We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Portfinn Lodge

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Clifden Road | Leenane, Galway, Ireland
+353 95 42265
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Leenane, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2015

The Portfinn has long been a favourite and we were long overdue a trip back there. Our party consisted of a range of tastes and ages, from my granddaughter through to my fussy old dad! The staff were fantastic... Friendly and engaging without a trace of falseness. The surroundings are gorgeous with sweeping views of the Killary and the village... More 

Helpful?
Thank timwood2015
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you came back for another visit & weren't disappointed. Hopefully we will see you again soon More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2015

We stopped for dinner on a Tuesday night in mid June without a reservation. The warm greeting got things off to a good start. The mussels were delicious as was the salmon. I had the calamari & black spaghetti which was nice but wish I'd had the lamb (other diners were enjoying this). The sorbet for dessert was the only... More 

Helpful?
Thank drawoha
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on our restaurant. Delighted you enjoyed the meal & we will pass on your feedback including your disappointment with the Sorbet More 

Northeast USA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2015

We stayed here several years ago and liked it so much that we returned there this year. It is under new management. Our room was very clean but also very small. We had to ask for a portable heater since the radiator didn't work. Breakfast was nice and the dining room view is amazing. Lovely location overlooking the fiord. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank emeraldisle45
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We take on board your points & will work to keep improving what we have to offer. Hopefully when you return next time you will see an improvement. More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2015

I am a semi-regular visitor to Connemara and ate at Portfinn recently with some friends while visiting on a walking holiday. The food was absolutely amazing - the Killary mussels I had were the most delicious mussels I have ever eaten! (we were informed afterwards that they are delivered fresh daily from local fishermen). In fact all of the food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank irishmountaingoat
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your meal with us! The chef is new this year so great to hear they are doing a good job! More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2015

I had dinner in the Portfinn restaurant over the June bank holiday - both service and food were exceptional. I can be very picky when eating out - I dislike when chefs take shortcuts with shop bought produce, and I want something special I could not have made at home - The Portfinn surpassed my high standards!! We were served... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mcmackic
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us so much! Hope to see you again More 

County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2015

May 31st 2015 We spent a great evening in this lovely restaurant which had spectacular views of the fiord combined with a beautiful turf fire. The food was amazing, and was made with locally sourced fresh ingredients including local seafood caught in the Fiord, The menu was very creative and varied .Everything was cooked to perfection and freshly made on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review

Delighed you enjoyed the experience. We make a huge effort to use local produce so great to hear that people are enjoying it. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

the interior screams for update. The sofa in the lounge is completely sagged. You sit on coils, really. The carpet in the hallway is thread bare and dirty. The bathroom needs better lighting. We were not pleased. Yet, service was good.

Helpful?
Thank hisakyuu
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We will take all your points on board & work to improve on them. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Had dinner here last night with my mum, dad and fiancé. There is no other word but amazing! From the first minute we walked in the staff were great, friendly and very attentive. The food was top class. I had Brie and then the seafood platter and two lovely glasses of vino! It was all perfect. The four of us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We changed our chef this year so it is great to hear that they are doing a good job! See you again soon More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2014

stayed at the B&B for 2 nights. on arrival the exterior looked to be let go.Room was old fashioned and could do with being modernized.Bed was comfortable. However the bathroom is out dated and the curtain rail should be floor length. Breakfast the next morning wasn't great. Tea and toast served to you while having your cereal leads to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank maura h
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Alex (after a long captain's day on the Connemara Lady) and the rest of the staff made our few hours in this beautifully situated restaurant a really pleasurable experience. The food was simply brilliant and the service could not have been better.

Helpful?
Thank sangcailloux

Travellers who viewed Portfinn Lodge also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Portfinn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Clifden Road | Leenane, Galway, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Galway  >  Galway
  • Phone Number: +353 95 42265

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portfinn Lodge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?