We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...

The Fox Goes Free

) #5 of 179 Restaurants in Chichester $$ - $$$, Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Charlton Road | Nr Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
+44 1243 811461
Website
Save
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Details
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (31 reviews)
“sunday roast” (20 reviews)
“mash” (10 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Charlton Road | Nr Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely oldy worldy Inn tucked away under the South Downs . A Warm welcome , tasty food & a Fab garden. The view while sitting back & chilling is so lovely, rolling hills with sheep grazing. So pleased 2 have the likes practically on our...More

Thank SnowyWhite10
Reviewed 5 days ago

Went to this pub for lunch. Absolutely fantastic food, relaxed atomosphere in a interesting and beautiful setting. Was just a great experience. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank TheResturantCritic
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed in one of the rooms above the pub for one night as well as having dinner. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean and comfortable. There was a problem with our shower and the member of staff we notified...More

Thank dan40hampton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided we needed a country pub lunch today, so glad we did. Pies were very tasty with fresh vegetables, tasty jus and 'proper chips'. Don't mind paying a little extra for quality food well presented. Staff are welcoming and efficient and considering the number of...More

Thank BUNNYMANOR
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A few of us went in for a snack lunch,which was well presented by very efficient staff.There was a full range of food,all presented to a very high standard. Worth a visit.

Thank taylormadeWestSussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sadly this place is dreadfully overcrowded, inefficient, poor food (really tasteless), some very nice service but completely overwhelmed by the awkwardness of the place. Not very good loos and altogether a scrum. Everybody cheek by jowl. That includes the wretched cap park that quite simply...More

2  Thank Jewellsverne
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Fox Goes Free. I was sorry to read about your overall experience; however I must tactfully disagree with your views as a whole. As this is your second negative review...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked as a family of 4 plus 2 little ones for Bank Holiday Saturday lunch. Two of our party were held up by traffic problems travelling down from London and were half an hour late which could have been a problem had the...More

Thank RosieT2
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chanced upon this pub when we were actually looking for another one we had been to previously. It was Bank Holiday Monday and the car park was full. They employ a car park attendant because it appears to be so popular! We had to...More

1  Thank LynneGosport
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review and taking the time to write about your visit. I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations and you left unimpressed. Yours points and are duly noted and we always take measure to improve on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great Sunday lunch (with dog) in the bar area. Wonderful comfort food and a jolly service. We did notice that by 2.30 pm they were running out of some food which if you are open all day I guess is a potential problem and...More

2  Thank MikeAustin67
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice light lunch with a friend at her favourite place. We had soup and shared a sandwich but both very nice and filling. Soup had great flavour and seasoning. Service was good - have had better here - they were very busy despite being a...More

1  Thank keladk70
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Partridge Inn
188 reviews
1.00 km away
The Bluebell at Cocking
166 reviews
4.70 km away
The Royal Oak Inn
346 reviews
5.17 km away
The White Horse
80 reviews
5.86 km away
Nearby Attractions
Weald & Downland Living Museum
779 reviews
1.45 km away
Tangmere Military Aviation Museum
470 reviews
7.20 km away
Chichester Festival Theatre
588 reviews
7.97 km away
West Dean Gardens
429 reviews
3.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
MarkJA59
Do you offer Vegan food ??
17 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Sarah C | Reviewed this property |
I've no idea whether they do, you would have to ask the restaurant direct.
0
Votes
Dugong_13
What is on the vegetarian menu and does it change?
18 August 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Dugong_13
I would like to see the vegetarian menu.
18 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from KrazyKatlover | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure what they have for vegetarians as I'm a meat eater but I'm sure they cater for all dietary needs....take a look at the A La Carte menu online and like most good establishments, I'm also sure the menu changes... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$30
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Charlton Road | Nr Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Chichester
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 811461
  • E-mail