We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 04/04/2022

Tralee bay Fish and Chips

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Scottish, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
217
37
14
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
217
37
14
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips tartare haggis pizza caravan park chip shop pre ordering cooked fresh another great meal salt and vinegar lovely fish piping hot generous portions chippy benderloch highfield condiments
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 September 2021

We have been to this area before and didn't realise this chip shop was here. We pre ordered on the Friday for the Saturday, saved myself all day for a large fish and chips with tarter sauce and wasn't disappointed my partner got the same....Its was made fresh, the fish was thick, cooked perfectly and overall it was tasty. I also liked that the box separated the fish from the chips so don't get soggy batter under the fish or chips stuck to the fish. The staff were really nice and when we are in the area again we would definitely go back!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely fish and chips, have to pre-order which is fine as long as you get in early to get the slot you want which we always have. Been twice whilst on holiday and the only downfall personally is it seems a little unorganised, the lady...at the front asking if we want salt and vinegar and then the lady at the back shouting the same thing. No one really knowing what order is what other than that it was enjoyable.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 23 September 2021 via mobile

Bizarre. Chips okay; haggis rotten. They insist pre-ordering and seem very scared of humans. Aggressive signs demanding CASH ONLY PRE-ORDER ONLY. And you get your change returned in a box as if you're a leper. Order was wrong: only salt on both meals; asked for...salt and vinegar on one. Strange peopleMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Paul b, Owner at Tralee bay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Thank you for your polite response. Haggis rotten? more like not to your palette, appalling comment. Scared of humans? Yes humans like you who appear not to fully understand or comprehend what has happened worldwide in the last couple of years. Aggressive signs? One sign...More

Reviewed 29 August 2021

Still waiting to be repaid the money owed from the last order, very expensive for what it is. If you are unaware ordering starts from 9 am you will be lucky to get food. Didn't get what we ordered - impossible to complain and was...over charged - still not been given the money back.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?3  
Paul b, Owner at Tralee bay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Hi Pam, No idea about what your going on about saying we owe you money !!!! If you managed to ring up to order your food ..... which you obviously did, why didn’t you mention the fact that we supposedly owe you monies from a...More

Reviewed 21 August 2021

Visited in July 2020 just as the campsite reopened. We ordered ahead (per covid guidelines) Food was delicious and ready exactly when we asked for it to be.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Paul b, Owner at Tralee bay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Thank you for finally taking time to leave a review , ( only 1 year ) , not sure what we would need to do to get the full 5 stars, as reading your review ....... everything was delicious and on time as per your...More

Reviewed 18 August 2021

Seven years on from last enjoying the excellent fish and chips, we were delighted to find that the high standard has been maintained, as has the very friendly service. Just what was needed on a damp evening in our caravan. Many thanks!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Paul b, Owner at Tralee bay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Thank you for leaving us such a nice review, great to see someone appreciates the hard work we put in , hope to see you again on your next visit

Reviewed 15 August 2021

Absolutely the best fish and chips I’ve had in a long time! Love the fact that there’s a separate compartment dividing the beautifully cooked fish, and a perfect amount of great chips. (Not usually a fan of chip shop chips, but these are 1st class!)...Oh and DO NOT miss out on their tartar sauce, it’s phenomenal! Also worth a shout out for their pizzas, freshly made to order and just right! 🙌More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Paul b, Owner at Tralee bay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Thank you for your great review, hope to see you again on your next visit

Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

Literally the best fish n chips I've ever had, quite glad I don't live nearer otherwise I'd be there all the time! Amazing!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Paul b, Owner at Tralee bay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thank you for such a great review for our food, hope to see you again in the future ,

Reviewed 29 July 2021

Bit slow on the prep (had to wait and hour and a half) but the fish and chips were good and the scampi was a winner 🤪More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Paul b, Owner at Tralee bay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Glad you enjoyed your food, but absolutely no idea how or why you’d say we are slow on prep.......... For information. We currently run a pre order service only.....which most customers absolutely love and appreciate.... the reason you had to wait 1.5 hours for your...More

Reviewed 22 June 2021

Due to covid restrictions they have a pre-ordered system in place. We placed order at 17:00 no problem by telephone for 9 people and were given a time slot (19:45 only slot left) to collect although later than we would have liked, I thought was...a great idea, food cooked to order and no wait/queue. Two of us drove from Appin to collect meals arriving at time slot and ended up sitting on wooden benches for over half an hour with four/five other families waiting for orders in front of us, so it kind of defeated purpose of pre-ordering to avoid queues and aid social distancing. Although I will say the Fish & Chips were amazing cooked to perfection one of the best Chippy's I have had, all 9 of of enjoyed our meals I don't think there was any waste !! well worth the drive, would definitely be back for more and would love to try the Pizza's next time. Would have been 5 Stars if timeslots on the pre-order system had worked.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Paul b, Owner at Tralee bay Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thank you for leaving such a good review about the food, however I’m sure if you was waiting over 30 minutes , it was because you arrived earlier than your given time slot, we do sometimes run over by 10 minutes or so, as we...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
765 reviews
3.83 km away
Falls Of Lora
685 reviews
5.49 km away
The Pierhouse Hotel
837 reviews
6.04 km away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
705 reviews
6.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Hawthorn Restaurant
128 reviews
.46 km away
Columba's Bay Diner
28 reviews
4.33 km away
Poppies
865 reviews
5.48 km away
Isle of Lismore Cafe
116 reviews
5.51 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Beinn Lora
6 reviews
2.65 km away
Falls of Lora
255 reviews
5.50 km away
Explore Lismore
56 reviews
6.27 km away
Fly Scenic Scotland
27 reviews
3.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
natanne2512
28 January 2019|
Answer
Response from Paul b | Property representative |
Hi sorry we cannot offer guaranteed gluten free food, due to the limited amount of space, we haven’t got the room for separate equipment to be able to do this,
0
Votes
Joseph M
20 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Paul b | Property representative |
Sorry we are closed until the 9th November
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tralee bay Fish and Chips

Yes, Tralee bay Fish and Chips offers takeaway services.

Tralee bay Fish and Chips is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4