in a hotel. On new years eve I booked us in to Antons bistro. Didn't really expect much especially on this particular night. Was very delighted.......we ordered from the menu not the new...More

Thank Savas T
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Happy New Year! Thanks for spending it with us and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 24 December 2017

Pre-booking is essential as this venue is so popular. We were able to get a quiet table for two early in the evening. The menu was varied and interesting. The staff were knowledgeable and not overly attentive. The food and ambience were excellent. Highly recommended.

Thank MrsJosephineJones
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Super review, thank you. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us so much.

Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Went here to celebrate my mother’s birthday. Probably the best meal we have had anywhere for some time. Highly recommended. We were given a table in the front room where a couple of larger groups were also sat. Being December there were some very large...More

Thank SteveJCWebb
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Such a super review and a delight to read, thank you so much. We're so pleased you chose The Crown for your mother's special day and that you enjoyed your meal with us. We'd love to have open fires but sadly not feasible for us...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Six of us meet annually, we like to go somewhere nice. We booked lunch in Anton's, on arrived we discover we had been moved to the back of the Penn Bar. Apparently there was a weddin party due at 5pm. Why did they not phone...More

Thank Jenny J
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

We are sorry we did not contact you concerning the wedding party; there was no contact number with your booking which is clearly an oversight on our part. We are sorry too that you were not happy with your meals but did not mention it...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

We visited at 18.45hrs without a booking and were made very welcome by all the staff. The food was delicious ! We shared a starter of chicken liver pate which came with an onion chutney, salad leaves and toast. We followed it with Ham hock...More

Thank Alisharon
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for a super review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Crown.

PreviousNext
12345631
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Wells
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1,008 reviews
.07 km away
The White Hart Hotel
311 reviews
.10 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
218 reviews
.10 km away
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)
224 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Courtyard Restaurant
447 reviews
.10 km away
Square Edge Cafe-Bar
278 reviews
.11 km away
Rugantino Restaurant
443 reviews
.10 km away
Ensemble
144 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wells Cathedral
2,741 reviews
.12 km away
The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
1,136 reviews
.21 km away
Vicar's Close
748 reviews
.26 km away
Wells Market Place
213 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Anton's Bistrot staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 673457
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing