We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brasserie Bleue

The White Lion Hotel | Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
+44 1728 452720
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“moules” (8 reviews)
“cheese board” (6 reviews)
Opens in 28 min
Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The White Lion Hotel | Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 600 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

A late night meal of fish. It was busy and we had wait a good while to get a table. The food was nicely done and tasty. The staff were were too busy to be properly helpful.

Thank Andrew M
Reviewed 2 days ago

Only there one night so used this Brasserie. Staff were very friendly though seemed to be new as the bill at the end was a mix up. The food was well cooked, though not enormous portions, and the menu wasn't huge. Having said that there...More

Thank Cheryl095
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The menu was not very good. Presentation nothing special. Tables were laid the same as for breakfast which is most unusualMore

Thank Angela S
Mark_White-WL, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi, I am sorry that you have been disappointed by your experience in the restaurant. We have recently re-launched our a la carte menu which has generally been well received in terms of choice and quality of food. If you would be willing to contact...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The decor is stylish and Sunday lunch was informal and relaxed. Service was efficient and friendly. The menu carried a good veggie option and the food was nicely presented. However the vegetables were a bit boring and the menu could have done with a bit...More

Thank GlinysW
Mark_White-WL, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi. many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We offer a different menu on a Sunday to the rest of the week and I will feed back your comments to the team. We hope to welcome you again soon and hopefully wow...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The dining is quite large and feels a little like a passageway between the hotel rooms and the bar but, once you have adjusted to the carpet, is quite a nice space. The food was all very nice and well cooked/prepared but between the 3...More

Thank Carvemup
Mark_White-WL, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you found both the food and service to be good but am sorry that you found the portions to be small. We have launched a new menu since your visit...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Been here twice in the space of a week, the food is delicious, plenty of options for all and is reasonably priced for Aldeburgh. My husband said his haddock quiche was one of the best he's ever had, so I won't be making him mine...More

2  Thank Lbarnard1893462
Mark_White-WL, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. My team work hard to make sure that people enjoy their visit to us from my chef team who take a pride in producing well presented and tasty food made with...More

Reviewed 10 April 2018

Eight of us arrived for a meal on Saturday evening, two opted for the burger, which came with SIX chips (I joke not) one lettuce leaf,one slice of tomatoe ,two onion rings (non battered) and a slice of Gerkin .....which was classed as "the salad"....More

Thank rimlock
Mark_White-WL, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi and many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Apologies that you found the burgers not to represent value for money, the salad is only designed to be a garnish and I will make sure this is referenced as such and there...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018

The afternoon tea I was served at the Brasserie Bleue seemed very effortless and thoughtless. There was little imagination within the dish and I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would. For example, I was served a chunk of coconut ice which...More

Thank Grace160702
Mark_White-WL, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent afternoon tea. The menu does change monthly and I am sorry that you did not find this to be to your satisfaction. Could I please ask if you could contact me...More

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Good, well presented, food. All items similarly priced though fewer seafood options than I would have expected in this seaside town with local fishermen. Vegetarian options were fairly limited (one).More

Thank Jennifer P
Mark_White-WL, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Jennifer Many thanks for your comments on the brasserie page and I am pleased that you found the restaurant part of your stay to be OK. The reason that there is less seafood on the menu is that we try and theme our restaurants...More

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Went on a Friday night Food was all great Service was very poor Told short staffed but continued to let people in without a reservation! The staff were not professional, one waitress walking around with a cleaning spray! Chairs been taken from around your table,whilst...More

1  Thank mary a
Mark_White-WL, Manager at Brasserie Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Mary Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry that you did not receive the same quality of service that the White Lion has become well known for. I believe you are referring to Good Friday which was...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Aldeburgh
The White Lion Hotel
1,564 reviews
.01 km away
Wentworth Hotel
717 reviews
.11 km away
Rosemary Cottage
3 reviews
.71 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
1,105 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Lighthouse
1,220 reviews
.25 km away
Regatta Restaurant
802 reviews
.51 km away
Cragg Sisters Tearoom
357 reviews
.33 km away
Aldeburgh Market
256 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aldeburgh Beach
125 reviews
.30 km away
Aldeburgh Cinema
80 reviews
.13 km away
The Red House, Aldeburgh
88 reviews
1.46 km away
Aldeburgh Museum
40 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bellies2018
16 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Mae494 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure you will need to contact them directly . Sorry unable to help I just wrote a review of our evening meal.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The White Lion Hotel | Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Aldeburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 1728 452720
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The White Lion Hotel
Description
Our new Bar and Brasserie has been inspired by a modern desire to return to simple, 'back to basics' food, offering freshly prepared dishes, contemporary, informal surroundings and impeccable service. We hope the whole family will enjoy dining with us. From fresh fish bought from Dean's Shed, situated on the beach opposite the White Lion, to smoked kippers sourced from Pinney's of Orford, every ingredient used in the exciting dishes which feature on the new menu, has been 'hand picked' to guarantee an abundance of flavours - Bon Appétit.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;