We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

the bull and anchor pub

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
233 wheelright lane, Coventry, England
+44 24 7636 5528
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The worst lunch ever. Roast potatoes and parsnips ....I have never seen something like that before.....grey inside, looks they were left from previous Sunday reheated in fryer on old oil....disgusting. Won't never back.

Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka N
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Agnie, I am sad that we did not meet your expectations and that we have disappointed you, I would like extend my apologies and I will be looking into these issues to ensure we can improve upon these matters. I look forward to welcoming you again sometime very soon. Kind Regards, Kellie More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in on the off-chance of a table, ordered the megasauras steak, was fab, will be back, son had double daddy burger, again he polished it off, desserts were good too, staff friendly

Helpful?
Thank Vicky220876
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Vicky, I’m very glad to hear that you have had a great experience with us here the other day, and I will be passing on your kind comments onto all the team at the next team meeting. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Kind Regards, Kellie More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came in on a Wednesday night. Only one girl serving behind the bar so long wait to be served and even longer wait to receive our order. As the evening went on dirty glasses mounted up on the bar with no sign of staff collecting them to be washed. Gents toilet was locked and when one of our party asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank viola342017
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Viola, We are very sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your visit to us, we will be looking into this visit for you to rectify the issues and ensure we can improve our service. We hope we can look forward to seeing you again to restore your confidence in us.  Kind Regards, Kellie More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Came in here today like I have done many times ... disappointed all the tables were reserved and it was 2pm never ever seen this in a hungry horse ... surely putting a sign up to say would be better no tables unless booked !! Bad management I say !!

Helpful?
Thank Loula79
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Loula, Im sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with your last two visits with us, i will be speaking to the manager today to ensure that all the issues that you have mentioned can be discussed and to ensure we can improve on these issues. We hope to welcome you back soon, and would like to sincerely... More 

Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Apart from the screaming kids and children running around, I would say this was a pretty good experience. The food was excellent (as ever!) and the staff were great, always friendly and willing to have a chat. Nothing can be done about the screaming kids unfortunately but the upper end of the pub by the pool table often seems to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandwellman
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am happy to hear about your visit to us the other day, we are all happy to know that we gave you a good experience, and hope that we can see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Kellie More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Family lunch to celebrate my birthday. Booked a table, as usual, so we sat where we wished. Good all round meal, and four happy diners!

Helpful?
Thank Oldcop8093
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Here we are all excited to know that you have enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to greeting you again hopefully very soon. I will be raising this compliment at the next team meeting to ensure the team know they did well. Kind Regards, Kellie More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Awful food! First we ordered then sat down, to be told what we ordered wasn't available. Then our food came separately but that didn't matter anyway as we're given no cutlery to eat with! Lasagne came out covered in cheese to hide the fact it was burnt. Side order was forgotten about so we then had to ask for that.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steffo J
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Steffo, Im sorry that you have been disappointed with your visit with us, we will be speaking with the team members at the next team meeting to tell them that this is unacceptable and we will be looking for ways to rectify these issues.  I hope we can convince you to try us once more so we can prove... More 

Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Went for an evening meal. Great staff good food served quickly. The downside, which is not the fault of the Bull& Anchor, is the noisy customers. I really don't know why people have to shout across the width of a table to hold a conversation. It just falls short of my Fantaubolsa trademark comment. Lord Brian Leathley - Andrew

Helpful?
Thank lordbrian2016
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you very much for your kind review and glad you have enjoyed visiting us. Im sorry about the noisy customers hopefully next time you visit it will be quieter. We are excited to see you again really soon. Kind Regards, Kellie More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Food was lovely, excellent service and minimum wait for food which arrived hot. Clean pub generally and even the toilets were clean, which is unusual !

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank JoHaines
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Jo, We are glad to hear of this good experience with us, and glad to hear that you will recommend us, we are looking forward to greeting you back very soon.  Kind Regards, Kellie More 

Bedworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2017

I come to this hungry horse all the time with family and friends, I love the environment and how friendly the staff are. The food here is very good the quantity and quality stops me going anywhere else.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank declantaylor1978
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Declan, We are all pleased to hear that you have enjoyed yourself with us and we hope to welcome you back to us very soon. Kind Regards, Conor More 

Travellers who viewed the bull and anchor pub also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 

Been to the bull and anchor pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 233 wheelright lane, Coventry, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7636 5528

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the bull and anchor pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?