We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Josephine's

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Holburn Street, Aberdeen AB10 6BT, Scotland
+44 1224 590087
Today
17:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 17:00 - 21:00
Tue - Thu 17:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 16:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 221: English reviews
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've been a firm supporter of Josephines for many years and a regular, although visits have decreased with becoming a father. Vikksap reviewed on 12 Feb and unfortunately I was part of the group that needed her table which forced her to be ejected for overrunning her time slot. Guests need to appreciate that a booking is a booking and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrDale
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

If I ran an eating establishment I would be so pleased that people trusted me to feed them and give them a quality dining experience, sadly this notion is lost on a lot of people in this trade. For my wife’s birthday my daughter booked a table for eight people well in advance of our visit on Saturday night. That’s... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank David9456
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The biggest upside to Josephine is the BYOB policy, which doesn't say much about the rest of the restaurant. We have eaten at this establishment multiple times over the years, and although the service remains quite friendly, the food quality seems to have gone down. Some of the tapas are quite greasy and the nice garlic baguette has been replaced... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Toni M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little tapas / byob restaurant that has been around for a long time and very popular in aberdeen particularly for the BYOB. However I shall never return because of the managers behavior. He was aggressive, shouting at us and other customers to hurry up and leave as they were closing, accusing us of being drunk, ( yes we were... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank reviewertriple
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The tapas tasted good but the 'sharing desert' of two profiteroles in a bowl to be shared per pair was a little stingy when paying £25 per head. However, it was the actual service provided made us feel really uncomfortable. Little things like explaining the advertised menu is different for larger groups and what the byo policy is when booking... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank fifilat
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a works night here - a group of around 20. We were seated at 5.45 and were out on the street by 7.15. Decor is stark, bright lights. One toilet which wasn't flushing. Food was ok but very expensive- £25 a head!! It was certainly not worth the price. Being told to leave after just over an hour... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank carolclose_10
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

Every time I have been food has been absolutely class and the atmosphere also brilliant. BYOB is a great side to the restaurant as well. Having been with a groups of mates, my girlfriend and my folks it suits everyone. I also love Barca and The Stone Roses and the place is covered in memorabilia.

Helpful?
Thank Alasdair B
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Visited with a group of friends last night, the food was good, and the service from the waitresses was great. The thing that ruined the evening for us was the manager, who was nothing less than nasty, rude, aggressive and horrible. He was consistent in his stomping around and shouting at the three lovely waitresses the whole time we were... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank Vikkstep
Josephines1018, Guest Relations Manager at Josephine's, responded to this review

Hello Vikkstep! While we regret you didn't enjoy your evening, we must point out that your review distorts the facts of what took place. You were asked to leave by 8pm and 8:05pm was when the manager came down to your table while you were pouring more drinks and kept the next party waiting. If you are unable to abide... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Went for a birthday meal here and we all went for the set menu which is good value! Good helpings of garlic bread and everything I ate was delicious. The chorizo and chicken paella was so tasty and after 3 dishes I was full! The sharing puddings were tasty and light. Great night and lovely staff

Helpful?
Thank MissML2
Josephines1018, Guest Relations Manager at Josephine's, responded to this review

Aw, thank you MissML2!! Lovely to hear you had fun and enjoyed the food. We are looking forward to your next visit! xx More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The food was very very nice, they recommend 3 tapas per person and were very pushy when me and my boyfriend wanted to order less, but I guess it was because the kitchen was closing at 9 and we wouldn't be able to get more food if we weren't full. I do however think that 3 tapas is a bit... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kristinabarwell
Josephines1018, Guest Relations Manager at Josephine's, responded to this review

Hello Kristinabarwell! :) Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Josephines! We are also very happy you liked the food! Sorry to hear you weren't pleased with the waitresses but they are human as well so they need fed. Hope to see you soon xx More 

Travellers who viewed Josephine's also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Josephine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$30
Cuisine
Spanish
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
Saturday
16:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Holburn Street, Aberdeen AB10 6BT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Aberdeen
  • Phone Number: +44 1224 590087
Description
Delicious tapas in a friendly laid back atmosphere. BYOB restaurant. £3 corkage per head.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Josephine's and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Josephine's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?