We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clipper

3 High Street, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1LF, Scotland
+44 1389 731981
Website
Share
Save
All photos (33)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good34%
  • Average20%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (17 reviews)
“cheesecake” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 High Street, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1LF, Scotland
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Clipper
1. Great Food and Service
"Staff very nice service good and food quality"
THERESA C
See reviews that mention Great Food and Service
2. Lunch and Dinner options
"Popped in for a quick lunch, food was tasty and quick to arrive."
Danny W
See reviews that mention Lunch and Dinner options
3. Family Friendly
"relaxing meal and we all enjoyed our food and the service provided"
shemniman
See reviews that mention Family Friendly
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just moved to Dumbarton, good atmosphere, quiz night good. What lets the pub down is the price of beer. Weatherspoons next door far cheaper.

Thank Philip M
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Staff very nice service good and food quality good council and NHS staff receive a discount large fire in the centre and various types of seating booths and tables nice glass conservatory at the side toilets spotless.More

Thank THERESA C
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi Theresa, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're delighted to receive 5-stars. We're pleased you enjoyed your with us. We'll be sure to let all the staff know and that their hard work isn't going unnoticed. Thanks again and...More

Reviewed 2 May 2018

came in for a bite and some drinks. we had the skewers and the soup, followed by 2 of the new Macaroni's. the new crumble on top is excellent and good portion sizes. delighted to see staropramen on draught one of my favourites and the...More

2  Thank thereddiamond
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media & Marketing Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Thanks for your review. Very glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and it's always nice to know we stock our customer's favourite drinks. Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Thanks Ross

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Popped in for dinner with some friends after a recommendation. I ordered the Salt and Pepper Chicken which was not bad but didn’t wow. What was disappointing was the lipstick residue on the rim of my glass, combined with the mouldy toilet roll in the...More

1  Thank Michael M
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Michael, Thank you for posting your feedback. We are disappointed that our venue was not up to standard for your visit, and although we had just came off a very busy week and weekend, your time at The Clipper should not have been affected...More

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

I visited with a large family group. I will start by saying that the food was great, well presented and delicious. Unfortunately the service was poor. After a long wait we were finally asked for our drinks order, by that time we had all chosen...More

Thank csdonaldson
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Hi csdonaldson, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're really pleased you enjoyed the food you had here at The Clipper. In terms of the service, we're sorry to hear about this. Do you mind sending us an email to...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Was in last night with my good lady, a few over priced vodka and lemonades and an empty bar at 7.30 pm,, we decided to get food at that time in the empty bar only to be told that the kitchen was to busy to...More

2  Thank Evan M
CLGSocialMedia, other at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Evan, Thank you for getting in touch and providing us your feedback. We're sorry your visit to The Clipper was not positive. Would you be willing to send us an email and we can look to resolve this with you? You can reach us...More

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

My wife has a lot of allergies and it can be difficult finding a place to cater to her needs. Can't praise the staff enough. Spoke to the chefs and created a dish suitable to her needs. Will definitely be backMore

Thank TimesUpM8
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Hi TimesUpM8, Thank you for leaving a review and we're really pleased we were able to accommodate you and your wife. We work hard to try and provide the best service possible, so it's good to know that work is paying off. We'll be sure...More

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch, food was tasty and quick to arrive. Waitress persuaded us to have cheesecake desserts - it was amazing and we took two extra portions home for later! 10/10 for your puddings and the pub is nice too!More

Thank Danny W
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi Danny, Thanks for giving us 5-stars, it's much appreciated. We're really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and the cheesecake is always a big favourite around these parts. We don't blame you for taking a few portions home! Thanks again Danny and we...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Catch up with the girls. It was a quiet night and early but on such a cold night the heat was on and the staff super friendly. Menu was basic but comprehensive and all we ordered was well cooked and very tasty. Have been here...More

Thank BAnnW1
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi BAnnW1, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us here at The Clipper. In terms of the menu, we're glad it was comprehensive but apologies you found it basic. If you...More

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of visiting this restaurant for a family meal. I had the steak pie which was delicious. We were looked after by our waitress called Nicola who was very friendly and helpful, it was a nice relaxing meal and we all...More

Thank shemniman
CLGSocialMedia, Social Media Manager at The Clipper, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Shemniman, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're delighted to receive 5-stars. We're pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and the steak pie is a great choice! We'll also be sure to let Nicola know about the service...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Dumbarton
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
738 reviews
1.59 km away
The Abbotsford Hotel
220 reviews
1.67 km away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
423 reviews
1.96 km away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
245 reviews
3.00 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Dining Room
118 reviews
.53 km away
The Glencairn Lounge
314 reviews
.36 km away
Bollywood Lounge
75 reviews
.12 km away
Grill on the Bridge
43 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scottish Maritime Museum, Dumbarton
209 reviews
.09 km away
Dumbarton Castle
391 reviews
.89 km away
River City Set Tour
55 reviews
1.16 km away
Stags Head
20 reviews
.95 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Clipper staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 High Street, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 1LF, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park  >  West Dunbartonshire  >  Dumbarton
  • Phone Number: +44 1389 731981
  • E-mail
Description
We are a Dumbarton City Centre Restaurant and Bar at 3 High Street, G82 1LW. Whether you're wanting to sit and have a meal in our fabulous restaurant area, to come in for a refreshing pint or gorgeous cocktail, or to watch the sports on our numerous screens, The Clipper offers it all! We also have a variety of options for all occasions and events from table packages to venue hire. Whatever it is, The Clipper can make it special! Twitter: The_Clipper_ Instagram: theclipperdumbarton Food is available from 12:00 to 21:00 every day of the week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;