We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robert Stewarts

149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9030 8807
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

First time in a year for food. Delicious meal, attentive and friendly service and pleasant relaxing atmosphere. Will be back soon. Would highly recommend!More

Thank Ollie23
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Greetings "Ollie23" Obliged it is that we are here at Robert Stewart's on the southern outer reaches of Belfast at the top of the Upper Malone Road in Drumbeg. It is perhaps possible that you may not be aware the existence of our front bar...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called by and we were surprised at the lovely old entrance, an original half door which is accessed from the back car park. . The restaurant is in a separate area from the bar. The service was friendly and pristine. Our food arrived promptly....More

Thank IrishPatMalaga
BobStewartsBelfast, Guest Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Well hello yerself "IrishPatMalaga" Experienced traveller it is surely you are, just written all over ye!!. The big fella with you he was dead on too. Sure "trip" over us again in the not too distant future as you peruse the planet.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time here with my daughter, will definitely be back. Friendly staff , quick service and meal was delicious .

Thank margaretjess7
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Well hello "margaretjess7" Much appreciated your take on things at Bob's-------If memory serves us correctly you were with us on Wednesday past. The only thing left to say is nip in again and sure make yourself known to us. Bye for now. Cheers

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Obviously Royston Vasey is missing a restaurant. Creepy man appeared and was quite challenging. Didn’t even let us know his name. Service was aggressive. Challenged me on my choice of how I wanted my steak cooked. I see why. They can’t do well done. The...More

1  Thank Teraell
BobStewartsBelfast, General Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Messrs Sasummersgill / David H / Teraell lets call them the 3 amigos shall we --as we proffer with candour the following, They have set out on a bludgeoning job of Bob's re their visit on Tuesday night the 30th of January 2018 a day...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited Robert Stewarts yesterday evening with some friends and experienced the worst dining experience of my life. The staff were grumpy and rude with zero customer service skills. 2 of us arrived early and sat down only to be interrupted at our table by...More

1  Thank David H
BobStewartsBelfast, Guest Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Davy H--------------------- !"£$%^&*()_is all that ground control can add to your tirade------ re the unhinged aspect a bridge too far for you old son. Spoken "English" used as a conduit of communication between humans in this neck of the woods goes something like this. "Where...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this restaurant as had been here years before and was always a great place to eat with a friendly staff crew. What a mistake! Food good but spoilt by the waitress who was simply rude. When we asked what the soup was we were...More

3  Thank sasummersgill
BobStewartsBelfast, Owner at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day "sasummersgill" We completely concur with the thrust of your insertion on Tripadvisor. May we request you please to assist us here at Robert Stewart's and by "We" it is meant the proprietor to help identity the offending member of staff. This hopefully shall...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't believe it. My soup was watery.... my knife was too sharp.... my salmon smelt of fish and the food was hot. It was so good I would loved to have brought my wife to show her true service, however I was there with...More

2  Thank Jonny W
BobStewartsBelfast, Guest Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jonny W We have a file on you and another thing married people should be with other married people yea and the pen is mightier than the F 14 person that you is you alchemist you ----- that was the finger bowl not the flippin...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Bobs on New Years Eve for their traditional three course menu which started with a complimentary mulled wine. The food was exceptional,the ambience perfect. The staff were welcoming and Jack excelled himself with his wit and personality- We never go out on the...More

1  Thank maureenBallynahinch
BobStewartsBelfast, other at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wait till we tell you girl we have heard of you from yer man ,so watch it coming in here and being happy. You had better stop that or everybody will want it--- Only kiddin missus. Thank you for the shot in the arm ---It...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This location as excellent food and the setting is rustic. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My teenage son is an exceptionally well behaved young man as is my 6 year old daughter. They know how to act in company and have first class...More

Thank Gerald C
BobStewartsBelfast, Public Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A horse a horse my kingdom for a horse, one of those Homo sapiens exclaimed a clatter of years ago ( well maybe centuries). It is to be appreciated extremely so the positive opinion as expressed by "Gerald C". Of this there shall be no...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

It had been a few months since we were here,but we were not disappointed.Great selection on menu,1st class service and food.Staff and owner were very attentive and pleasant.Highly recommend.More

1  Thank Keith F
BobStewartsBelfast, Owner at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Good day "yerself" Keith F This old month of January as is the norm is a good time to go out and dine --this being the second week in so to speak the chef brigade are calmer hence no excuse for the nosh not being...More

PreviousNext
12345632
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Belfast
Beechlawn House Hotel
274 reviews
2.16 km away
Balmoral Hotel
147 reviews
3.08 km away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
1,688 reviews
3.17 km away
Queen's Elms
35 reviews
5.60 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Tap Room at Hilden Brewery
151 reviews
2.93 km away
Pizza Bellezza
7 reviews
2.20 km away
The Crafty Hound
75 reviews
2.79 km away
Applegreen
75 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Drumbo Park Greyhound Stadium
207 reviews
1.10 km away
Colin Glen Forest Park
69 reviews
4.05 km away
Island Arts Centre
24 reviews
3.97 km away
Castle Gardens
25 reviews
4.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cyril H
I am very fortunate that I live within walking distance from Robert Stewarts or (Bob stewarts pup/restaurant) to locals. I have frequented the 'bar' for more than thirty five years and have many happy memories. Friday night at Bob's was always a meeting place for the chosen few, which always reminded me of the T.V. American comedy 'Cheers'. The stranger that came into the bar, left as a friend. The real locals always sat on their own bar stools or around the same area, so as a so called "blow in" then, I was very careful not to offend. Many of those locals have become life long friends, unfortunately some have departed to a higher level where the SPIRITS are plentiful!! When Jackie Gilmore obtained the then cosy pub no restaurant existed hovever he had the foresight to expanded the building to accommodate the eating area that we can see today. Thank goodness he has still retained the cosy bar where the locals still meet up. Never did I envisage that my "local" would become one of the best eating establishment in Northern Ireland, so you can see why the folk in Drumbeg, Lambeg and Ballyskeagh are so, so fortunate. Thanks Jackie, keep up the good work
23 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Roberta B | Reviewed this property |
What you have described is exactly whay Robert Stewart's has the ambience it holds. I commented on Trip Advisor - urging people to go as the food is delicious & the ambience so lovely & the staff very friendly (making yo... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9030 8807
  • E-mail
Description
ROBERT STEWARTS SPIRIT GROCERS is located on a narrow country road that threads its way out of the leafy glades of south Belfast via the Upper Malone precinct. The road continues onwards in the general direction to the town of Lisburn which in recent years was decreed a CITY. The actual premises is a primarily two zone affair.A public bar of which no decent pub should be devoid of. This coupled to a nooks and crannies lounge bar handsomely ajoined with a slightly more formal dinning facility called the company room.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing