We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Seahorse

) #91 of 222 Restaurants in Guildford $$ - $$$ , British,
52-54 The Street | Shalford, Guildford GU4 8BU, England
+44 1483 514351
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“duck salad” (6 reviews)
“linguine” (9 reviews)
“fish cakes” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
52-54 The Street | Shalford, Guildford GU4 8BU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We came to the seahorse for dinner and had an amazing time, we absolutely loved the atmosphere of the pub. The food was great and the staff were very helpful. Had a lovely chat with the boy behind the bar, and the girl that served...More

Thank hollyjonesy96
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for such a fantastic review Holly! I'll be sure to let the team know that their efforts are paying off! So looking forward to having you back at The Seahorse again soon! Best, Nick General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Seahorse while we were visiting Legoland and staying at Edgeley Country Park. The meal was fantastic and a great choice from the menu, the atmosphere was great and all the staff were very helpful and friendly I would like to thank the...More

Thank 159tim10
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for such a great review 159tim10! So looking forward to having you back at The Seahorse! Best, Nick General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant is in a picturesque setting.This was a family lunch for myself, my brother and my two nephews (all adults) to celebrate my birthday. Our experience could hardly have been bettered. Throughout, the service was both cheerful and very efficient. We made a point...More

1  Thank EricD327
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So pleased you enjoyed your recent experience Eric. Looking forward to seeing you again at The Seahorse soon! Best, Nick General Manager

Reviewed 31 May 2017

I visited the pub on my way to London with the view of giving my 18 months old daughter lunch before the long journey. I got there just as lunch service was beginning with the pub already quite busy. I was greeted by the manager...More

Thank Georgia E
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Really appreciate your AMAZING feedback Georgia! I'll be sure to put this up on the wall for my team to know their work is paying off and not going unnoticed! Thanks again! Looking forward to seeing you back at The Seahorse VERY soon! Best, Nick...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Great location, plenty of parking. This is a traditional Inn. Separate restaurant area. Comfortable seats. Great choice of menu, whilst my steak was cooked as I like it, the Rib eye , I would have liked a little better quality. Vegetables were fresh , cooked...More

Thank Gettin
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thanks for your review Guy, hopefully on your next visit we turn that 4**** into a 5*****! Looking forward to having you back! Best, Nick General Manager

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Visited at 7 on a friday evening and was a lot quieter than our last visit a couple of years ago. I had spit roast chicken and my wife a burger which were both ok. I thought my chicken would have had veg served with...More

Thank pb56422
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Firstly pb56422, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent visit with us at The Seahorse. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Visited with my wife last Sunday. Both had roast chicken. Not at all dry - the chicken was lovely and a good portion. Plenty of veg and red cabbage to die for. Service friendly and efficient. Till next time.

Thank pottsman
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Really appreciate your great feedback Pottsman! Looking forward to having you back soon! Best, Nick General Manager

Reviewed 12 May 2017

This is a really well set out pub with excellent eating areas and very good staff. Food was very high quality pub grub with a little more than burgers.Its perfect for an easy meal any time of day on a main road that is busy...More

Thank Brenda C
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thanks for such a positive review Brenda! Come back and visit us again soon and we'll try and turn that 4**** into a 5*****! Best, Nick General Manager

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Visited last Sunday I had the beef which was delicious. My partner had the nut roast which he enjoyed although he said it was lacking texture - just a bit too soft. We ordered some wine which was a bit disappointing but this was changed...More

Thank LouiseC2107
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thanks for your review Louise. Sorry we didn't quite deliver on the nut roast or the wine, but pleased you enjoyed yourself overall. Hopefully if you return we can wow you enough to earn a 5***** review! Best, Nick General Manager

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Dropped in after a late appointment as a first visit and was pleasantly surprised by the friendly welcome and the overall feel of the inside of the very old, established public house. The menu is wide ranging and more in line with a restaurant than...More

Thank raycyoung1950
General Manager A, Manager at The Seahorse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

We've just updated our menu with some new seasonal dishes Ray, and I am happy to report that the lobster and prawn fishcakes have been a huge success, so you can look forward to seeing them on the menu for some time! Make sure you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Snooty Fox
93 reviews
.62 km away
The Queen Victoria
99 reviews
.48 km away
The Parrot Inn
27 reviews
1.03 km away
The Seahorse
11 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Guildford Castle
341 reviews
1.72 km away
Guildford's Yvonne Arnaud Theatre
154 reviews
1.69 km away
Tunsgate Arch
25 reviews
1.92 km away
Museum
25 reviews
1.63 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Seahorse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52-54 The Street | Shalford, Guildford GU4 8BU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
  • Phone Number: +44 1483 514351
  • E-mail
Description
An idyllic retreat set in the beautiful village of Shalford, just a mile from Guildford. The Seahorse serves a menu to attract a wide range of guests. Our chefs bring a wealth of experience & passion, and demonstrate knowledge of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, our guests can choose a bottle from our well-stocked cellar and well kept Ales.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing