We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solomons

West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
+44 191 274 2323
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (29 reviews)
“rogan josh” (4 reviews)
“garlic naan” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Halal, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment you enter, the pleasure begins. We walked in to be treated by staff like old friends. Surrounded by simple, yet sophisticated decor; the life size elephant and the tiger in the corner was a real treat for the 2 young boys that...More

Thank philmcfitzgerald
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visit here regularly for take-away's so decided to dine in for my birthday. All my family loved their meals, we thought the service was good and me and my partner both agree this is the best Indian we have ever been to and we have...More

Thank SeaEagle87
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the kind review SeaEagle87! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and thank you for your continued support!

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Exceptional food and exceptional service as always. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Hands down best Indians in Newcastle

Thank Reece12335
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you Reece12335 for the fantastic review! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Used to eat here quite a lot a few years ago but we drifted off to other restaurants, our meal was very poor some of it was cold some was tasteless part of our order was wrong. After talking to another couple their experience was...More

1  Thank dandelandan
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening with us. Please feel free to email us at solomonsgroup@gmail.com if you wish to discuss the matter further.

Reviewed 3 August 2017

One meal in the restaurant and one takeaway in the last month. Both fab and still our go-to Indians. We had what we always have in the restaurant - starters of Tandoori Mixed Kebab, King Prawn Bhaji an Onion Bhaji followed by main to share,...More

Thank Rubles2010
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you so much for the great review Rubles2010! We are really pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner visited this place for the first time today. I was unsure on visiting at first after mixed reviews but was pleasantly surprised as the food was really nice. Their chicken tikka massala is the best I've ever tasted! The restaurant had...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 29 June 2017

We picked this as it was not far from our hotel. We had visited an Solomons before and knew the food would be great. We were not disappointed. We were quickly taken to our table and seated. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The...More

Thank rashdah a
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you so much for the great review rashdah a!

Reviewed 11 May 2017

I'm been going for take-away for years. My recent visit was by far the worst experience I've had with them. The food was actually ok but it was cold. I think this probably down to them forgetting about the meal. I was told it would...More

Thank smalltime76
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant today and all I can say is please don't waste your money,I paid £93 with drinks,family of five,yes I would say that's good but the meals were disgusting ,we all ordered different as well and not one was good,such a shame as...More

6  Thank dawnarm71
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Cold naans, bhuna had crunchy onion and devoid of tomatoes. Not good. Had i been at the restaurant I would have sent it back but unfortunately it was a takeaway.

Thank Angie M
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Angie M, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your meal.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Famiglia
47 reviews
.41 km away
Rajnagar Bangladeshi Kitchen
90 reviews
1.42 km away
Jaipur Exclusive Indian Takeaway
41 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
intu MetroCentre
463 reviews
3.09 km away
Newburn hall motor museum
81 reviews
3.60 km away
Namco Funscape
6 reviews
2.88 km away
Elswick Pool
11 reviews
3.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jc0uls0n
22 September 2016|
Answer
Response from SolomonsGroup | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your question. Our chefs are happy to accommodate any requests we do also offer mild dishes as well as English dishes!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$29 - US$39
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 274 2323
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing