We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

$$ - $$$, British,
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
+44 1722 790236
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“fish pie” (7 reviews)
“pudding” (8 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We weren't expecting a palace...more so ..your typical country English pub. The food was reasonable and generous but the reception from the woman who checked us in was saccharin and insincere. We were hurried out of the bar at closing with a run down on...More

Thank Jo W
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your food. The current menu does not include a breakdown of the continental breakfast so I am a little surprised by your comments. I am very sorry that the member of staff was insincere and...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We have dined at the Swan twice whilst staying there, once IN December 2016 and once in April 2017. On both times we chose to eat in the bar area rather than the restaurant as it appeared more cosy, especially in December with the fire...More

Thank Mandyw30
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your nice review - I am glad that the venison issue was rectified and that you have enjoyed your meals on your visits. Liz

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Came here for a family meal, 8 of us in total. Food was excellent, the majority of us had the steak and ale pie and there were no complaints! Plenty of really tasty, good quality meat which was not at all grisly like you find...More

Thank Nicola8242
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your steak and ale pie which are indeed very filling! Thank you for your continued custom and recommendations, as a family business it means a lot. Liz

Reviewed 15 August 2017

The bus tour we were on organized lunch for us here. Some places call themselves a pub but this is the real deal. Worn wooden beams, cozy nooks for dining, great beer and delicious food. Our party had the locally roasted duck salad, Ploughman's lunch,...More

Thank needles4ewe
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and really appreciate your positive feedback. Liz

Reviewed 23 July 2017

We went for a meal on the way back from Salisbury. found this place after searching for a while off the beaten track. We both opted for the pie called a Proper Pie. It was in a large dish with a light pastry crust and...More

Thank 3Hazelh
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for your nice review. Much appreciated. Liz

Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

I had the pleasure of running a course with the Swan as the venue today. Staff were very polite and extremely helpful. We were given a lunch which was very nice and well presented. Coffee and tea was on all day, yes I'm aware we...More

Thank PicklesPumpkin44
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your kind review - we are delighted you are hosting the course with us this week and hope it goes well. Liz

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch. Service was very prompt and the staff were friendly. The whole restaurant and bar area need a good refurbishment. The back of the bar looks like they're halfway through moving in (or out). I ordered the premium steak burger with...More

Thank Robin I
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your burger. Unfortunately for us, large tied inns owned by third party landlords have much larger overheads than a burger van, so it isn't really a like for like comparison on price...More

Reviewed 27 June 2017

We were staying at the Swan and wanted to eat in the restaurant. We decided on the pate to start which was delicious. The main course of local venison steak arrived and here we had real issues. Having ordered a medium and a rare they...More

Thank mjfoodlover
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that your issue with your steaks was resolved satisfactorily and that the staff team looked after you. We appreciate your comments. Liz

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Probably our 3rd visit and the 2 previous occasions was actually very nice. This time though it was as if we were in a totally different pub! The table was sticky and there was debris on the floor around it presumably from the previous customer?...More

Thank Dave D
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Whilst we were quieter when you had arrived, we had just had 3 coaches leave, so whilst food on the floor is unacceptable and it is disappointing if items on the menu are not available, it was an...More

Reviewed 21 June 2017

When we arrived the bar was very busy with only one person serving. I ordered a white wine spritzer which came with very flat lemonade, so tried again with soda water which was better although took a long time to arrive. Told we could sit...More

Thank Joanne A
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food and have fed back your comments to the team. I also apologise that the communication was poor in the team. The windows do open in the bar so I am sorry if you were hot....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pelican Inn Restaurant
102 reviews
4.00 km away
The Boot Inn
260 reviews
4.04 km away
Greyhound Inn
295 reviews
4.65 km away
The Ship Inn
244 reviews
4.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wilton House
283 reviews
4.88 km away
The White Horse
6 reviews
5.33 km away
Stonehenge
10,712 reviews
7.63 km away
Church of St. Mary and St. Nicholas
70 reviews
4.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790236
  • E-mail
Description
The Swan at Stoford is a lovely historical coaching inn set in rural Wiltshire, yet very accessible on the A36. 6 miles from Salisbury, it is an ideal place to base yourself for tourist attractions in the area, including Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat, Old Sarum airfield and much more. With 9 letting rooms, a lovely restaurant, a spacious function room with a Skittles Alley, a cottage garden and a great riverside garden perfect for marquees, BBQs and outdoor parties. The Swan is a family run business with an emphasis on customer service and a guaranteed warm welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing