We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$35
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
120
26
12
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
120
26
12
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cajun chicken wrap duck crab pot beans eggs benedict prawns the forster court hotel food platters graduation dinner hen party food was absolutely amazing cocktail menu service was a bit slow drink order super tasty visiting galway
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very slow service ordered coffees when we arrived, asked for them again 15 minutes later and was told we “ should’ve reminded me “ ordered brunch which took 30 Minutes to arrive , then tried and failed to get someone’s attention to ask for cutlery....We robbed some off a nearby table as brunch was getting cold(er). Very poorly managed waiting system / pay system all handled at one till and only that one staff member seems to be allowed seat people and take payments , she may have been a manger but did not manage anything very well. People were not keeping a safe distance and were herded into a bottleneck at the front door , did not feel COVID safe . Food was adequate but won’t return due to serviceMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Duty Manager, Duty Manager at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Martha E, Many thanks for your recent feedback - We really appreciate you taking the time. All customer feedback is valued, both negative and positive, so that we can learn how to make our service more enjoyable for our guests. Our customers are always...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is simply amazing! Loved every part of it. The big problem that the restaurant has is the service!!! We ordered 2 starters and 2 mains and 2 drinks. Drinks arrived when the starters were almost finished and the restaurant wasn’t busy at all....The plates of the starters stayed empty on the table for 10 minutes. When the girl came and picked them up she didn’t ask if we wanted something else to drink. We wanted to enjoy a good glass of wine while we were eating the mains. The mains arrived and the glasses of the cocktail were empty but the girls that were working that night never came in our area to make sure that everything was ok. We finished the mains and the plates were empty on the table for 15 minutes. Finally one of the girl came to pick up the empty plates and we had to ask for the dessert!!!! My boyfriend ordered a digestive and the girl didn’t know what he was talking about.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Duty Manager, Duty Manager at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Betty8917, I would like to thank you for your review of your visit to Hyde. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not an exceptional one. We take our customer feedback seriously, we use it to maintain and continually improve our standards;...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly we were seated by the staff at a table of their choosing. Then they wanted us to move just after dinner because “there are just two of us”. We say we are leaving in 5 minutes. Then even after we paid the check they...again to ask us to move. And this last time it was 20 Minutes before our reservation said we needed to give the table back. Both times it was not our table server that asked us to move. Will not be going again. They have a good selection of wine by the glass and a great selection of Gins. The food is decent pub grub but very expensive for the very standard fare you get.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Duty Manager, Duty Manager at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Rtyped, I am very sorry to read that you were so unhappy with your recent visit with us for the reasons you have addressed in your review. Your experience would certainly not be the usual experience of our Guests and I wish to thank...More

Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

Ate here on a Wednesday evening. Food was tasty and offered a nice alternative to the mostly ‘pub grub’ on offer in Galway city. Good food & drink and would definitely return.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Duty Manager, Other at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jack_Nap91 Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Hyde. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit, We hope to welcome you back to Hyde Bar soon! Cheers, Team Hyde

Reviewed 13 September 2021

We have been here a few times recently and the service was really excellent. Thanks especially to Elaine, Ciara and Adrian, we will be back again.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Duty Manager, Other at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Champer13 Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Hyde. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and found a friendly atmosphere in our bar. We will pass on your kind words to the staff, We pride ourselves...More

Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely venue for a night out if you like gin & cocktails, all covid guidelines followed, the food however is a different story. All three pieces of chicken in the curry had been cooked in a jar of curry sauce, no flavour & not cooked...from fresh, the rice was also over cooked & the big portion size was used as a distraction from the tiny amount of jar cooked curry on the plate. The poppadoms soggy also. Save your money & go eat elsewhere.More

Helpful?1  
Reviewed 23 August 2021

We dined here on a Saturday to celebrate a Birthday. First off our booking could not be found and eventually we were guided to our table. We noted that it was us who suggested the Manager should look at our Covid Certs no ID's were...asked for. We did not feel we were off to the best start!!! The food we felt was just average. We had the Full Grill and the EggsRoyal. Our request for Tea for 2 must be a most irregular one as it took a full 20 mins to arrive and we had to make several requests for same. Shortly after the said tea did arrive another pot arrived!!! Obviously some mixed messages. We felt we would have done better if we had ordered a Gin!!!! However as both of us were driving that was not an option. All in all a uninspiring visit and we both felt we would not return. Having said all that the place was booked out and there seemed to be many very happy patrons.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Duty Manager, Duty Manager at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Dear dsrob26 I would like to thank you for your review of your visit to Hyde. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not an exceptional one. We take our customer feedback seriously, we use it to maintain and continually improve our standards;...More

Reviewed 16 August 2021

Thought it would improve but seems staff are avoiding tables and scared to ask if ppl want anything else. On friday i observed 3 tables very angry over been left and not returned too. Need start lookin after ppl not just henpartys in for a...ginfest.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Duty Manager, Duty Manager at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Dear Travjoe, I’m very disappointed to hear you had an unpleasant experience that fell below our usual high standard at Hyde Bar. I sincerely apologise, we always strive to give our guests the best possible service and create a friendly atmosphere for everyone. We appreciate...More

Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Came here last year and had a terrible experience with rude unprofessional staff. Decided to give it a 2nd chance to to assess if it was a one experience. Sadly nothing has changed. Drinks and food were late coming and the quality was simply not...up to scratch, staff just as bad one year later. Will never return, avoid this place.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Duty Manager, Duty Manager at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Dear Damien O I’m very disappointed to hear you had an unpleasant experience that fell below our usual high standard at Hyde Bar. I sincerely apologise, we always strive to give our guests the best possible service and create a friendly atmosphere for everyone. We...More

Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Myself and my husband had dinner and drinks in the hyde. It was excellent. Service was top notch and our waitress ciara couldn't do enough for us. She was lovely. The food was gorgeous. We had wine, gins and cocktails and the choice on the...menu was amazing. Spoilt for choice. We had a lovely night and we will 100% be back when we are in galway again. It came highly recommended to us and it did not disappoint. 10/10More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Duty Manager, Duty Manager at Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Hyde. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our cocktails & food and found a friendly atmosphere in our bar. We pride ourselves in always putting our guests first and that, through friendly...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Forster Court Hotel
816 reviews
.01 km away
Park House Hotel
3,390 reviews
.05 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
922 reviews
.09 km away
Great Western House
2 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Esquires Coffee (Galway)
483 reviews
.14 km away
Jungle Cafe Galway
313 reviews
.02 km away
Loam
323 reviews
.13 km away
Park House Restaurant
482 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aran Island Ferries
1,004 reviews
.05 km away
The Fountain
29 reviews
.13 km away
Galway Discover Ireland Centre
9 reviews
.12 km away
Rabbitt's
9 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mairona F
27 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jetsetterhk45 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry no idea.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour

Hyde Bar & Gin Parlour is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5