We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Merchant

97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
+44 141 553 1577
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (92 reviews)
“seafood” (70 reviews)
“venison” (49 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 937 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

One of many restaurants in the Candleriggs area well worth a visit. Known for their Super fresh west coast mussels, fresh cooked soups and the generally excellent specials, on their reasonably priced menu. We tried the special rainbow trout on this occasion, cooked to perfection...More

Thank Iain B
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Bought a deal for a seafood platter for 2 and booked for lunch very much looking forward to a seafood delight! The restaurant was freezing...of the few tables that were occupied most people had jackets / cardigans/ gilets on whilst eating. We were given a...More

Thank 77sorrento
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I asked for lobster and the uninterested waiter said they had run out, he comes back 5 mins later and says they had on for a surf n turf but the order got cancelled, I said ok that’s fine, 30mins later it came to the...More

Thank john s
Reviewed 6 days ago

Nice restaurant in the Merchant City district. I had a steak collops dish with a haggis bonbon sat on a bed of mashed potato with broccoli and a jus. The steak, jus and haggis were both very good, unfortunately the broccoli was very overcooked and...More

Thank Glen C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took some customers here last night, excellent food, good service and a relaxed/comfortable atmosphere. Salmon and haggis starters were particularly good, the seafood bowl was first class as was the venison. Chessboard also very good. Really a very enjoyable place where the good company was...More

Thank simonpcarin
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very enjoyable early Saturday evening meal here sitting on the balcony seating area and had 2 bottles of reasonably priced white wine and there was plenty of variety of choices of starters and main courses with lots of Scottish seafood to choose...More

Thank David H
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much David for your lovely review. I am so glad you had a lovely experience here at City Merchant. I actually like that seating area too. Thanks for taking the time to visit trip advisor and to speak so highly of our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have used this restaurant on numerous occasions, ever since Tony Matteo owned it many years ago now. My wife and I got a 5pm voucher for a change, and decided to use it last night. We both had the Cullen Skink soup, which was...More

2  Thank cwy2402
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am extremely disappointed in your review. I have taken this directly to the owner as I would have expected so much more from our staff. Please accept my apologies and guarantee this will be taken further internally as we have not had any complaints...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful food, wide exciting menu, but fish and seafood at a very high level. Attentive staff and all the customers smiling as they ate their food. The Staff are all hard working and well trained ably watched over by Maria the owner. Have a look...More

Thank BLEGlasgow
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a lovely review! Its nice to see that you understand we are not FAST service and not FAST FOOD..... We take care and pride ourselves in beautiful fresh food - which can sometimes take a little time to prepare and perfect. Thank you! The...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my first visit. Lunch with four friends. Our choices were varied and everything we ate was delicious, and would have earned the restaurant five stars had it not been for the poor service. Mistakes made with orders or not delivered at all (admittedly...More

Thank Pat N
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am so sorry you were not happy! I will check to see who was your server at that time. This is not acceptable and I would have been rather disappointed too! I am glad you enjoyed our food however we aim for the whole...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yesterday, we were five ladies who lunch, and what a lunch it was. We mixed and matched some from the set lunch menu - a bargain at under £13 - and some from a la carte with a smidgen of oysters cheeseboard and desserts thrown...More

Thank miss_celie
Maria N, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Awww thank you for such a nice review. It sounds as though you had a lovely time. Nothing better than a long lazy afternoon with the girls! We aim to please and we are so happy your experience was enjoyable. We hope to welcome you...More

PreviousNext
12345694
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 93 hotels in Glasgow
Brunswick Hotel
477 reviews
.12 km away
Babbity Bowster
134 reviews
.16 km away
Rab Ha's Hotel
8 reviews
.18 km away
Fraser Suites Glasgow
1,126 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Qua
1,644 reviews
.10 km away
Koolba
1,627 reviews
.02 km away
The Wilson Street Pantry
212 reviews
.08 km away
Cafe Gandolfi
1,148 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glasgow Police Museum
305 reviews
.10 km away
Merchant City
680 reviews
.07 km away
Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre
293 reviews
.22 km away
Escape Reality
384 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
0123bettyboo
9 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from SATraveller07 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I think that would be ok. They always offer both menus on arrival.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$48
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 553 1577
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing