We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square

31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
+44 113 246 0669
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (545 reviews)
“chateaubriand” (34 reviews)
“chicken skewers” (31 reviews)
Closes in 21 min
Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

No matter what the occasion, Blackhouse really can fit any style of dining. With outdoor eating, a conservatory, and a large indoor area you have many options. Starting with the wine list:it is quite extensive so you are sure to find a bottle to suit...More

Thank AustinArmacost
Blackhouse-Leeds1, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hey Austin, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. It was great to see you last week, and I’m pleased to hear that you and your other half had a lovely time, hope the rest of your evening was enjoyable. We look forward...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ordered the most expensive item on he menu, the chateaubriand sharing platter for two. Unfortunately it only comes with one portion of chips. The other person has to go without. Peppercorn sauce comes with a yellow film on top. The chips had black inside them,...More

1  Thank Graeme H
Blackhouse-Leeds1, General Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Graeme, I’m sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your visit. If you have time please could you contact me directly so that we can discuss further? Kind regards Matthew Lee-Cook General Manager Matthewcook@blackhouse.uk.com

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called for Sunday Lunch , sat down very quickly, but from there on service was very slow. Starters were very good , however the sharing platter of beef that costs £50 was not very good value food was not very warm , plates came out...More

1  Thank Woodywhite
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic service and food at this place. Wasn’t that hungry so had steak sandwich which was excellent & good value. Great service from a lady called Jess. Couldn’t do enough for us. Will definitely be back- cocktails on the terrace in the sun, nothing better!

Thank Luke M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love music was simply amazing, made for an elegant beautiful night, staff were lovely, ambience perfect and the food was delicious, had cheese for dessert which was fab, sea bass for my main which tasted delicious, the sauce was perfect. Oysters to start. My friend...More

Thank loloarty
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant restaurant that I use for personal and business time and time again! Pippa’s service was brilliant today - huge thank you.

Thank KateRoseHutch
Blackhouse-Leeds1, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey Kate, I’m really pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch. We look forward to seeing you again soon Many thanks Amanda :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my second visit, the first time I thought it was just an accident the steak was a poor cut and did not complain. The second time exactly the same thing. I did complain and was given a discount.More

Thank Templarhouse
Blackhouse-Leeds1, General Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you for leaving this feedback, I’m so sorry to hear that you haven’t enjoyed the steak on two occasions. We pride ourselves on the quality of meat that we serve, so if you have any time please could you email me directly...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came to the restaurant on Tuesday early evening and greeted by our awesome server Pippa! Her food And drinks knowledge was outstanding. The food was the best I’ve had and the Australian ribeye steak was cooked to perfection! 10/10 for everything and thanks for...More

Thank chefbardolino
Blackhouse-Leeds1, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there Thank you for the review and rating. We’re really pleased to hear that you had a good time on Tuesday and that Pippa was able to discuss all things steak and wine :) We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kindest regards...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dined at the blackhouse on 29th May and had a wonderful meal with friends. Staff were welcoming and the food was spot on. I have booked to come again! Our server Courtney was very pleasant and helpful - see you again soon! Ps live music...More

Thank karenschafer
Blackhouse-Leeds1, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Karen Thank you so much for the kind words. We’ve passed this on to Courtney and the team who are happy to hear that you and your friends had such a good evening. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kindest regards Amanda

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was craving steak. Started with the poached egg and haddock in lobster sauce, divine! My ribeye was cooked perfectly. Great atmosphere and service. My server Cait was on her A game and truly a charming young lady!

Thank Jimmy C
Blackhouse-Leeds1, Manager at Blackhouse - The Grill on the Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jimmy, I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Ribeye would be my choice cut too, pleased you enjoyed it along with the service. Kindest regards Amanda Keegan Business Development Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 96 hotels in Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
636 reviews
.03 km away
Park Row Apartments
1 review
.11 km away
Quebecs
1,185 reviews
.15 km away
The Met Hotel Leeds
1,674 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Dakota Bar & Grill, Leeds
332 reviews
.03 km away
Tattu
948 reviews
.03 km away
Ricci's Tapas & Cicchetti
210 reviews
.06 km away
Gusto Restaurant & Bar
631 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Leeds Art Gallery
236 reviews
.21 km away
Leeds Central Library
50 reviews
.25 km away
White Cloth Gallery
67 reviews
.23 km away
City Square
30 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Evie A
30 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Blackhouse-Leeds1 | Property representative |
Hey, Yes we do. Wednesday - Sunday Amanda
0
Votes
SuperflyJai
30 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from xoFairyKissox | Reviewed this property |
Smart Casual, but generally feels quite Smart - ENJOY!!
1
Vote
IlPariota
16 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Blackhouse-Leeds1 | Property representative |
We serve until it has sold out, on a regular Sunday they usually last into the evening or at least until 7pm.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$47
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31-33 East Parade, Leeds LS1 5PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 246 0669
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;