We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portfinn Lodge - CLOSED

Clifden Road | Leenane, Galway, Ireland
+353 95 42265
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good31%
  • Average4%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
29 Jul 2015
“Great food, fantastic views and the friendliest staff....”
30 Jun 2015
“Great welcome and good value food with a stunning view”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Clifden Road | Leenane, Galway, Ireland
All Details
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2015

The Portfinn has long been a favourite and we were long overdue a trip back there. Our party consisted of a range of tastes and ages, from my granddaughter through to my fussy old dad! The staff were fantastic... Friendly and engaging without a trace...More

Thank timwood2015
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Delighted to hear that you came back for another visit & weren't disappointed. Hopefully we will see you again soon

Reviewed 1 July 2015

We stopped for dinner on a Tuesday night in mid June without a reservation. The warm greeting got things off to a good start. The mussels were delicious as was the salmon. I had the calamari & black spaghetti which was nice but wish I'd...More

Thank drawoha
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on our restaurant. Delighted you enjoyed the meal & we will pass on your feedback including your disappointment with the Sorbet

Reviewed 19 June 2015

We stayed here several years ago and liked it so much that we returned there this year. It is under new management. Our room was very clean but also very small. We had to ask for a portable heater since the radiator didn't work. Breakfast...More

Thank emeraldisle45
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We take on board your points & will work to keep improving what we have to offer. Hopefully when you return next time you will see an improvement.

Reviewed 3 June 2015

I am a semi-regular visitor to Connemara and ate at Portfinn recently with some friends while visiting on a walking holiday. The food was absolutely amazing - the Killary mussels I had were the most delicious mussels I have ever eaten! (we were informed afterwards...More

1  Thank irishmountaingoat
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Delighted you enjoyed your meal with us! The chef is new this year so great to hear they are doing a good job!

Reviewed 3 June 2015

I had dinner in the Portfinn restaurant over the June bank holiday - both service and food were exceptional. I can be very picky when eating out - I dislike when chefs take shortcuts with shop bought produce, and I want something special I could...More

1  Thank mcmackic
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us so much! Hope to see you again

Reviewed 1 June 2015

May 31st 2015 We spent a great evening in this lovely restaurant which had spectacular views of the fiord combined with a beautiful turf fire. The food was amazing, and was made with locally sourced fresh ingredients including local seafood caught in the Fiord, The...More

1  Thank Anna M
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Delighed you enjoyed the experience. We make a huge effort to use local produce so great to hear that people are enjoying it.

Reviewed 25 May 2015

the interior screams for update. The sofa in the lounge is completely sagged. You sit on coils, really. The carpet in the hallway is thread bare and dirty. The bathroom needs better lighting. We were not pleased. Yet, service was good.

Thank hisakyuu
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We will take all your points on board & work to improve on them.

Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Had dinner here last night with my mum, dad and fiancé. There is no other word but amazing! From the first minute we walked in the staff were great, friendly and very attentive. The food was top class. I had Brie and then the seafood...More

Thank Ruth G
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We changed our chef this year so it is great to hear that they are doing a good job! See you again soon

Reviewed 16 September 2014

stayed at the B&B for 2 nights. on arrival the exterior looked to be let go.Room was old fashioned and could do with being modernized.Bed was comfortable. However the bathroom is out dated and the curtain rail should be floor length. Breakfast the next morning...More

Thank maura h
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Alex (after a long captain's day on the Connemara Lady) and the rest of the staff made our few hours in this beautifully situated restaurant a really pleasurable experience. The food was simply brilliant and the service could not have been better.

1  Thank sangcailloux
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Clifden Road | Leenane, Galway, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Galway  >  Galway
  • Phone Number: +353 95 42265
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing