We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
+44 1725 510408
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (5 reviews)
“burger” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in on the off chance for a light lunch and we both opted for a sandwich option, which we enjoyed in the pretty beer garden. Hubby went for a fish finger sandwich (homemade to order form fresh cod - not the frozen variety!) which...More

Thank justanothercork
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were in the beautiful area visiting family and decided to give this place a try for lunch as It was near. It was a hot bank holiday Monday and the pub was empty (presumably because everyone was outside or bbq-ing at home). 1st impressions...More

Thank Charleybobs
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We have completed a lot of work on the garden and have scheduled an internal renovation to banish anything old manish (including any shirtless men with dogs!). We have also just introduced a new menu which has even more variety...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely awful..... they don’t provide what you order and they don’t care.... we won’t go back.... the manager couldn’t even be bothered to come out and not even an apologyMore

Thank acdavies
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I have spoken to the staff and neither they nor myself have any recollection of your visit. I was on site all day and no one requested to talk to me. If you would like to discuss any grievances please feel free to pop in...More

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch with the family and the food and service were great. I’m sure that we’ll go back again sometime soon.

Thank FredFaulkner
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you had a positive experience and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had a meal on Thursday evening and whilst the Hunter's Chicken was a decent meal in terms of taste and quantity the steak and ale pies were the smallest meal I have ever been served in a restaurant. The pies tasted delicious but there...More

Thank Clive B
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the quality of our food as this is our main concern. We will be reviewing our portion sizes but can assure you that we wouldn't serve half a portion of pie. The chicken is a little...More

Reviewed 16 March 2018

Visited The White Horse for a quick dinner and beer. Staff are very helpful and effiicient. The food is good and tasty. The pub itself is tidy, warm and cosy. For those looking for something other than beer, they have some interesting gins and rums.

Thank Ian C
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you soon especially as we will be rotating our gin offering next month with even more interesting varieties to try!

Reviewed 12 March 2018

Driving into the village, it's full of thatched cottages and "Olde Worlde Charme" and, from the outside at least, you feel that you're in for a good experience. Our party started to feel a bit nervous as we approached from the back door and walked...More

2  Thank carled
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are planning on updating both inside and out in the next couple of weeks (the garden is lovely in summer but when you visited our plants had been adversely effected by the snow). However, we will be keeping the...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

The only positive thing I have to say about this visit is that the building is very beautiful. The food and pub owner, however, was less than pleasant. We went for a family meal today and we were all rather hungry and looking forward to...More

4  Thank Chermaine S
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Your first mistake was entering the building bragging loudly about enjoying complaining about food in order to get a discount. However, you were still treated to great service and food which we offer all customers. There was a delay between dishes because you specifically asked...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

Visited this pub we are a family of six we all ordered at the same time. 4 of our family dinners came out first the other 2 dinners came out over half an hour later, nothing like eating as a family. I ordered steak and...More

4  Thank jolewis2304
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Your first mistake was entering the building bragging loudly about enjoying complaining about food in order to get a discount. However, you were still treated to great service and food which we offer all customers. I am not surprised that a bad review full of...More

Reviewed 21 February 2018

We camped at the rear of The White Horse on a very cold frosty weekend, but the welcome in the Pub was warm friendly and very welcoming so we settled in for a few beers and something to eat and we were not disappointed the...More

Thank Dave M
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for your review. It was great fun having you here for the weekend. We hope to see you back again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Salisbury
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
974 reviews
8.15 km away
Grasmere House Hotel
631 reviews
8.25 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
105 reviews
8.70 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1,060 reviews
8.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wooden Spoon
154 reviews
.66 km away
The Bull Hotel Restaurant
108 reviews
.42 km away
The Borough Cafe
135 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Kings Head
18 reviews
2.53 km away
Woodgreen Community Shop
14 reviews
3.77 km away
National Trust - Pepperbox Hill
11 reviews
6.12 km away
Arniss Equestrian
138 reviews
7.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$40
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Private Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1725 510408
  • E-mail
Description
The White Horse Inn welcomes you and your family to our historic pub and gardens. Whether visiting Salisbury or heading to the New Forest or South Coast we are ideally situated. Serving delicious meals 7 days a week, with thirst quenching local ales and a varied wine list we have something for everyone here at The White Horse Inn.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;