We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

$$ - $$$, British,
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
+44 1722 790236
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (9 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have eaten here a few times. Very friendly welcome by the staff. Tasty food and well presented. Compliments to Chef. Puddings are beautiful. Proper puddings!! Recommend the Cocktails. Dog friendly in the bar area. Beer garden would be lovely in the summer, drinking cocktails by...More

Thank Fannyann939
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your top scoring review, we are glad you are a happy customer. I can definitely recommend sitting by the river in the summer, it is a beautiful spot. Liz

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic place, great food, definitely will go again. Friendly staff, parking across the road, outside smoking area, catering for all,

Thank Jan19861959
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Liz

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for one night on our way through to a ferry departure. Vinney the GM is true, original, unbridled hospitality. Made us feel very welcome, including making a huge effort with our at times shy young Labrador, who by the end of the night was...More

Thank JAY1984UK
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality. Liz

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I were staying at the Swan with the intention of visiting Salisbury but didn't because my wife was concerned about the 'risk of 'Russian' poison. Fortunately the Swan serves food in the bar so we didn't need to search for a restaurant...More

Thank RossendaleRed
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review. I am glad that you stayed with us, but would encourage you to visit Salisbury again soon, which has returned to it's usual busy self. Liz

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Was travelling home (from Salisbury direction) and was looking for a meal to keep going. Stopped here and it met my needs. Barmaid/waitress was very friendly (different to other reviews I now see?) and helpful. Had standard portion of stew and dumplings that came with...More

Thank Chris G
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stop off. Liz

Reviewed 20 February 2018

We booked a table on the Sunday night and whatever we ordered on the menu was unavailable so we plumped for homemade curry which was awful my husband had a turkey curry which seemed to be made up of all the innerds of the turkey...More

Thank Squidders_10
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy the Turkey Madras. I am glad that it was taken off your bill, however, we would have gladly replaced the meal for something your husband preferred instead. We would not want him to go to bed...More

Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Xmas day. Wow... it’s a get up and get it yourself carvery. The meat is so dry it’s arid. The carrots are so raw I can’t get my fork in. Disgraceful. There wasn’t a happy table in the place. People wanted to leave but obviously...More

Thank katherine h
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear your comments about the carvery as it was clearly advertised on the Christmas Day menu under Mains that it was a "Festive Carvery". Our experience has been across all our pubs that generally people prefer...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017

This establishment could be much better than it is but is sadly let down by the quality of the food. Some items tasted as if they were heated directly from a can instead of using fresh ingredients. The staff are friendly and well mannered even...More

Thank longfellow57
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. I apologise that you did not enjoy your meal with us but pleased that the staff dealt with your complaints in the expected friendly manner. Liz

Reviewed 2 December 2017

recommended. Staff welcoming and friendly,bed very comfortable. evening meal and breakfast both excellent. Good value for money

Thank loulee2015
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely five star review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Liz

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We came here for a Sunday carvery but wouldn't return. The welcome was less than warm, the food was OK but really not great and it smelt unpleasant. Having waited 10 minutes for someone to serve at the carvery my husband went to ask for...More

Thank Heva19
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. We were very disappointed to hear that you were not delighted with your carvery. I apologise for the less than friendly welcome, there is always a team in the kitchen on busy Sundays, so I am not...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Salisbury
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
571 reviews
4.75 km away
Cricket Field House
442 reviews
6.36 km away
The Stones Hotel
339 reviews
6.79 km away
Salisbury Apartments
24 reviews
7.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Pelican Inn Restaurant
113 reviews
4.01 km away
The Boot Inn
279 reviews
4.04 km away
Greyhound Inn
328 reviews
4.66 km away
The Ship Inn
254 reviews
4.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wilton House
295 reviews
4.92 km away
The White Horse
6 reviews
5.33 km away
Boscombe Down Aviation Collection
432 reviews
7.12 km away
Church of St. Mary and St. Nicholas
74 reviews
4.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$29
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790236
  • E-mail
Description
The Swan at Stoford is a lovely historical coaching inn set in rural Wiltshire, yet very accessible on the A36. 6 miles from Salisbury, it is an ideal place to base yourself for tourist attractions in the area, including Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat, Old Sarum airfield and much more. With 9 letting rooms, a lovely restaurant, a spacious function room with a Skittles Alley, a cottage garden and a great riverside garden perfect for marquees, BBQs and outdoor parties. The Swan is a family run business with an emphasis on customer service and a guaranteed warm welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing