We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travellers Rest

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Caerphilly, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
+44 29 2085 9021
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 585: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Been to the Travellers Rest twice now recently, first time we just popped in passing and the second time was booked in advance for Mother's Day. Both times the service has been brilliant and the food has been delicious. I would definitely return to the Travellers Rest. The beer garden is lovely and would be great when the weather is... More 

Helpful?
Thank dangrayy
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Mix week lunch as a couple, first time visit having driven past a few times. Nice pub, very quaint, warm and cosy atmosphere. Good service, and extensive menu, spoilt for choice! Eventually chose Caesar salad with salmon, with triple cooked chips on the side. Creme brulee for pud , £11.50 for the two courses on the fixed price menu. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith w
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your meal. We are waiting for a rescore from the council. We have had a complete change of management here if you have any further queries please contact us on 02920 859021, or travellersrestcaerphilly@vintageinn.co.uk Regards Tania Jones GM More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited pub last night and am a frequent visitor. Lovely pub and atmosphere and friendly staff. Orderd starters and main meal and only one starter came out. When i asked where mine was she checked with kitchen and it hadn't been orderd. Waitress appologised and said it wouldn't be long. After another 10 minutes my partner had finished his starter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Met a friend here for lunch. We had booked a table and were seated promptly. Ashleigh, our server, was friendly, helpful and efficient. The food, scampi and chips with a very tasty dressed salad, was delicious and served within a reasonable time. Apple pie and custard, together with a hot drink was included, and we couldn't fault it.

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Thank you I will pass your comments on to Ashleigh and hope to see you again soon More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a table for 9, over two weeks ago, for my mother-in-law 70th birthday, for this saturday. I have telephone today to cancel due to unforeseen circumstances, and only to be told 'its not even on yu',. I questioned this, and gave a few names that I may have booked under, also being 9 people narrows it down, but nope,... More 

Helpful?
Thank U3461REemma
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

Hi, we are very sorry for the way this was dealt with. To ensure this doesn't happen again, we will always ask for email address for confirmation. Once again very sorry for this mistake. See you soon More 

Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly we went in for a valentines meal and we entered and they say is down and gave us the menu after looking round I noticed there was a valentines menu that hadn't been given or offered to us, so my boyfriend asked for us to see that and they were awfully rude about it and had to go ask... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tmmm87
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal on Valentines Day we were not made aware that anyone was not enjoying their evening if we had of done we would of rectified the situation immediately so you were happy with your experience. We do pride ourselves on service and I'm sorry we let you down this time and... More 

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family Meal. Food was below Average. Pizza seemed to be the best and the Sirloin steak. Smoked Bacon Rib - avoid- all bone and tough- with clearly microwaved to death mash and veg. Sea Bass - so over priced and dry. The Warm Breads- was just slices of a brown loaf on a plate with butter and oil and balsamic.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at the pub. We cook our food fresh and if you are ever unhappy please let us know at the time we can rectify the situation. All of our team are trained to behave in a professional manner so I am unsure as to what happened at this time but... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went for meal on recommendation but was really disappointed, service really slow, forgot to bring our drinks and the steak was chewy and fatty, for the price we paid we should have had quality.

Helpful?
Thank sc017pi0
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal if you had spoken to the team at the time we would of been able to rectify this for you . I hope this hasn't put you off and you will give us another opportunity. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hearing the travellers rest was under new management we attended for a family evening meal. Unfortunately poor service let down the experience. Had to wait a long time for drinks to arrive at the table and then even longer for food. Most meals were good, however the lamb shank arrived cold. This was rectified but the meal arrived 20 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Shaun P, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you had a poor experience in the pub last week, I have just taken over the management of the Travellers and am very passionate about service and quality, unfortunately we let you down on this occasion but I assure you that we are working as a team to raise the standards. I hope you will give... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the atmosphere was good and so was the service. had a diet coke which was nice,wanted a meal but was too expensive,

Helpful?
Thank mcgillgiovanna
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this review

We do have some smaller plates available and sharer starters available. If you sign on to the website there are always offers that can be sent to you. Hope to see you soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Travellers Rest also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Caerphilly, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2085 9021

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Travellers Rest and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Cardiff, United Kingdom
9 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travellers Rest staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?