We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pumphouse

) #405 of 522 Restaurants in Swansea $$ - $$$ , British,
Pump House Quay | Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 1TT, Wales
+44 1792 651080
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good21%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“fajitas” (4 reviews)
“chilli” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pump House Quay | Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 1TT, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 389 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

The Pumphouse looked extremely inviting for an early lunch on Thursday, June 22nd. Our experience proved to be very different! Staff were incredibly slow in responding to calls for service, although there was lots of flippant banter between them. Our cold platters sat under hot...More

Thank Su B
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

About 11 years ago we made a promise to ourselves never to eat at the Pumphouse again. However it was a warm monday night and not much else was open. We thought we'd only have a snack (nachos and a bowl of chips & 2...More

1  Thank Simon I
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our Easter lunch with family members in April. Very nice location, well cooked food, reasonable prices, the staff was more than helpful. I would definitely recommend this place.

Thank L A
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I liked the interior, it was cozy. We waited too long for food. The burgers came too dry and the side salad was a joke- old salad leaves peaces. Too expensive for that quality of food.More

Thank Lkubanova
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are saddened to hear you had such a disappointing visit here with us, we attempt to deliver the best customer experience and are disappointed to say we failed on this day. We have passed your comments on to the relevant departments and are very...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant was not very busy yet a lot of tables were standing dirty. We had to wait whilst a table was cleaned for us. However it was still very sticky. We ordered small dishes as it was lunchtime, but we had to wait a...More

Thank BonnieSwede
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience here with us, we strive to deliver the best customer service we can and are saddened to hear on this occasion we failed in that. We have passed your comments on to the relevants departments...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a meal and a few drinks Friday night. I had a lamb steak with chips mushrooms and peas. Wife had a burger and chips. Couple of drinks all very good. No complaints. Reasonable price. Good service and an excellent barman. Nice evening would...More

Thank paul h
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us and very much look forward to you returning!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Managed to get a table in the beer garden on a very busy, sunny sunday afternoon. After waiting behind more than a dozen people to get served at the bar unfortunately after 15 mins and no movement in the queue due to limited staff we...More

Thank Tubularbell
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry to hear we were unable too deliver the high quality of service we strive for here at The Pump House, we thank you for your review and will be looking further into the comments made in order to improve our customer experience.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sorry to say meal cold, complained. It was reheated. But the quality was not there, management apologised and offered a complimentary desert, we left disappointedMore

Thank Chas R
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are disappointed to hear you had a bad experience with us here at The Pump House, we have taken your comments and passed them on to the relevant areas of our business. We are very sorry we were unable...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had lunch prior to a visit to the nearby museums. Went for the 2-for-£12 option; I had a bowl of the creamy chicken and bacon tagliatelle. A decent bowlful with plenty of the meats. Needed a little seasoning, but I'd certainly have it again. My...More

Thank Dave M
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I won't be having food here again. At best it was cheap and only ok. My burger was over cooked and dry. Sweet potato fries were well cooked but tepid and my salad was limp. I had lemon posset for dessert which hadn't set and...More

Thank 746diane
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review sorry it was not a good experience with us, all your comments have been taken on board and discussed with the relevant departments and hopefully we can improve on them. Sorry again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gigi Gao's Favourite Authentic Chinese
494 reviews
.21 km away
The Smoke Haus
662 reviews
.30 km away
Jamaican Jill
186 reviews
.24 km away
Jimmy's
321 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oxwich Bay
721 reviews
.29 km away
The LC
1,131 reviews
.22 km away
Swansea Marina
413 reviews
.31 km away
National Waterfront Museum
393 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pumphouse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$27
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pump House Quay | Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 1TT, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Swansea
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 651080
  • E-mail
Description
As a key part of the new marina area of Swansea, and being close by to the SA1 development, we aim to be the ‘community bar’ for everyone in the local area. We are a premium bar with our own style and atmosphere, indulgent premium drinks brands and fantastic food. We also pride ourselves on our range of cask ale, and this combines with our maritime design features to ensure that we keep in touch with our roots. We have a nice upstairs area that can be hired for private use, and our outdoor areas sit right next to the lock gates – a great waterfront location.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing