We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bell

$$ - $$$, British,
6 Royal Parade, Harrogate HG1 2SZ, England
+44 1423 507930
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“soup” (8 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Royal Parade, Harrogate HG1 2SZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Smashing little pub, very oldy worldly, not busy, I think because is was a Tuesday night, good selection of drinks as you would expect, and a gentle step in to Harrogate night life. Also pet friendly.

Thank dickydoodaa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked for a group of 16 of us and we had a brilliant time!! Staff were so friendly and food was gorgeous from the lush fish and chips to my huge cheese plate. The beer drinkers appreciated the nice range and me the Chardonnay! It...More

Thank Ribby34
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great pub with a good assortment of beers and good value food for the price. Different bar staff than usual and weren't as friendly but maybe it was a case of them been so busy! Dog Friendly, good beers and all day Sunday Lunches comes...More

Thank Joe P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dropped in for a quick beer and we were not disappointed. Traditional bar serving a good range of ales with excellent advice provided by friendly bar staff. Comfy and cosy ambiance on a chilly November evening.

Thank basil_peacock
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here for a quick pint following a film at the Odeon.Great selection of ales and the two bar staff were very knowledgable and pleasant.Would return.

Thank mikdodd
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked a table for 19.30, however we arrived a little earlier and enjoyed some lovely beer, informing the bar staff member of our reservation. By 19.45 we ordered another beer and agin mentioned the reservation where at that point we were told to...More

Thank Tricia K
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Administrator at The Old Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there Tricia K Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and I am disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve across our family of pubs. The day you visited the Old...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017

We visit Harrogate often and eat here from time to time. We have always enjoyed a beef baguette but we were told it was no longer on the menu. We didn't fancy much that was there, so we settled for soup, being told it was...More

Thank Colin T
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Old Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi there Colin T Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your feedback of the Old Bell. We haven't sold beef baguettes since our refurbishment in March but we have recently released our Winter menu with our brand new BBQ Pulled...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

This is a nice pub. I felt a little bit out of place here, as the place was full of men. Had to wait at the bar for a few minutes to be served, as there was no one servingMore

Thank Tigeriffic69
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Old Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi there Tigeriffic69 Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on the Old Bell. I am glad you like the pub but disappointed you felt out of place. We aim to provide a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere for all who...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

What a great place to visit. The staff were amazing great service, one of the bar tenders knew the town we lived in very well. The other bar tender advised us on lots of other pubs to visit. They were all great pubs as well....More

Thank Catherine R
Reviewed 6 November 2017

This is a pub of character and a huge selection of real ale. Not over priced. We had sausage and mash for tea portions were huge but very tasty.

Thank Judygateshead65
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Norse
579 reviews
.09 km away
Quantro Restaurant
858 reviews
.03 km away
The Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel
1,280 reviews
.13 km away
William & Victoria
974 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Valley Gardens
1,828 reviews
.30 km away
Spirit of Harrogate Ltd
153 reviews
.20 km away
Royal Hall Theatre
309 reviews
.26 km away
Royal Pump Rooms Museum
566 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
taylorfish
7 November 2016|
Answer
Response from MarketTownTaverns | Property representative |
Hi there we serve food from 6pm - 9.30pm on weekdays and from 5pm - 9.30pm on Fri/Sat but just till 8.30pm on Sun. Many thanks,
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Royal Parade, Harrogate HG1 2SZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 507930
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing