We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hen & Chickens

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Flannel Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EG, Wales
+44 1873 853613
Website
Today
10:30 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 10:30 - 22:30
Fri - Sat 10:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

A very busy day for the staff.Pouring down with rain.Pleased to get a table for lunch.Excellent customer care.Lovely meal.Great staff and the locals were all so friendly.Great eating experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank shirley j
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Shirley J, Many Thanks for your 5 star review!! We hope to see you again soon - we have Live Jazz on every Sunday!! Kind Regards Rhian More 

Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

This is an average quality establishment. We visited for lunch. The service was good, the food fresh but average regarding selection. We had a place to sit and our order was given/taken at the bar. Service was prompt, music was a mix of popular rock and mediocre nonsense, which unwittingly (or not) sets the dreadful tone for atmosphere. Not inclined... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo B
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Paolo B, Thank you for taking the time to review us. The music is streamed in from our Head Office so I've passed your comments on. Kind Regards Rhian More 

Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

popped in for a drink and ended up staying for several such was the cozy nature of the place. Bar staff were keen and helpfull and the restaurant was full, suggesting that the food was good. Full of locals and interesting at that, great place for a visit whilst in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn C
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Glyn C, Thank you for taking the time to review us. See you again soon! Kind Regards Rhian More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

There were a good selection of cask ales and the food menu looked good although I didn't eat there. What I loved was the little snug, a small room you only see in very old and well looked after pubs. I would go here first when I am next in Abergavenny.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Alan C, Many Thanks for your 5 star review!! We hope you see you again soon! Kind Regards Rhian More 

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

This restaurant offers alternative meals healthy but really tasty and the choice of teas and coffee are amazing

Helpful?
1 Thank farmerlinda53
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi farmerlinder53, Thanks for taking the time to review us, we are very happy with the 5 star review! We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Rhian More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Not a good pub. Very crowded. The drinks were okay but the clientele seemed a bit threatening, looks like it's easy to get in a fight in there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Freezingwater2016
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were lucky enough to visit on Sunday evening, when there is a folk music gathering of musicians and singers. Staff and musicians very friendly and the music was really good, creating a pleasant couple of hours. The food portions are enormous and are good pub-type food, cheaply priced. Pub is also dog friendly Would visit again if in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maccy40
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Maccy40, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to receive such a positive review from yourself. The Folk night is monthly and will take place on November 20th if you're in the area. Kind Regards Rhian John More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Called in for something to eat and a pint, food was ok, though think it had been left standing before it was brought through to us, the beer was good and staff friendly

Helpful?
1 Thank andyjb_64
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Andyjb_64, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have brought up your concerns with our kitchen team to ensure that that issue doesn't happen again. I'm very glad you liked the beer though! Kind Regards Rhian John More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

After wandering along the main high street we came across Hen a& Chickens just off the main drag. It's your typical pub with a friendly service and sticky tables. The food was great value, less than £10 for a burger a drink. I wasn't expecting much of the food being such a low price, however I was pleasantly surprised and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa F
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Alexa F, Thank you for taking the time to review us, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Rhian John More 

Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Main bar is great, staff quite friendly, only had a quick glance at the very unimaginative glossy cardboard McDonald's type menu - obviously dictated by the hosts Brains - poor beer too. My main gripe though - televisions in pubs are a NO NO! Rushed through my pint and shan't return because if I wanted to watch crap property makeover... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phatkev
Rhian J, General Manager at Hen & Chickens, responded to this review

Hi Phatkev, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have passed your comments regarding our menu to our Marketing team. We only have the one television which is only meant to be used for Sporting events or the news channel, so I apologise that another channel was on that day. I am, however, disappointed with your comments... More 

Travellers who viewed Hen & Chickens also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Hen & Chickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
10:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
10:30 - 22:30
Thursday
10:30 - 22:30
Friday
10:30 - 00:00
Saturday
10:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Flannel Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Abergavenny
  • Phone Number: +44 1873 853613

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hen & Chickens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?