We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Horse Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
+44 1725 510408
00:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Sun 00:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 00:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 75: English reviews
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

third time weve eaten since the new owner arrived, the first time was great, the second was brilliant and last night was fantastic...the music quiz in the background was fun....the whole pub was spotlessly clean and , for what i consider really excellent food, great value for money..you have to try it!

1 Thank stephenjogg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to celebrate Donald J Trump's victory over the corrupt establishment of American politics. (My views are not shared by the pub)

Thank Ben C
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch with my disabled father and 4 month old baby. The facilities for the disabled are excellent, plenty of room. A member of the staff/family held my daughter whilst we ate out lunch! Such a lovely pub, lovely family that run it, excellent roast dinner, with the best belly pork in the south of England!!

Thank Sam W
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

We went for lunch and a brief visit to a corner of Wiltshire that we dont know well. This pub is large and very old, lots of beams. Plenty of parking, very cleans loos and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Good choice on the menu, and we both enjoyed a well presented meal which was very tasty, my... More 

Thank 307Jocelyn
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

While in the area we were looking for a pub for supper looked at others but no good so we tried here , great atmosphere and friendly staff and as for the roast beef that was the best roast beef that we have ever had , we are hoping to and want to make a return visit while here for... More 

Thank Richardsfamily125
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and it was great to see you and your family on your return visit. We hope that you had a nice holiday and that if you find yourself in the area again you pop in and see us! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Great food, very tasty! Specially the burger! Will be back! And the desserts very good, will be recommending to family and friends to come here, and will be back again soon!

Thank tom b
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. You will be pleased to hear that the burger is staying on the menu when we change it in November but we will have more exciting desserts for you to try! More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I stopped if for a quick pint it's was very quiet due to the time of day and it being a working day. I found the atmosphere nice and the greeting friendly. I can't comment on the food but the beer was obviously well looked after and didn't seem pricey. Overall it was a good experience.

Thank Dubaitravelalot
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Great to hear that our hard work keeping our beers in tip top condition is appreciated. Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We went for a sunday lunch and it was just awful - very slow service - the meals were undersized - the meats were all very undercooked, we asked for them to be cooked more and were obviously put in the microwave. - the potatoes were just a hard shell with no fluff in the centre - veg undercooked -... More 

1 Thank Lukashughes94
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience with us and I feel your comments require a detailed answer. We have signage that states that our veg is cooked al dente and our roast meats are medium rare however, we are happy to modify this on request at time of order. When I brought out... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

First visit since the new owner took over and my, what a difference. I'm veggie and there was actually nut roast available for Sunday lunch which was delicious. There were also 3 other veggie mains on the menu so we'll have to return so that I can try those out! Hubby was also impressed with his lunch of roast beef.... More 

Thank Val M
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

We were visiting the New Forest and got hungry so stopped in Downton to get some food. From the outside it looked like a normal red brick pub, but inside it was huge. Lots of various tables and seating and the staff were so friendly and welcoming, even the chef came out to say hello. But the real highlight was... More 

Thank Declan S
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had such a good experience and hope you pop in again if you are visiting the area. More 

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

Redlynch, New Forest National Park Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Bar, British, Pub
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
00:00 - 22:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1725 510408
The White Horse Inn welcomes you and your family to our historic pub and gardens. Whether visiting Salisbury or heading to the New Forest or South Coast we are ideally situated. Serving delicious meals 7 days a week, with thirst quenching local ales and a varied wine list we have something for everyone here at The White Horse Inn.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?