We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cuckoo

20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
+44 1733 239638
Call
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good31%
  • Average20%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“chain pub” (12 reviews)
“nice pub” (23 reviews)
“food was lovely” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Go here quite often either with family or with work. Lovely cosy village pub feel. Food is nice and staff are always pleasant.

Thank Sophie B
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal in a relaxed atmosphere. Good menu choice to meet all tastes and prices. Large selection of drinks. Whilst there we also saw bigger parties of people so they cater for them as well.

Thank Albear1
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had the opportunity to eat at this lovely pub / restaurant with friends after a long day at the CropTec Show. The food was excellent. The waiting staff were very polite and attentive. Will definitely be going back in Jan 18 when working at the...More

Thank keithk674
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you Keithk674 for your lovely review about us. My team loved reading it and we all can't wait for your return in January!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Extremely disappointing meal, Was booked by daughters as a birthday Sunday lunch with family. Ordered main courses did not look appetising when they arrived Yorkshire puddings were flat and tasteless and the roast potatoes and vegetables were cold, the extra cauliflower cheese was the same....More

Thank Ajanesteel
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ajanesteel, We are truly sorry about your experience with us. We do try our best to please all our guest, sorry that on this occasion we failed you. We know we can do better and we hope you will give us another chance in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to go for a treat lunch with my husband today 01.12.17, sadly I was shocked, appalled and disgusted! We ordered a cod fish finger sandwich - supposedly beer battered cod goujons and tartare sauce with a side of chips £6.50!! What arrived was a...More

Thank Chantelle W
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Chantelle, Sorry to read your review, sorry you didn't enjoy your recent visit and that we couldn't make you leave happy. refunding your steak sandwich was never a problem for us after we offered to replace your meal and you said ''no I'd like...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Six of us visited here whilst on business at the show ground. They were unexpectedly busy, so service was slow and they’d run out of quite a few options. Always disappointing when you’ve gone to the trouble of booking ahead. The food was good. My...More

Thank Janine H
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Janine, Sorry we didn't wow you on this occasion. We know we can do better, I'm working closely with my kitchen team to improve our menu availability. We hope you'll give us another try.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the last 6 months I have eaten here on 3 occasions, nothing wrong with the food, if its on the menu, each time we have come, fish & chips & at least 3 other items are not available, maybe we were just unlucky ?,...More

Thank barry w
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving late due to traffic, we were well received and made welcome. Immediately shown to our table. Food was excellent, and portions very generous. Prawn and Lobster cocktail to die for, steak cooked to perfection, I’ve never had chips so hot and my wife’s Ham...More

Thank Steve W
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Steve W, the team and I really enjoyed reading your review. Thank you for giving us 5 stars we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice comfortable place to go for either a drink or a meal. Easy to get to with plenty of parking. Very friendly service and the food is great quality.

Thank Michael G
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit with us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Six family went for evening meal. Starters were great, mains ok except the Pork which was grossly overcooked to the point of being unrecognisable with a great big bone and the 'Chatteris Diamonds' Carrots, large and small had obviously all been cooked together as the...More

Thank gerald h
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Gerald, Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Sorry about the pork and carrots we will do better next time you come!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Alwalton Post Office Tearoom & Stores
42 reviews
.02 km away
Extra’s Peterborough Service Area
24 reviews
.35 km away
Harvester
524 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jet Sim School
50 reviews
4.14 km away
Ferry Meadows Country Park
1,255 reviews
2.18 km away
Nene Valley Railway
605 reviews
4.59 km away
Elton Hall & Gardens
70 reviews
5.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
FennJR
30 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from critic8888 | Reviewed this property |
I'm not 100% certain but they are very Accommodating give them a call.
1
Vote
Rosey B
8 August 2015|
Answer
Response from TrakESumisu | Reviewed this property |
Quite honestly, it might be better to try The Windmill, about a mile away, or The Bell at Stilton, next junction South on the A1. The Cuckoo used to be a lovely pub, but it has suffered the same fate as most modern... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Oundle Road | Alwalton, Peterborough PE7 3UP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Peterborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1733 239638
Description
The Cuckoo in Alwalton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing