We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
35A St. Georges Terrace | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2SU, England
+44 191 340 8949
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 21:30
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 21:30
Fri 12:00 - 22:00
Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 519: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Only a couple of other couples in there yet they managed to get every one of our orders wrong ! Got two of our chips wrong and a burger wrong! Yet there were as many staff as customers ! Very confused how you can get so much wrong. Yet staff were friendly and food was really good! Shame about the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The food is really tasty and the staff are friendly. We spent spent a while arguing over who had the tastiest burger but we couldn't decide because they were all gorgeous. I had the Candy Man burger with Dirty Fries and a Fat Hippo IPA. Probably the only small down side was that they put lots of sauce on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fat Hippo - Jesmond. 2 courses for £11.95. We ordered extra onion rings and upgraded the fries to dirty ones with cheese sauce and bacon. There was 3 of us with drinks it was £50. Lovely place, small but cosy. Worth a visit. Would return it was very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank melanieann88
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this review

I'm pleased to hear you had such a great time! I have passed on your comments to the restaurant manager, we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Mercede More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Heard good things about this place on our hen weekend stay in Jesmond. Wow, it was all very true. The burger we had here was amazing. So tasty and incredible. Highly recommend to anyone!

Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. Glad you had such a lovely time! Hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Mercede More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fat Hippo in Jesmond the best burger I've ever had. The Fat Hippo was my choice of burger. The sauce they put on it is outstanding. Will definitely be back very soon!

Helpful?
Thank James M
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review! We're glad to hear you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Mercede More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really wanted to like the fat hippo after having an amazing burger from them at an event elsewhere but were left feeling a bit dissapointed. The restaurant itself is well decorated but seems a bit sticky and unclean, however the staff were speedy and friendly. The disappointment comes from the food itself which just fell short, a bit bland... More 

Helpful?
Thank EnJM
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you felt disappointed by your experience at Fat Hippo Jesmond. If you would like to discuss your visit further, please contact our general manager Matt on matt@fathippo.co.uk Thanks, Mercede More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very obliging staff and an OK Burger. Milkshake and sweet potato fries all arrived quickly and hot, just the burger was not that exciting but I guess what else would you expect. Clean and well run.

Helpful?
Thank Dik B
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this review

Thanks for acknowledging the friendly and efficient service, despite the fact that our food let you down on this occasion. We're always looking for ways to improve, and we'll certainly be -taking your criticisms on board. Thanks, Mercede More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on a Saturday afternoon. The staff were friendly, the burgers were OK but had much better however the chips were diabolical! They consisted of deep fire stale fat with no potato in them. We complained to the waiter and he offered some fresh chips but we were half way through our burgers so declined the offer. I alternative... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris19_09
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you felt disappointed by your experience at Fat Hippo Jesmond. It makes for a disappointing read and it's certainly not the sort of experience we'd expect you to have at any of our restaurants. I have passed on your comments to our executive chef who will be looking into the comments you have raised. Please feel... More 

Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tasteless, bland and incredibly average. The burgers are far too small, the brioche bun is nice, but the meat is a letdown

Helpful?
Thank CharlesJeff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

4 of us dined here and found the setting to be very cosy. Staff very welcoming and went out of there way to supply us drinks that they didn't have on the shelf. The ladies wanted malibu and coke so the man went to the shop and bought the malibu!! Although food is on the expensive side (still cheaper than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had such a lovely time at Fat Hippo Jesmond! We hope to see you again in the future. Thanks, Mercede More 

Travellers who viewed Fat Hippo Jesmond also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Fat Hippo Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$19
Cuisine
American, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35A St. Georges Terrace | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 340 8949
Description
Fat Hippo specialise in the good kind of gluttony: making indulgent burgers that have you loosening your belt buckle before you've even started!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fat Hippo Jesmond staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?