We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cowdray Arms

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road | Balcombe, Crawley RH17 6QD, England
+44 1444 811280
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 406: English reviews
KENT, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Popped into this pub because we were visiting Glo Wild at Wakehurst place so we were on a bit of a tight schedule. No problem, we arrived about 40 minutes earlier than the booking and we were shown to a beautifully decorated festive table!! Really a brilliant start to Christmas! Three of us ordered from the Festive menu and three... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walkingheart
TheCowdrayArmsTeam, General Manager at The Cowdray Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review my team will be delighted! So pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Brighton And Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been in this pub before and found it quite pleasant, however today's visit with my husband was the complete opposite. We hadn't booked a table and were told there wouldn't be one available for at least 40 minutes. Fair enough we thought, and decided to stay for a drink anyway- if only they had any! No Guinness, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamwil
TheCowdrayArmsTeam, General Manager at The Cowdray Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, I am so sorry you felt let down. I would have no hesitation in compensating you in some way. If you would like us to do so please give us a call. More 

Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came to the wake of a dear friend. The pub were also dealing with a normal lunchtime service, but nevertheless gave us both the gravity and service the occasion deserved. The bar staff poured drinks, and directed us to the area set aside for our party, where nibbles were already laid out. As time wore on and drinks were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Horleylad
TheCowdrayArmsTeam, General Manager at The Cowdray Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review it really does make me happy to see that you felt well looked after at such a difficult time. I will pass this feedback onto my team. Georgina More 

Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for an early evening after a visit to Nymans Gardens, it was a cold day the pub was warm and welcoming. The service was good and the food delicious

Helpful?
Thank elliebellie97
TheCowdrayArmsTeam, General Manager at The Cowdray Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Georgina More 

Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We often visit the Cowdray when we are stumped as to where else to go. You can almost always find a seat in the Restaurant and the Staff are very obliging. The food is always good sized portions and of good quality. The only downside is that there is nothing particularly special about the whole experience to make it acut... More 

Helpful?
Thank TonyMus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can't go wrong here at this pub, order your food and drinks and have a great time with your friends, no wifi and can't get a signal on your phone, just like the god old days. Prawn cocktail £6.49 overpriced for what it is and not sure about the pepper mushrooms so starters pretty disappointing. Ordered steak and chips x3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulfeedback
TheCowdrayArmsTeam, General Manager at The Cowdray Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I will certainly raise the issues with the starters. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Georgina More 

Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in here as we wanted to try somewhere different locally. We were a party of 6, and didn't all arrive together. My husband and I had a drink at the bar whilst awaiting the remainder of our party. Good bar service. The rest of us arrived, and we were told that our drinks order would be taken at... More 

Helpful?
Thank 696lizg
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Convenient new location for four of to meet for lunch and we were not disappointed. Friendly greeting on arrival and good menu selection - not too small or to large. All the main course dishes presented were well received, the plaice, scampi, prawn and scallop 'fish and chips' being especially nice. We couldn't resist the desert menu but our order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sussex3225
Paramali, Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch whilst staying with our son and had a very pleasant meal. Perfect for a relaxing lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
TheCowdrayArmsTeam, General Manager at The Cowdray Arms, responded to this review

Thank you hope to see you soon! More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's not always easy to find a decent Sunday Roast at 5pm on a Sunday evening - we'd already failed at the local Brewers Fayre ("run out") and Toby Carvery ("hour to hour and a quarter wait"), and drove out to the Cowdray Arms instead. They were able to accommodate us and had the full range of Sunday Roasts (beef,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MRunnicles
TheCowdrayArmsTeam, General Manager at The Cowdray Arms, responded to this review

thank you very much for your lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon. Georgina More 

Travellers who viewed The Cowdray Arms also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to The Cowdray Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Balcombe, Crawley RH17 6QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 811280

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cowdray Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Crawley, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cowdray Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?