We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kestrel

$$ - $$$, British,
Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
+44 1423 797979
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good32%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“chicken pie” (6 reviews)
“pudding” (19 reviews)
“fish cakes” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Family of six from 9 to 70 years old. Lovely steak and kidney pie, thick, well flavoured gravy with succulent meat pieces. Didn't want mash but staff obliged me having chips. My daughter's chicken pie was also tasty and she too wanted chips but it...More

Thank Jonny5Stars
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The steak pie was devoid of steak and lacking any gravy. Children's sausages were cheap and over cooked. Usually the food here is average however on this occasion I was unhappy with what we were served.More

Thank Boogs1971
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your review I am so sorry you were not happy with the quality of our food. Did you mention anything to your server on the day? We would have gladly have replaced your meal If you would like to speak...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my husband booked into this restaurant at the same time we booked a room for 2 nights at their accommodation the innkeepers lodge (which was months in advance prior to our arrival). When we checked in we enjoyed the weather in the large...More

Thank Maria M
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review Maria I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay If you would like to call me on 01423797979 we can discuss it further Regards Jo Beevers General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tonight's meal at The Kestrel was excellent. The chicken pie was one of the best that I have eaten. The chocolate brownie was very good also.

Thank peterwdn
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Peter Thank you for your fab review We hope you enjoy it as much next week! regards Jo

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to the Kestrel for a meal with five friends and found the food, service and waiting times between courses and drinks supply, less than adequate for the price we paid for the evening. The steaks were very chewy and fatty, mains were not...More

Thank Unhappy C
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. If you would like to speak with me personally about your experience then please contact me on 01423797979 Regards Jo Beevers General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Would have gave 5 stars but the wait in receiving our food and drinks was excessive !! This in no way was the female waitress fault she was running ragged !! Hotel management need to invest increasing staff levels for busy times !! The hotel...More

Thank Neil M
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Neil I apologise that you had to wait so long for your food and drinks, and you are right we do need to increase staffing levels at busy periods and we are recruiting online to fill these positions. We are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Waited nearly an hour for our main sat with empty glasses. When our food was finally brought over by an extremely scruffy bloke, I asked for another drink (as this was the first time I'd managed to get the attention of a staff member) and...More

Thank MPL1989
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your visit Please can you call me on 01423797979 so we can discuss this further Regards Jo Beevers General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently called to the Kestrel when staying in the area recently. Food was gorgeous and generous portion sizes too. Would highly recommend the Hunter's chicken. Will certainly visit again.

Thank Blaine W
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 * review We are so pleased you enjoyed your food and the team looked after you! We look forward to welcoming you again very soon Regards Jo Beevers General Manager

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Had a family meet up there recently the staff were very accommodating the food was delicious the children's meals were fab especially for price! Will call again.

Thank Francesca H
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi Francesca Thank you for your 5 * review We are so pleased you enjoyed your food and the team looked after you! We look forward to welcoming you again very soon Regards Jo Beevers General Manager

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The restaurant food is lovely, beautifully presented and the staff were all very friendly. The accommodation is also very pretty and "vintage". The views around the restaurant are also very picturesque. For me though, the three ladies that looked after the bar and eatery were...More

Thank beckiejj
General Manager A, Manager at The Kestrel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

wow 5 Stars! Thank you so much for your review I will pass your comments onto Alex, Julie and Beth, they will be delighted to hear that you were more than happy with the service they provided! We hope to see you again soon Regards...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Clocktower Bar & Restaurant
1,106 reviews
1.39 km away
Harewood Arms
37 reviews
1.55 km away
Deer House Family Pub
28 reviews
.96 km away
Fodder Cafe
610 reviews
1.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Real Simulation
22 reviews
2.77 km away
River Nidd Waterside Walk
183 reviews
2.95 km away
Knaresborough Castle
977 reviews
2.97 km away
Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well
1,234 reviews
2.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Linda U
7 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bunterjuice | Reviewed this property |
Don't know. I have only visited the establishment once when I was on holiday in Yorkshire.
0
Votes
jolesa
24 November 2015|
Answer
Response from JBDDBJBS | Property representative |
Hi there Some of our products are frozen but most are made on site. Hope to see you soon
0
Votes
jolesa
24 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gemma N | Property representative |
Many of our products are made by Vintage Inns centrally and delivered to us for use. This provides us with the consistency associated with our brand and means that we can trace ingredients back to source.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wetherby Road, Harrogate HG2 8QZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 797979
Description
The Kestrel in Harrogate is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing