We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Three Sisters

$$ - $$$, ,
139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
+44 131 622 6802
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good33%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (9 reviews)
“haggis” (8 reviews)
Open Now
Bar, Pub, Scottish, British, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We wanted to go to a nice place to drink and dance on St Patricks, and cowgate is one of our favourite areas for this. We decided to go to 3 sisters, especially because it had free entry. It was such a joyful atmosphere. People...More

Thank Mjos123
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I often visited the three sisters and brought friends along too. On my last couple of visits it was obvious that the toilets do not get cleaned at all during busy periods. There was a smell of vomit and no toilet paper. The floor was...More

Thank Lisa T
64manager, Manager at The Three Sisters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Lisa, We are sorry to hear this we do have a toilet check system in place to try ensure they are in a suitable condition for our customers. We apologise if this procedure has not been followed during your visits we will speak with...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Massive popular sports bar with screens inside and outside , catering for big groups . Not the cheapest of bars but makes up with the screens and lively atmosphere all through the day and night .

Thank Strawy123
64manager, Manager at The Three Sisters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a student and as part of my university course, I had to put on an event. We chose The Three Sisters as our venue. This was a bad mistake. I am very disappointed, my team and I had put a lot of effort...More

Thank Heloisa F
venue_manager70, General Manager at The Three Sisters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Heloisa, Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience here in The Three Sisters during and before your event. I am extremely concerned how you were treated during the event and that no manager would help you to fix the problem. It is always...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I met a few of the bar staff on a night out and honestly, being stuck in Edinburgh without knowing anyone was horrible but these guys were very friendly and I’d honestly go to this bar just for the staff - good guys. The bar...More

Thank travellingjacko
64manager, Manager at The Three Sisters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jacko, Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review and we are really happy to hear you made friends with some of our staff. Hopefully you can back over and visit them again. Thanks, Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am disgusted at what my brother in law has just informed me of. He has a table booked for tomorrow 03/03/2018 for 18 people and coming from Manchester is clearly upset that he can not travel due to adverse weather conditions. The train and...More

Thank Lisa D
64manager, Manager at The Three Sisters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lisa, Thank you for the feedback. The party has paid £367.50 and were informed on booking that all payments are non-refundable. This matter has been discussed with the management team and the party involved. The party are welcome to contact us directly if they...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went there right after the rugby game. The place was packed, everyone was (obviously) celebrating Scotland's victory and they seemed to have fun. Great place for dancing and drinking.

Thank Μαρία Κ
64manager, Manager at The Three Sisters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Thanks, Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here to watch the Rugby paid £50.00 deposit for a table, upstairs in dreary cavern type room. The staff were all great and I don’t blame them at all, waited hours for food, (were warned). This so called food was deep fried chicken of...More

Thank Stephen A
64manager, Manager at The Three Sisters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Stephen, We are sorry to hear that your visit with us was not as you or ourselves would have wanted. If you wish to discuss this further please contact us on 0131 622 6802 Thanks, Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here to see my brother and his friends who were over to visit for the weekend. Found it very affordable for an Edinburgh pub. (BRING YOUR COLLEGE ID IF YOU HAVE ONE!) We got a lovely, affordable bottle of wine here, which was a...More

Thank fulltimetravelercpl
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a brilliant 6 nations day/night at The 3 Sisters with 6 die hard English rugby players. What a place, especially when Scotland pull off home win against the "Auld enemy" the place was absolutely rocking with overexcited and vocal Scotsmen. Despite England losing, the...More

Thank matthewharris2016
64manager, Manager at The Three Sisters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Matthew, Great to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere but sorry about the loss. You'll need to come watch your boys play better next time! Thanks, Management

Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
Nearby HotelsSee all 151 hotels in Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel
1,663 reviews
.04 km away
Radisson Collection Hotel Royal Mile Edinburgh
2,998 reviews
.17 km away
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
2,549 reviews
.20 km away
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
2,368 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Michael Neave's Kitchen and Whisky Bar
997 reviews
.10 km away
Divino Enoteca
863 reviews
.14 km away
310 reviews
.04 km away
Vittoria On The Bridge
1,985 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Museum of Scotland
15,907 reviews
.13 km away
National Library of Scotland
137 reviews
.12 km away
Parliament House
37 reviews
.10 km away
Adam Smith Statue
25 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Katie N
5 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 64manager | Property representative |
Hi Katie, unfortunately we do not.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$25
Bar, Pub, Scottish, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Old Town
  • Neighbourhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 622 6802
  • E-mail
Weekly line up at The Three Sisters Edinburgh MONDAY- Cocktail Night! TUESDAY- The Bad Boy Pub Quiz from 10pm. Lots of rizes to be won including free half time curry! WEDNESDAY- Football Night. Enjoy all the action in Edinburgh's favourite sports bar! THURSDAY- Karaoke! Every Thursday from 10pm FRIDAY/ SATURDAY - Weekend events including BBQ, DJ sets, karaoke, cocktail masterclasses, full sports coverage. Available for Stag and Hen parties, can you defeat the man plank!? Table bookings available! SUNDAY- The Hangover Lounge. Open from 7am
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Looking for a great restaurant?
Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor