We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pancake Place

$$ - $$$
British, Scottish, Cafe
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
108 High Street, Elgin IV30 1BW, Scotland
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are very nice nothing is to much for them, the food is very good too and its not just pancakes they do and there milkshakes are out of this world

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went into the restaurant at 4.15pm yesterday as not one member of staff was about to seat us we waited 15 mins and still no one was about so we left the restaurant. I was very disappointed that I had travelled from Inverness to Elgin to go to your restaurant and not one member of staff about.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
Buckie, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Went with a friend, we were greeted by a nice young waitress who seated us in a booth near the front of the restaurant. Our order was taken quickly but found it was quite a wait for the food to come, and when it did one dish was cold and the other was tasteless. Having found the food unsatisfactory, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rm1459
Paul M, General Manager at The Pancake Place, responded to this review

Without knowing what you ordered it is difficult to investigate the quality of the food you received but I am glad that you found our staff member attentive, even if you didn't feel the manager on duty took your complaint as seriously. We do acknowledge that mistakes can be made but we do try to provide good tasty homemade food... More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

I took my wife and 3 small children here for a family treat. The kids really enjoyed the pancakes and the milkshakes. The staff were very friendly and the service was good. We've been here before and will be back. It is located on the high street near the St Giles centre. It has high chairs available and the disabled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clement C
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

The menu at the pancake place is very good and based on price I think it is quite reasonable hence why I have given 2 stars instead of just the one! I visited on two occasions over the past few months, I like to give places the benefit of the doubt if the overall experience wasn't completely terrible! I visited... More 

Helpful?
Thank RNM1985
Paul M, General Manager at The Pancake Place, responded to this review

Mmmm, sweetcorn in Scotch Broth that's a new one on me as well, I spoke to the manager about it and she couldn't recall seeing that either so perhaps one of the kitchen staff got over-creative on her day off. We normally get rave reviews for our homemade soups so that is a sore one. As for staff gossiping that's... More 

Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

Visited with family and stood for over 10 minutes while a young girl cleaned a table never acknowledged us or apologised for our wait. Another staff member came out and apologised and said they where really busy however there were plenty of empty seats. Finally got seated to be told our food order would be a while as the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliemcgrath85
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Went for breakfast of four items - took a long time to come - didn't seem that busy. When the breakfast did come it didn't look too brilliant - was hungry so eat it. Went to pay and she tried to over charge me, she asked if everything was ok - just remarked very slow. Need to speed up on... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19angelagray
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Came here with my two children as we love pancakes and the name sounds very promising, and on walking in I should have known better as the waitress that served us was very dour faced & unfriendly and the decor inside was tired. Anyway we went on and ordered our food, kids had a sort of make up your own... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

We enjoyed our visit. Were seated quickly and the booth seating although looking a little dated was comfortable. Maybe a touch up of the existing chairs and tables could be done but I'd not suggest swapping out for chairs. They don't make it easy to find a menu online in advance of going but the menu is availible outside and... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidMacarthur
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Soup of the day was tomato.tasted horrible.very over priced.£3.50.medium fresh orange £2.50.tasted as if it was from a cheap carton from a supermarket.just a few other costemers in,service is very slow.almost ended up walking out.only came here cos its sunday and most other places were closed.but would not recommend or come back

Helpful?
1 Thank steven6765

Travellers who viewed The Pancake Place also viewed

 

Been to The Pancake Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Scottish, Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 108 High Street, Elgin IV30 1BW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Elgin

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pancake Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?