We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Fri, 22/10
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#19 of 40 Bar in Newport


Pub, Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad cart car park lovely evening zoe fab voucher
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love a breakfast, I have eaten in lots of places, hard egg, mushy beans fatty sausages But the breakfast here was great, all cooked really well, and lovely staff , never had breakfast here before but will certainly return 😊 A nice goodbye to...my family going back home to FloridaMore

Date of visit: September 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kateba5211df, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Many thanks Anthony

Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Amazing quality of food, pancakes were delicious! Cooked breakfast was lovely and free refills were great. Over all very satisfied with our experience, amazing table service by Claire. She was very welcoming, polite and attended to all our needs with a smile! Definitely needs acknowledging...by management for her amazing customer service skills.More

Date of visit: September 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

thanks sophierp90he for your kind words anthony

Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

This has to be the best harvester we have ever eaten! Salad bar fresh, chicken moist, bbq hot and moist, sweet potatoe fries crispy and the special chicken gravy amazing The staff are friendly and helpful

Date of visit: September 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

hi ian thanks for your review anthony

Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

The were out of the wine I wanted, they didn't have the meal I wanted. The waiter asked if we would like I salad to start or with the meal. We wanted ours with our meal so he asked us to remind him about it...when our meals come out. Our meals came and we asked for our salad, and was then told there was a wait for it and our meals would be cold by the time we got back. I was annoyed at this. If we had be told of a potential wait we could have got our salad earlier and had it ready for the meal to arrive. The waiters excuse was "there wasn't a queue when I told you". Honestly, that was the words from his mouth. He offered to keep our food under the hot lamps, however I refused because I didn't wait our food to dry out. It took about 5 minutes to get our salads and return to the table. The ribs were microwaved and I seriously doubt they reached an internal temperature of 75, the bones felt colder than the outside meat. However I did eat these as I hope they have been stored correctly for that not to matter much. I poured my sweet potato fries out on my plate and it came out in one greasy congealed slop. They were extremely undercooked too. My partner ordered mac n' cheese. The grease was like a pool at the bottom. The waiter forgot our refill too so at this point I spot the manager and call him over. I explained what was wrong and he dealt with it in a professional manner and knocked some money off which was acceptable. However as we were paying up I got harrased by our original waiter who seemed very upset that I had gone to the manager and not him. I just wanted to leave at that point as I started to feel uncomfortable. I sincerely hope the young girl training with him that day finds a better job than working at the harvester bless her. Some blonde older lady spoke to her like crap while we were at the salad bar over taking dessert to a table. Poor girl didn't have a clue what was going on... and in my 8 years of hospitality neither did I. We won't be back.More

Date of visit: July 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

hi nmshp we are sorry to hear about your visit to the Borderer, we will look into the service and attitude of the waiter and the quality of the food, we are glad to hear that the manager was helpful and we will ask him...More

Reviewed 1 July 2021 via mobile

We visited this Harvester last night with our Grandson. This was my first visit to a restaurant since the beginning of the pandemic. It will probably be my last! Registering wasn’t a great experience. I wish I hadn’t bothered before I even got to my...table. You can’t help yourself to the salad bar. You have to stand in a queue and then when it’s your turn you have to stand 2 metres away from the salad bar and tell them what you want. I was stood in the queue for at least 15 mins. It’s my favourite part of visiting a Harvester usually, but this was the most disappointing salad I’ve ever had in my life. We waited 25 mins for our order to be served. Even though we could see it sitting on the hot counter for at least 10 mins before that. In all fairness to the chef he was constantly ringing the bell for service. I could have understood if it was busy but it wasn’t. We went to McDonalds for our dessert at my Grandsons request because he said it will take too long to come. That was my last visit to a Harvester. £68.00 for a disappointing experience :(More

Date of visit: June 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

Hi Jane we are sorry to here about you poor experience at the Borderer, due to covid we have to serve the salad and you have to register because of track and trace, we will look into the service times and speak with the team...More

Reviewed 16 June 2021 via mobile

We visited here last night for dinner and we were very disappointed. The floor under our table was dirty with food obviously from a previous guest. When trying to get our salad my son was almost pushed away in the face and he over stepped...the spot, he is only 4 years old! It’s very hard to see what was available from that distance. I later saw a list on the wall of the salad but not once was this pointed out to anyone. There was no one way system in place so people were passing by the salad area, which then totally goes against having to stand 2 meters away from it when trying to order it. We had to ask for plates for our bread rolls as we weren’t offered them. Were we expected to just place these on the table?? Our waitress had her face mask around her chin for the duration of our visit, this was quite unsettling for us. The menus where also not single use, disposable ones, just reused from one guest to another, also a poor display of cleanliness. In summary the COVID restrictions in place seem non existent. The general cleanliness was poor. We won’t be visiting this restaurant againMore

Date of visit: May 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

we are sorry to hear your comments and are investigating the site, we hope to fix the issues and restore your faith in the borderer many thanks for taking the time to review the site

Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

Really good food and staff are really going that extra mile to accommodate diners safely. Our server, Karen, was superb but obviously working extremely hard. I will be going back very soon because there were about 10 things I could have ordered!

Date of visit: April 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Hi Skootaman thanks for your comments, Karen is very happy to hear about your visit look forward to seeing you again anthony

Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

Tanle booked at 19.45pm and didnt leave until 2hrs later. The restaurant was under staffed and staff flapping in a panic with the amount of people booked in. Staff arguing with eachother which wasn't pleasant. Salad was skingy, my daughter had a steak which was...dry! Certain chicken not available and icecream machine broken. To say the least the experience was very disappointing for our first family outing esring out..Would not recommend and for tge price a absolute joke. Avoide if you canMore

Date of visit: May 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Hi Nathen B we are sorry to hear these comments about your visit, we have spoken with the team and aim to improve the service many thanks Anthony

Reviewed 17 May 2021 via mobile

I booked a table on the phone, for me and my daughter celebrating her 21st, I didn’t get anything saying that my table booked didn’t think anything of it and just went there to say I booked a table and the manager was very rude...to me saying that my table wasn’t booked but I was told that my phone number was my reference number on the phone when I called. I have been there a few times and his been quite rude then as well. I know after the pandemic it’s hard coming back but I wasn’t expecting to spoken to like that which left me in tears. Won’t be going again lost a customer and family.More

Date of visit: May 2021
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2021

Hi natanyac2021 we are sorry to hear about your recent visit, we have spoken to the site and are looking into your booking to find out how it was not on the system many thanks Anthony

Reviewed 28 November 2020 via mobile

Myself and my family booked a meal to catch up with the current sitation in place. On arriving we were told that we had to check in being that as we were 2 house holds together only the one had to do it as the...one had already done it, but we couldnt use the NHS test and trace app that all other places use. Once seated we were were left for 5 mins to decide on what drinks we all wanted and have a brief look at the menu. Shortly after the waiter arrived back and asked were we ready to firstly order drinks which we did and then he asked if we were ready for our food order, (due to some of the party not visiting during the covid situation then how we ordered etc was explained). After all our food and drink order wask taken which we couldnt fault then slowly went down hill!! On going up to get our salad we were that she didnt have a hair net on even with her hair tied back. Our food arrived soon after, the plates were cold and most of the order was cold apart from the chips. Half was through our meal the waiter came back and checked if the order was ok and before one of our party could say anything he soon walked off to check with another party. Shortly after the waiter returned and we explained that all the plates were cold so which meant that the food was cold. He did offer a bowl of food as a compliment which was turned down as we had already had enough. We asked for the bill and on going to pay we had a 25% off voucher but on it one being scanned it was declined so he asked us to download another one on a different device and register it as someone else but this happened the same. Which is not on as the staff dont even know what deals are on the appMore

Date of visit: November 2020
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Borderer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Apologies for the delay responding to your review. Google placed limitations on their service in response to the Coronavirus situation and temporarily disabled new reviews from being posted. This restriction has now been lifted, so thank you for your feedback.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ibis Budget Newport
746 reviews
.70 km away
Travelodge Newport Central
474 reviews
2.28 km away
Walkabout Hotel Newport
5 reviews
2.32 km away
Gateway Hotel
98 reviews
2.39 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
442 reviews
1.23 km away
Vanilla Spice
480 reviews
1.58 km away
Parc-Y-Prior Inn
532 reviews
.93 km away
Parc Pantry Malpas
270 reviews
.94 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Newport Indoor Market
44 reviews
2.24 km away
The Neon
20 reviews
2.18 km away
Newport Castle
46 reviews
2.08 km away
Savage Adventures
64 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Russell P
26 June 2018|
Response from JER26 | Reviewed this property |
You need to contact the restaurant's management to find official answer to this question.
18 September 2016|
Response from scottcY1440KJ | Reviewed this property |
Low fat doesn't necessarily mean healthy but yes, there is the salad bar with some low calorie sauces. I generally get the grilled chicken which is a healthy option, with dirty rice.
1 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from denalvis | Property representative |
Yes we can accommodate larger groups , we take bookings all day every day . On line bookings can be made for groups of 12 or under . Anything larger than this please call 01633858667 and ask for the duty manager .
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harvester Borderer

Yes, Harvester Borderer offers takeaway services.

Harvester Borderer is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3