We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gusto - Newcastle

106 Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
+44 191 260 2291
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (216 reviews)
“steak” (125 reviews)
“meatballs” (41 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
106 Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had a meal booked here for a family group, and arrived slightly early to allow for parking at the multi-storey opposite the rear of the restaurant. The venue was quiet, and remained that way, but the service was unbelievably slow. We waited almost 90mins...More

Thank N0rthY0rks
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

After pre booking our meal with Gusto we had travelled to Newcastle to celebrate a hen party. Gusto knew that we were a hen party and no concerns were raised. We arrived on the Saturday to be turned away as they “do not accept fancy...More

Thank Louise D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was completely devastated, my weekend had been amazing in newcastle upon until entering Gusto, i was on my hen party where my lovely maid of honor had pre booked a table for a large group of 9 and had states we are a hen...More

Thank Sam H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant! We had olives and artesian bread with balsamic vinegar and olive oil! Then I had the Sea Bass with garlic spinach and my friend had a absolutely yummy pasta Vegan dish! There was so much on the menu for her...More

Thank 5760dawnie
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely 5* review. I am so happy to hear that you both enjoyed your evening with us and especially that your friend had a lot of choice with the vegan dishes on the menu. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After making a pre booking on the phone for a hen do we were shocked and disappointed to be turned away on arrival for being in fancy dress. At no point through the booking process were we informed that fancy dress was not acceptable and...More

Thank VickiAnn86
GUSTOnewcastle14, General Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm so sorry you feel that the situation was handled badly. I will be investigating to find out why you were not informed that we do not allow fancy dress. Our team are briefed to inform guests so I will look into how this has...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been to Gusto a couple of times always pre booked and asked for a seat upstairs on both occasions for family celebrations but when at restaurant x 2 been ushered to a table downstairs, which on last occasion wasnt the nicest of seating. What is...More

Thank Ashlynne B
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review Ashlynne. We always try to fulfil guests requests, and always let people know that we can not guarantee a certain seating. I am sorry that you feel that your table was not the nicest, if we were made aware of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Gusto in Newcastle Upon Tyne on a Wednesday evening. It wasn't busy when we arrived (near 7pm) but it got livelier soon after. The restaurant is located just off the Quayside so I expect it gets quite a few people on weekends. We...More

Thank valentina t
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Valentina, All of our food is cooked from fresh ingredients and I am so pleased that you found it tasty. It is lovely to hear that your service was very good and that you would recommend us. We hope to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my friend, 2 mums & 4 children. Great menu with lots of choice, Children’s menu was a great hit especially making their own pizza. For the older children the option of a half-portion from the main menu was a bonus too. Our waiter,...More

Thank KateME1205
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow what a brilliant review, thank you Kate. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our menu and the children enjoyed making their own pizza. Craig is so happy to hear that you had such a lovely time and we cant wait to see...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here as a group of 6 adults and 1 child for my boyfriends graduation meal. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal and would highly recommend this restaurant. The staff are amazing & the food is plentiful, I couldn’t even finish my main so ended up taking...More

Thank Leah S
GUSTOnewcastle14, Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow Leah, thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your food and it is amazing that you would recommend us. It is great that you all enjoyed your food with us and we cant wait to see...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for my sons birthday with his partner waited 15 mins for drinks then ordered starts the 3 I had chosen they had run out and 1 my wife wanted so I went for bruschetta when came it was just a slice of granary...More

Thank Rob6469
GUSTOnewcastle14, General Manager at Gusto - Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry to read that your experience to our restaurant was so poor. I am keen to speak to you regarding your visit. Please can you contact me directly at kiriham@gustorestaurants.uk.com so I can investigate this further for you? Kind regards, Kiri Ham General Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle
2,881 reviews
.04 km away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
1,290 reviews
.20 km away
Baltic Quays Luxury Apartments
22 reviews
.24 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
1,533 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Six
2,411 reviews
.20 km away
BALTIC Kitchen
220 reviews
.14 km away
21
1,638 reviews
.31 km away
Barrio Comida
89 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sage Gateshead
1,119 reviews
.43 km away
The Quayside
2,687 reviews
.24 km away
Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art
1,007 reviews
.22 km away
The Tyne Bridge
914 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mark d
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RJH91 | Reviewed this property |
No, this is a restaurant only.
1
Vote
Janet S
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GUSTOnewcastle14 | Property representative |
Mrs Smith, I responded to your email on 20/07/17. As requested in the email, please can you contact me on my personal email or call the venue at an appropriate time for yourself so we can discuss your recent visit. Kind... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$57
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 106 Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 260 2291
  • E-mail
Description
As if the Gateshead Millennium Bridge and the Baltic Art Gallery weren't enough reason to visit Newcastle's Quayside, there is also Gusto. Make the most of those sunshine days on the beautiful terrace, and when the evening (or the clouds) draw in, step inside the large, lively bar - with a superb choice of wines and cocktails. Add a 200-year-old olive tree, sprinkled in fairy lights, and Gusto Newcastle makes any day magical.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing