We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fox and Hounds

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Funtington Common | Funtington, Chichester PO18 9LL, England
+44 1243 575246
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 23:00
Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 267: English reviews
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I visited this evening on the off-chance after work. We were told there was an (understandable) hiatus in food orders off the specials board until 6pm but didn't mind waiting. Our food came out earlier than anticipated and was excellent. I went for the faggots and my wife went for the Rib Eye steak. It was all... More 

Helpful?
Thank HummersOriginal
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time on writing your review ,and glad that you enjoyed your meals. Our daily specials are constantly changed due to their popularity and high demand. Its great to see our Specials appreciated . Hope to see you soon . More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food and a very nice Sunday Roast - Carvery style - well worth a visit and dog friendly also, so ideal for the pooch. It gets busy so always a good sign and the food did not disappoint!

Helpful?
Thank Russell H
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery, and always nice to hear that your dog enjoyed the experience too.Dogs are always welcome in the bar area . Hope to see you soon . More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

we had been driving around for ages looking for a pub that would serve food before 6pm The Fox and Hounds is a lovely country pub on back road to chichester, very nice people looking after us, a huge big lovely welcome, chess set ready if you want to play, good choice of food, we had fish and chips and... More 

Helpful?
Thank debutaunt
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Fox and Hounds , We are pleased that you enjoyed our great choices of food , and the service. We serve food daily from 12pm until 9.30. Sundays we serve our carvery until 8pm . pre theatre bookings can be taken . More 

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The majority of reviews appear to concern the Carvery so thought I would add my review of breakfast. Super friendly pub with relaxed vibe. Staff are attentive and proficient. Ate with a group of four friends, two of whom ate meat. Myself and a friend had the veggie breakfast and it is excellent. The veggie sausages are my favourite and... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappySUPPER
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Its good to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our weekend breakfast.Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was tasteless, a very disappointing meal . I didn't have high expectations but I was still very disappointed. I hardly ate anything as I found it so awful. The service however was excellent and the atmosphere relaxed.

Helpful?
1 Thank LizRowen
Foxand H, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Good evening I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal with us, presuming your referring to christmas day I'm slightly shocked as we had a lot of good feedback and have had a lot of repeat booking for 2017 christmas already however we take all feedback (positive and negative) seriously and would like to discuss this further with you.... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,354 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The service was very good and the cauliflower soup was very creamy. The seafood platter was very filling with the chips and so was the sticky toffee pudding. They run quiz and music nights.

Helpful?
Thank Ethan E
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for you response , we are delighted that your meal and the service was enjoyed by yourself. Our quiz night has been very popular recently, so is advised to book. Quiz night and our Sunday music evening will be back in February. More 

Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016

We were staying in our caravan 5 mins away at Conciege Camping. I had googled local pubs that took dogs and came across this one so booked it for a Friday evening. Very busy as getting near to Christmas, but shown to a nice table for two, and given menus and drinks orders taken. Very good menu with some quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank llamacalmer
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Having been staying at the Concierge campsite ten minutes away from this gem of a place we went for a spot of lunch as they serve food all day which was ideal for us, the place is lovely with log fires burning and a very warm feel and welcoming by the staff, busy as it was we were served in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole m
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The party took place in a private room upstairs. Everything was very well organised and the food was excellent. The staff were very attentive. As always the only downside was the cost of the drinks which was very expensive. Overall the venue was very nice and I would recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDrongo
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

Went there on recommendation for a Sunday roast lunch. when we were staying nearby Was a little disappointed with quality of food. Veg was not hot and meat not tender . and well cooked. Seemed to have been standing for a while. Thought it expensive for what we got. Perhaps the locals are less critical as it was very busy... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank randegreen

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Stoughton, Chichester
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$45
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Private Dining, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Funtington Common | Funtington, Chichester PO18 9LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Chichester
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 575246
Description
The Fox & Hounds pub & restaurant offers fine dining in relaxed, elegant surroundings in the charming village of Funtington, near Chichester in West Sussex, boasting a truly fantastic wine list, well-stocked bar with a wide range of real ales, large garden and impeccable, friendly service.We are open for breakfast and serve meals all day. we are famous for our Sunday Carvery and traditional pub atmosphere. We are be opening our own Village shop in Early 2013

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fox and Hounds and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fox and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?