We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

the merlin

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
+44 131 447 4329
Website
Today
10:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my partner went for a meal,on a busy saturday afternoon when the rugby was on,we got served very quickly and the staff were overly helpful,it was nice feeling of a family pub and well organized even though there was lots of screens on with rugby and football too,it was great,and the food was excellent too.i do recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gordonski2
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Hello Thanks for you positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed yourself .We strive to try and cater to a wide audience and Families and kids are always welcome. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I normally go to the Waiting Room but thought I'd go up with a squad to watch 6 nations. It is a good pub don't get me wrong but the food is not great. Don't know where they source their chips from? but they make McCain taste brilliant. Totally tasteless and like a modified version of potato. 6 of us... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheDoc P
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad it was on the whole an enjoyable experience .We do strive to provide a great atmosphere . On the Chip front I have passed this onto our Development chef your comments about the chips and the quality . Again hope to see you soon again at The Merlin.... More 

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled up from South Wales for the Six Nations Clash, stayed in just down from Morningside and this was definitely the place the be. Started on Friday with their Large Traditional Breakfast (and yes it was large), set us up for the day, returned later that evening for a few beverages (as you do). The Staff were very welcoming and... More 

Helpful?
Thank stellaboy2016
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

We are glad you had a great weekend despite the loss to Scotland. We hope to see you again next time you visit Edinburgh . I will be sure to mention your glowing feedback of the staff to them at our next Meeting. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you to Andy for helping me out with lending a charger - despite it being a massive Rugby 6 Nations weekend. The staff are brilliant at making all the customers feel welcome and create a loyalty. Credit to the crew

Helpful?
Thank Abigail R
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the glowing review. I agree 100% the staff make the business and they do try to make everyone feel welcome and have a good time. I will be sure to show the staff this feedback at our next meeting in a few weeks. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

Was not the cleanest of places but worse was to come I ordered a Chicken Cesar Salad when it arrived the soup plate looked liked it was meant for a lily pond with little gem lettuce leaves. The chicken was in cubes the same size as the croutons very few and the cesar sauce tasted like vinegar with a hint... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeggyCumming
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

I'm sorry the Meal was not up to the standards we strive for with our food quality . I have passed your feedback on to the Kitchen Manager for him to brief the team at their next meeting . More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

I visited the Merlin twice over the festive period. Both dining experiences were ok. On both visits the tables were dirty and needing cleared. When placing our order at the bar, I mentioned that my table needed cleared. This was taken personally by the server and excuses on how busy they had been etc this made me feel slightly uncomfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank caggieking
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and give us your feedback .We where indeed busy during the festive period and tried to always be on top of things. Indeed this is not your problem and it should of be simply met with an apology and we will get it cleaned straight away . I'm glad you enjoyed your... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Came here with a few friends to watch the football a night midweek. Decent prices for drinks and a good atmosphere. Had food once before and it was adequately priced and of good quality. Will be back

Helpful?
Thank DGeezyFam
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

We are glad you had a good time. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Went here for a bit of lunch, with colleagues from work. Service was good, but the food was very poor. Baked potato with Cajun chicken, a couple of bits of chicken, very poor. Would not recommend this place for food. Staff are nice, but the food.........???.

Helpful?
Thank gus m
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback . We Strive to provide good value for money but generous portions so it is disappointing we didn't fulfil and meet the expectation that you deserve as a guest at The Merlin. More 

scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

Popped in for lunch , served immediately by pleasant smiling female bar staff. Fish & chips , nachos to share arrived about 15 minutes afterwards. Food was absolutely fine no complaints whatsoever, would return if back in area.

Helpful?
Thank jay87
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback .I will be sure to pass this positive feedback on to the staff at the next meeting . More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

We booked a table to enjoy a family meal, my 10 year old ordered the over 8 meatballs. Smallest portion in the world?! My chips were cold but ate them anyway as didn't want to make a fuss. The waitress cleared the table and dropped stuff off the plates onto the floor, she wasn't going to pick it up so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith L
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this review

Hello , Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback although disappointing it is that you had such a poor experience. I believe I know who served you and who was on duty as I was told about it the next day by a member of staff. I can only apologies for the experience you had and... More 

Travellers who viewed the merlin also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to the merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 447 4329
Description
We are a pub that service good quality pub grub cooked from Fresh . We have ample seating and show sports regularly on our 5 screens.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the merlin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?