We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

the merlin

#1,281 of 1,874 Restaurants in Edinburgh}
$$ - $$$, British,
168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
+44 131 447 4329
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good31%
  • Average22%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“rump steak” (4 reviews)
“pub grub” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 204 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Ate there today on Sunday, lovely, fresh, scottish food, great atmosphere and excellent customer service, will visit again

Thank l0lakarla
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Met some friends for food, beer and rugby, and couldn’t have asked for more. Food was excellent (the fish and chips are ma-hoo-sive) and the beer was great. Helps that the home team won the rugby so convincingly, which also meant that as long as...More

Thank 656jaq
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm glad you had a great time at The Merlin. The Fish and Chips is one of our most popular dishes and the size of it is indeed very generous. The Free Pint if Scotland wins has been getting used quiet regularily recently with the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walked in here on 23rd Nov 2016 on return to Edinburgh after living out of town for 13yrs. Been back a few times since, however went exactly a year to the day on our first anniversary tonight to be met with the same friendly atmosphere...More

Thank clarky6662017
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the kind positive comments . I will be sure to pass on your compliments to Jamie and Mark. Again I'm happy you had a lovely experience and Happy Anniversary.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've used the function rooms upstairs for over a year now where we deliver Hospitality training. We're always well looked after and the team are very flexible. Many thanks to Chris and his team for supporting what we do.

Thank Stewart F
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your positive comments and you are always welcome .We are always happy to help you with a venue to supply your training course.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Writing late here. I have visited this restaurant a fair few times over the years, and I have never left a review. I don't know why, but it's easier for someone to leave a negative comment on sites such as this rather than trying to...More

Thank GiannaDiM
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello , Thank you very much for your kind words. I will be sure to pass this onto my team.They do a fantastic job for me and are what makes The Merlin a great place.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here today and had to review! Warm, filling and delicious food. Service was fantastic and done with a smile... my waitress was polite and happy to help. Her name was Tanya if I remember correctly. Will definitely be recommending The Merlin.

Thank shizergizer
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much . I will be sure to pass on the comments to Tanya and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was in the Merlin with my daughter on Friday evening 3rd November for a pre- theatre meal, I was flabbergasted at the quality of the meal we received I had macaroni with garlic bread but the garlic bread was cold! My daughter had balmoral...More

Thank Maz2012
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, It is very disappointing to hear that you had a poor experience and the issues you had with the food weren't rectified on the evening. I can assure you this is not what we strive to for and isn't the norm. I would firstly...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Was at the Merlin recently for a function. Venue is pretty tired and the toilets were not clean and a bit smelly. I always think that you can judge a place by how clean the toilets are kept. Aside from that, the staff were unable...More

1  Thank esme199
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hello, It's very disappointing to read your comment as we pride ourselves on delivering great service especially for a private function. I would like to get some more information as to which function it was and the date so I can follow up with my...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Great pub serving traditional pub meals , good selection of everything at great prices , didnt need to book although quite a few in when we went ample room , nothing fancy just good filling food , would go again

Thank MikeandCaroline
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and I'm glad you had a lovely meal .I will pass this onto our Chefs and mention this in our next Staff meeting.

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We live locally and used to visit here regularly but it has been going downhill fast in the past year or so. We were in a few weeks ago for food & drinks - I had the scampi which consisted of 5 tiny pieces of...More

1  Thank evie62
GeneralManagerChris, General Manager at the merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello, It's really disappointing to read your review Firstly on the food front as we have worked really hard to get our consistency right . I will take this away and feed this back to the team and at our Managers meeting . On the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nonna's Kitchen
610 reviews
.32 km away
Roundsquare Roastery Coffee House
21 reviews
.15 km away
The Canny Man's
317 reviews
.19 km away
Maison Bleue le Bistrot
97 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Hermitage of Braid and Blackford Hill Local Nature Reserve
41 reviews
1.01 km away
Church Hill Theatre
14 reviews
.40 km away
Wild West Cowboy Street
21 reviews
.10 km away
Dominion Cinema
308 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from the merlin staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 168 Morningside Road | Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH10 4PU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 447 4329
  • E-mail
Description
We are a pub that service good quality pub grub cooked from Fresh . We have ample seating and show sports regularly on our 5 screens.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing